We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Destination for a Break”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Dunfermline, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Destination for a Break”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had a childless 2 night b&b deal on Sunday and Monday. We're allocated room 18; a superior room. It was large, spotless and had a great bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath. We ate in the main restaurant (2 courses for £21 - we had mains of duck and the venison casserole) and the food was excellent. Ate in the Terrace restaurant on the next night - a club sandwich and burger; both great and large!

Found the resort very relaxing. The pool's not huge and can get busy with kids but that's what you'd expect at a resort.

Surrounding area is lovely. Scenery is spectacular. All only an hour from the central belt.

Every member of staff we came across was very helpful and polite. We did not have a bad experience here and will definitely return.

Used a Groupon deal and experienced no negativity. I've heard the business only gets half of the voucher cost do wonder if it's worth direct contact offering the business the full Groupon cost - just a thought.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for kind review of Moness Resort, its great to read so many positive comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and its especially pleasing to read you will return, we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    1,167
    578
    200
    159
See reviews for
1,023
1,603
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Bought this break on Groupon and paid extra to upgrade to a cottage, so glad we did as we could come and go as we pleased.
Cottage was ideal base and comfortable.
We didn't eat in the hotel or use the spa so can't comment.
The ducks running up from their pond when they heard the rustle of the bread bag was excellent and a highlight for me.
Nice grounds and will defo return.

Room Tip: Feed the ducks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort on Trip advisor. Its great to read you enjoyed a relaxing break and I'm pleased our ducks were there usual entertaining selves. Thank you once again and hope you have the opportunity to visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went for spa day. On arrival the receptionist directed us to the treatment room but gave no information on using facilities or where to get towels etc. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.
I don't feel this is the place for a spa experience as the only spa like feature was the treatment room, there was nowhere relaxing to wait in between times we had to sit at little tables open plan over looking the pool which is rather awkward when swimming. The pool itself was ok but cold due to the open plan of the place.
THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE! Bland bland bland barely edible.
I'm not one for writing reviews but we were all so disappointed I felt it was needed. Certainly would not recommend for a spa day. Saying all that the girl doing the treatments was a saving grace as she was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time the review Moness Resort. Im naturally disappointed to read your reveiw and it is unfortunate your concerns were not brought our attention during your visit as we would have welcomed the opportunity to address them. Although your concerns do go against the major trend, please be assured your review will be passed to the relevant department heads who will take steps to address any shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Booked to celebrate anniversary, disappointed.
Food was pretty poor, chef struggled to offer any imaginative vegetarian options, courses came out of sync with our requests, suspect "wild" mushrooms and microwaved sticky toffee pudding!!
To top the night off we were awoken by cleaning staff entering our cottage and walking into our bedroom while still in bed.......8:15am!! Management apologetic, however no financial compensation offered.....very poor.

Maybe we were just unlucky?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was naturally disappointed to read of your recent experience at Moness Resort. We are very proud of the resort and of the majoprity postive feedback we do get; however I read that on this occasion we did not fulfil our commitment to you. We take all comments and reviews with great sincerity, as a resort our customer feedback is a positive development for improvement. Thank you once again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just came back today . Driving up to the hotel was nice , first impressions of the grounds were lovely. We bought this on groupon but upgraded and paid the extra and went for the Honeymoon suite room 6. Thought we'd make it special. Wrong ! Walked in the door to see paper cracked and broken coming off the wall. Went to the bathroom to see the free standing large bath. Pubic hair in the shower tray the toilet had black rim round it. Went to look further bed spread worn, torn, hole in the curtains. Very disappointed. No wow factor there! My parnter said it lovely to cheer me up since it was me at booked it! My brother had room 19 which was lovely bedroom with extra sitting room which to me was more of a wow factor than the honeymoon suite!! Non impressed. Ask reception for a comment card and paper which I got wrote my issues and comments handed back which they read with no comment what so ever. Didnt make to much a fuss but thought they would have said something but was it ever passed on higher? When checkout they asked did you enjoy your stay? Answer never thought much of the room they made no comment have a nice day!! Where is the customer service these days you pay good money for a treat and you end up just disappointed wish I stayed at home. The pool was nice used for the 2 days. Can't fault the breakfast. We had a meal upstairs in the bar over looking the pool all right and the staff was nice. It was a nice place just really disappointed so if you go dont upgrade you'll just be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ANNETTE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Beautiful grounds and excellent accommodation the rooms great size very cosy bathroom was also very big and very clean all the staff where very helpful and there was lots of information on places to visit around this area overall 1st place to stay . The snack menu had a great choice and very good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed a 'perfect' weekend at our resort, thank you for your five star review, we will certainly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for two nights and had a great time. The hotel room was lovely and it was really nice to come in and find the heaters on full and the room nice and warm. The rooms keep the heat well and you certainly won't have an issue with being cold! The breakfast was great both mornings with an option for cooked if you wanted it. There are plenty of things for kids to do, although couples should be aware that there will be kids around the pool/sauna area most times (apart from 5-6pm which is adult only hour) so it isn't always that quiet, at weekends at least. The staff were polite and the grounds are lovely. All in all, highly recommended and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_AAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Front Office Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your five star review on Trip Advisor, which is very positive and up lifting to read regarding your recent stay, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing