We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penny-pinching”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Penny-pinching”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely setting, lovely place, lovely accommodation, but one or two slight gripes. Firstly the cigarette butts which littered the outside of our property, though I am happy to say that there was no trace, either sight or smell, of the cancer sticks themselves inside the property. The beds were very comfortable but Moses could have carved the Ten Commandments on the pillows. The spa was very good too, apart from the Jacuzzi which was useless. Those are not really the gripes though. We were charged for the electricity we used. Not a big deal,considering we ate in one night. It amounted to less than £2 for the two nights but for four star accommodation, you might have expected that to have been thrown in. I've kept the biggest gripe till last. They actually charge you for the password so you can use the Wi-Fi!! Why spoil it by being so penny-pinching Moness?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort on Trip Advisor, its great to read so many 'lovely' comments. I would kindly advise that the leisure area does not have a jacuzzi, but a poolside recess with seating. All feedback is appreciated and I am pleased to advise that free Wifi will be installed in all our public areas, thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,201
    1,168
    580
    203
    158
See reviews for
1,028
1,608
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Got this through Groupn and it was a bargain as it was 2 nights B & B plus a decent bottle of wine, We are doing the same later this year!

Room Tip: Get one in the hotel rooms 20 to 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KINGSKNOWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Moness and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Went using a Groupon voucher given to us as a gift.Our deal was for two nights but we were only able to stay for one. We asked for a room upgrade based on this, bearing in mind we wouldn't have been eating breakfast, using electricity etc for the second night. This was refused. Fair enough, but it would have been a nice touch.
The room was classed as 'superior' but we felt it was bland, modern and with a soulless, corporate feel. Cheap MDF furniture. Terrible TV- not large enough & you have to fiddle for few minutes using 2 remotes before it comes on. Hard, uncomfortable bed. Nice bathroom.
Very average breakfast. Lots of staff but we were given cold toast & cold tea & coffee immediately, then had to wait a long time for our cooked breakfast. No black pudding [as advertised] and cheap, nasty sausage.
Overall an okay place, but apart from the main building the resort has the look of a council estate- flats, terraced cottages etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diningout4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate that you were unable too stay for 2 nights and limited availablity did not allow for us to upgrade you. I am naturally disappointed to read some your observations and it is unfortunate that none of your concerns were raised during your stay as we would have welcomed the opportunity to address them. All our furniture is sourced from a reputable supplier and meets 4 star standard and whilst all feedback is appreciated, I would have to strongly disagree with your descriptive of the resort, which I am pleased to say normally receives such positiive feedback. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in Ivy Cottage on a Groupon deal and were very impressed with it-it was very spacious and had loads of storage so would have been great for a longer stay.
We didn't use any of the facilities but it was a great base for exploring and we were very lucky with the weather. We did eat in the bar and my burger was excellent; my wife had to send her Quiche back but they were most apologetic and replaced it with another (complimentary) dish on the house so no complaint with the way they dealt with the issue.
We will certainly return for longer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigton57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. So pleased to reads that you were impressed with your cottage and that your next stay with us will be a longer one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have just returned from two nights at the Moness Resort. Overall it is a lovely place and a perfect base for exploring the surrounding area.
The staff were friendly and the cottage we stayed in was very nice. It was a good size and very clean.
The only element I did not like was the additional charge for electricity on top of what you had already paid to stay (one bed cottage for two nights circa £300, although we were on a voucher for much less). Although this is one way to reduce wastage, there was no additional information as to how much you may be charged until you recieved your bill on check out.
If the resort wants to limit wastage there are better ways for this to be tackled in these modern times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your review on Moness Resort and all your kind comments. We appreciate all feedback as we continuously strive to improve our service and facilities and only through comments provided by our guests we will be able to do so. Once again thank you and hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Moness resort for two nights in May, room was lovely and huge! (Although Tv was tiny in comparison and a pain to turn on!two different remote controls and a lot of pressing buttons!) But we were rarely in anyway :) We ate in the hotel one night,(upstairs) it was ok, quite expensive for 'pub grub.' The second night we walked the short walk into aberfeldy, and visited the local pub, dinner in there was much nicer. Breakfast was fantastic though, great variety. The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of fantastic walks and sights to see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaandChris2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank your for your kind review, so pleased to read you enjoyed your 'lovely and chilled' stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We (2 adults and one three year old) stayed 2 nights in a Mews Cottage on the Moness Resort which was bought as a Groupon deal for £139 which turned out to be a very good deal. Our cottage was lovely and spacious and was very well maintained and clean with modern decoration. The bedrooms were downstairs (double bedroom with en suite and another bedroom with twin beds) plus separate bathroom downstairs. Upstairs was spacious livingroom/diningroom/kitchen with a balcony. The heating was by wall mounted electric heaters and they really heated the cottage up well and the bill, paid for separately, was only a few pounds. The whole resort is kept very well maintained with lovely lawns and trees so the surroundings are very nice. The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. Our daughter liked the small playpark and we enjoyed the pool/sauna/steamroom. A minor complaint re the pool was that the water temperature was quite chilly (my daughter was shivering) but everything was lovely and clean including the changing rooms. We had one meal in the bar/restaurant upstairs which was fine – not very exciting but ok. The children’s menu was maybe bit disappointing. There is a more formal restaurant downstairs which we didn’t visit but the menu did look bit more exciting.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend staying in one of the cottages.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Mews cottages and would recommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randolph73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us and for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
24.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Property: Moness Resort
Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing