We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misled” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently booked a 2 night stay at Moness via Groupon. We paid £40 extra to upgrade to a "suite" as told this was all that was available on our preferred dates. On arrival, told that Room 6 is known as "The Honeymoon Suite". The room is fairly large with a large bathroom. However, by any known definition, it is not a suite! It is a double bedroom with a bathroom. Reception staff were very pleasant and agreed with our view but suggested we speak with Reservations. I called them later from home and spoke with Anna who, after supposedly discussing with manager, informed me that "we class it as a suite"! After saying that she didn't "have the authority" to resolve my complaint, then advised that it wasn't possible to speak with her manager and told me her manager wouldn't call me back. Informed that I needed to complain in writing - as "it is their policy". Emailed manager, Helen Davies, who several days later, hasn't even had the courtesy to respond. Apart from the misrepresentation, the room is not particularly impressive - I'd be extremely disappointed if spending my honeymoon here. We had to ask for an air freshener for the smelly bathroom. Excellent shower though! Full cooked breakfast was very poor - fried bread was like a sponge dipped in oil, one egg, one rasher of fatty bacon and one plastic sausage. This experience was enough to put us off trying the restaurant for any other meals. We were already dubious after reading other reviews about poor quality and value. Needless to say, we won't be staying there again. Pity because it's in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review of Moness Resort. Firstly, it was unfortunate that I was not available during your call to our office. In respect of your email received 4 days ago, I'm sorry this has not yet been responded too, please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you for your positive comments in respect of the staff. However, I am naturally disappointed to read some of your concerns. It is unfortunate that your concerns with regards to your breakfast were not brought to our attention anytime during your stay, be assured, I will pass your comments to our head chef who will take steps to address any shortcomings. All or hotel rooms have been individually styled and are graded according to size and location. Room 6, is a large room, with a comfortable seating area and includes a mahogany French style hand carved bed and has a Victorian bathroom en suite, restored from the original hotel and is deemed as an individual experience room, often requested for special occasions and priced accordingly along with suites. Although the room regularly receives positive feedback I'm very sorry to read that the room did not meet your own expectations. With less than 8% of reviews deemed as below average, we would encourage all readers to read our positive comments, which we consider a truer reflection of the resort. Thank you once again for your review and for giving me the opportunity to respond.
Helen Davies
Reservations & Customer Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    1,115
    550
    198
    151
See reviews for
954
1,515
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Booked for 8 in a 3 bedroom lodge.nice spacious accom,could have done with more than one bedroom en suite however mattresses were firm and place very clean.nice dining area and we used the swimming pool ,snooker and bar .bar reasonably priced around £3.50 a pint but not really suitable for watching footie and we headed into aberfeldy to watch champions league.cooker was electric and a bit slow and for 8 we never had enough room in the freezer but these are minor points because it is a nice place where you are central to walk into town or local walks such as birks of aberfeldy (take right hand walk its easier going up the hill).we got onto the local golf course for £5 ten holes which was more than reasonable .all in all would recommend for a group,seem to be some groupon deals ongoing and the surroundings and accommodation are nice.staff attentive and didn't get ripped off on the electic bill which has happened elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazmanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for such a great review and for the recommendation. Its always pleasing to read such positive comments and we hope you have the opportunity ot visit with us again soon, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

In a very beautiful part of Perthshire this hotel complex has a slightly dated air about it. The hotel rooms are more up to date than the cottages, which seemed in deed of renovation to me (especially the bathroom).
However the staff are lovely. They went out of their way to help me and the gounds are beautifully kept.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulturcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thnak you for your review of Moness Resort. Im pleased to read that despite a small concern you enjoyed your stay and reviewed our hospitality as 'lovely', thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
151 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Monesss Country club is a great place to stay if you want to experience the interiors of Scotland !!! 2 min from Aberfeldy and 5 min from Dewars Distillery this place is a superb place to just chill and feel the atmosphere of Scotland. But you Must Must have a car or you will be grounded !!!!
There is just one convenience store open from 7am till 11pm ...at Aberfeldy ..so do stock up !!!

The Moness apartments are cottages having a kitchennette, cooking range, Micro and Kettle. Its an open plan kitchen in the dinning area and good for re-heating your food or having a cup of tea !!!

The reception area on the first level has a heated pool ..not big but good to soak yourself. There is a table tennis table and cards area..and an area for kids to play. Besides this lots of places to walk around ...lots of greenery within the complex ..

We didnt explore much around as we used Aberfeldy as our base ...a big mistake as the road to reach Aberfeldy is a single carraigeway winding and dimly lit road, 30 minutes from the main highway ... thus a waste of time if you are coming in the night !!!

Base yourself in Edinbourgh ...its better !!!

As a place Aberfeldy is a great quaint village having some amazing restaurants. Especially liked the Inn on the Teh ...amazing food though a bit expensive !!! The river running beside had the cleanest water ...we even bottled it !!!! No wonder they have such great Single Malt whisky !!! Its all n the water !!!!

Room Tip: Ask them to give you a room closer to the reception area or gate as its all a one way inside and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjudesai3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort - which you deem 'a great place to stay to get the Scotland feel'. We agree Edinburgh is a great place for a city break, however for a break in the countryside, we consider our enviable rural location, just perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked this through groupon, arrived and was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Good start I thought. The good feeling ended when we got to our accomadation - the smell of fried food met us as we opened the door....the accomadation itself was clean and well laid out. We then went to the resturant for our evening meal - my better half got the good deal i took the fish and chips - again the fish hadn't been drained and the chips underneath were covered in fat. Once stay i won't be doing again. On a positive Perthshire is beautifull...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IANTT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time the review Moness Resort. It is unfortunate your concersn were not brought our attention during your stay as we would have welcomed the opportunity to address them. Although your concerns do go against the major trend, please be assured your review will be passed to the relevant department heads who will take steps to address any shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

this is one of Scotlands best places to relax , especially in autumn.
We stayed 2 nights in a very comfortable double room which was spotless,the en suite had a large bath with shower and the water was very hot at all times.
The breakfast was very good and very prompt served by local people who could actually speak english! Bar meals were inexpensive and again good food and promptly served.
Swimming pool, sauna and steam room were readily accessible at no extra cost .
The village of Aberfeldy is a short walk away and has shops , cafes , pubs etc.For those who like to walk there is a beautiful walk through "The Birks" directly opposite the hotel .Good shoes required.Excellent value for money in this beautiful setting.Well done Moness.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisameday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Wow!, what a fantastic five star review, thank you so much, we certainly hope you have the opportunity ot visit with us again soon, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blantyre. Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a perfect short break here thanks to a gift from our family for our 40th wedding anniversary. We had 2 fantastic days and nights here enjoying the pool and amenities in the spa. We also enjoyed the back, neck and shoulder treatment. Our room was clean, spotless and very spacious. We joked that the bed was so big we had to communicate by mobile phone. The meals were excellent especially the cooked to order breakfast, where the staff were exceptional. Moness resort is the perfect base to travel around this area where sights and history are only short drives away. It is the perfect place to relax and be pampered and leave all cares behind albeit for a few days. As for the staff in general nothing was to much trouble for them and were very polite and pleasant. Would like to try one of the cottages next.

Room Tip: rooms are lovely, but try for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Wow, what a fantastic five star review - it certainly seems we ticked all the boxes, we are pleased to read we made your 40th anniversary extra special, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
24.7 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing