We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic break”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had a long weekend at the hotel and can't fault the place. Our room was lovely and light and spacious and we had a very well appointed en-suite with double ended bath and separate shower. The entire hotel was spotless and the resort had everything we needed for a lovely wee break away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotslass2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback and your five star review. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,307
    1,231
    615
    213
    169
See reviews for
1,117
1,714
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Visited the Moness hotel for a mid week break through a groupon deal. The rooms were spotless with everything you could need the staff were very friendly. We ate upstairs at the bistro which was less formal and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the use of the pool steam room & sauna. There was plenty to do with pool table snooker table & table tennis I believe there was also squash & bowling green. There is also a small town about 5 minutes walk from the hotel which has some restaurants & a few bars. I would recommend this hotel to people of all ages.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justin186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your five star review and for your kind recommendation. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and you made the most of all the resort has to offer, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay at Moness through Groupon as a "mini holiday", our first with our 7week old son.

The cottage was spacious and clean and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We requested a travel cot and not only was it waiting on us in the bedroom, several minutes after we arrived a member of staff came to assemble it for us- a personal touch.

We used the swimming pool with our little boy, who likes splashing, the changing rooms both have changing facilities for babies and were clean and fresh.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Moness and would definitely come back. There are plenty of things to do in the nearby area and it is a good base to travel from. We also loved our evening visits from the friendly ducks!

Thanks Groupon and Moness! :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauradoll78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for all your fantastic five star review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed so many of aspects of your stay. I was especially pleased to read your comments with regards to the staff, it is always good to read such feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments too the team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We returned today from a RCI exchange week at Moness, I was a bit worried about the mixed comments that were posted about the resort, but I need not have been. The one bed lodge we had was roomy, spotless and very well equipped. The resort grounds are very well kept and staff levels and helpfullness are very good. The pool is excellent as are the upstairs bistro and downstairs dining room. One word to future visitors, please, please sample the food, we had a meal in the main dining room and it was lovely, the chicken with whisky sauce was the best I've tasted, although I get the feeling that because the lodges have such good kitchens people tend to self cater, but to keep the standard up visitors should support the resort itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for such a fantastic review. I have passed all your comments to the team. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. The team always work incredibly hard to try and ensure everyone has a great stay. We are especially pleased to read your recommendation of our restaurant, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our second time at moness, first was a family treat for our silver wedding, and then we had a voucher for a two day break in the self catering cottages. a really lovely place and well equipped cottages, meals in the bistro were very affordable and the staff very helpful. Aberfeldy is a beautiful wee place and if driving from Glasgow take the road to Crieff and go through the sma` glen for breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamajama67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Many thanks for your five star review. We are very pleased to read that once again you enjoyed your time at Moness. It is always great to read such nice comments, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Booked a self catering 3 bed cottage for stay away with family through a Groupon offer. Great location. Aberfeldy easy walk and country walks on door step. Fantastic holiday for kids. Duck pond with free wandering ducks a huge success. Park, pool complete with floats/balls and soft play. They really have tried to think of everything.
Cottage itself nicely decorated and had everything required. Dishwasher, stairgates,etc and staff were quick to provided us with high chairs when requested.
Would have scored this resort 5 stars had the restaurant opened earlier for family dining (there is a small bistro/bar) and the cottage could have done with a "deep clean" to remove stains on carpets.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tap10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort on Trip Advisor. Its great to read that you enjoyed all that the resort has to offer, we love our ducks too! Thank you once again and we hope you have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I booked this break through Groupon and was concerned that I may not get good accomodation- I was wrong! We had a two-bedroomed end-terraced cottage which was very spacious and comfortable. The beds were great and three full bathrooms for four people was wonderful. We ate on site at the leisure club and were very pleased with our food and the price.We used and enjoyed the leisure facilities but did not have time to organise any spa treatments.Moness is beautiful and we had great weather and were able to enjoy walks in lovely countryside. Our sons used the leisure facilities and enjoyed the break as much as we did. Moness has something for everyone and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and awarding us a five star rating.
We are also glad that you made use of our facilities and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am positive that your review will be of use to future guests and visitors to the area. We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
91 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
888 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,605 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
364 reviews
16.4 mi away
Crieff Hydro Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing