We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to chill out and relax”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed January 15, 2013

my wife and i had a weekend break here in december, and it was absolutly brilliant,
the staff on reception were great, the bedroom was extremly large, the bed was huge but a little bit on the soft side, and the bathroom was great with a really deep bath maybe a bit to deep for my wife to climb in and out of tho, one wall of the bathroom was totally mirrored but not next to the sink, we ate in the resturant the first night there and could not fault it, the service was great and the food even better, the breakfast in the morning was good as well,
did not use the spa or the pool so cannot comment on these,
only bad point was-- they did not have a mirror beside the sink in the bathroom for me to have a shave in,

over all a very lovely place to stay and we will defo be back again,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank your leaving such a great review and for all your positive comments, its especially pleasing to read you will definately be back and we hope its not long before you visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,468 - 3,474 of 3,799 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay with my husband. Cannot fault the place at all the hotel is lovely, food in the restaurant was fantastic, the leisure facilities were good and very relaxing especially the hot-tub. Also must give a mention to the staff they were all very friendly and cheery and nothing was to much trouble and that was all of them which in this day is quite hard to find. A great trip and will definitely return :))

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Maried66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for your five star review, its great to read such positive feedback, its especially pleasing to read your comments with regards to the staff, we will certainly look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Managed to get a deal off peak for 2nights, so was great value for money. We upgraded to a superior suite, not sure what the difference was, maybe the addition of a bath? The bed wasn't very good, too soft, and seemed very short for me & my partner. Maybe OK if your under 6ft...We had a nice view across a field, could see the stars at night, and found the room to be warm at all times. Too warm at times in fact! Tidy and clean on arrival, and in betweens.

Breakfast was excellent. A good variety available on the b&b basis. Food seemed fresh, local, and plentiful. You could stuff your face on croissants, and pastries if you like. Waitresses very friendly and focused on serving the guests.

The spa always quiet when we went, especially between 5-6pm, as its adult hour. Steam, and sauna, was great. Though the hot tub one night was a bit cold (someone set it to economy!) wasn't hot enough to sit in...when it was hot it was amazing after a long day on the hills.

We didn't eat in the restaurant, was an Xmas dinner special, so opted for the casual dining spot in the bar. Had a surprising nice fish & chips with our 'free' bottle of plonk. There's a few places nearby to eat out at in Aberfeldy, so walked to the Indian one night for a good feed.

Very good location, near the burks etc. We enjoyed our stay, the resort was what we expected, and made for a good base for exploring. Maybe in need of updating in bits, kinda mish mashed decor, but generally lovely!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort and for all your positive feedback. Its great to read you made the most of the area and the resort facitlties and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was lucky enough to stay in this resort for two nights. The swimming pool, sauna room and steam room was fantastic. It was a perfect break away and to top things off I treated myself to a full body swedish massage which was extremely relaxing. The food at Moness Resort was faultless. The room or should I say the bathroom was stunning with a nice deep bath. The one fault I had about this resort was that I found that the bed was very uncomfortable. However, the Moness Resort is the perfect place to stay if you are after a quiet, relaxing time with your partner or friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review and for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Moness Resort. Its great to read so many positive comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we've stayed at moness twice its amazing! such a lovely nice layout place! the swimming pool is nice,clean and pretty and the steam room but sauna handle wouldnt close door but it got repaired asap but the hot tub! i went in the hot tub loads on holiday but it was flithy my ear was in so much pain it kept me awake at night! i had to go to doctors... But it was such a great holiday but shower could of been cleaner mould in shower! its such a quiet place and the table tennis+pool is great and the children playarea great and sports hall!

Room Tip: be careful in the hot tub dont put your ears under:P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa2000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Front Office Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you your review and for all your positive feedback, however I am concerned to read our comments in respect of the leisure facilites, please accept our apologies. I have passed a copy of your review to the relevant department heads who will take immediate steps to address any shortcomings. Nevertheless, its great to read that despite these concerns you bill us 'such a great place!!'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beautiful area with stunning views. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Enjoyed the spa, swimming pool and sauna. There is a delightful coffee shop in the main square. Wonderful selection of coffees and teas. The owner knows his coffees! Have a good meal at Ailean Chraggan a very good local pub.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyParker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Front Office Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, its great too read such positive feedback and we are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the resort, we hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a 3 bed cottage and it was great .. Everything we could have wanted. The hotel facilities, steam room, sauna , hot tub and pool were fab as was the bar food. Great coffee shops in aberfeldy not even a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMCrosby21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort, it is really encouraging to read that your stay at Moness was 'Everything you could have wanted' - it seems we ticked all the boxes!, we hope you have opportunity to visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
925 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,914 reviews
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $70 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing