We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great short break”
Review of Moness Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moness Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at the Moness Hotel which is a lovely place for a break with my husband. The hotel facilities are excellent. The room we had was in the main hotel building and very comfortable and spacious with a nice veiw of the lawn. We ate in the Bistro the first night the food was good and the service excellent considering it was busy. We will definately book again.


Margaret A

Room Tip: Main hotel room overlooking the lawn at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choosyLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw Moness resort on Trip Advisor. So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us which you classed as five star, its always great to hear such positive feedback. Thank you once again and I hope we have opportunity in welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,573 - 3,579 of 3,757 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Was dubious after reading some awful reports on Trip Advisor. Thankfully they were all wrong. We had an RCI exchange to a lovely 1 bedroom cottage. I wish we had know how much 1 unit of electricity was as we were concious all week of how much our bill would be in the end. We had cold nights so needed the heating on, water heater was advised to keep on continous - which we did. Cooking cant of used much. Pleasantly suprised with a bill of just under £18. We would have used the heating more if we had known.......
We ate in the bar twice. Meals ok but not very good if you are coeliac. Only one choice - chicken. My husband had to have a jacket potatoe ( more a lunchtime meal) on the second night....... The takeaway has two choices though and dont know why they dont serve those meals in the bar....
Pool, sauna a steam room were great and loved the 5 - 6 adult only sessions. Changing room spacious too.
TV was a bit annoying as being freeview we kept loosing signal, bit annoying when in the middle of a programme. Bed was lovely and big and very comfortable. Bathroom looked fairly new but shower wasnt very powerful - was adequate though. Nice towels too.
There are some lovely walks and drives and places to visit nearby. There is a book in your room which was very helpful. We covered something new everyday from it.
An idea for a week away would be.
Drive round Loch Tay with visit to Kenmore Hotel for lunch.
Visit Castle Menzie then just past there is a tea room and gallery. Then drive back along river Tay to Grand Tulley. Sit on decking at the Inn on the Tay. Visit the chocolate shop across the road.
Birks of Aberfeldy walk. Visit Watermill for proper teas and coffee. Homer under the wheel is lovely for household items. Dewars distillery
Pitlochray for Blair Atholl distillery (Bells) and Edradour just outside town, another whisky distillery. Athol Palace hotel, we had a pot of tea with biscuits, then visited their museum in the basement.
Crief visitor centre with shop and Caithness glass factory. Drummond gardens just down the road with 1 mile drive up to house.
Blair Caste, House of Bruar then finally a drive back through the hills, over Tummel bridge. The most fabulous scenery.
On way home stopped nr Gleneagles hotel in the village at another chocolate shop - Cocoa mountain..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your five star review, it's great to read so many positive comments and that overall you enjoyed a relaxing, wonderful break. It seems you certainly made the most of all the area has to offer!! Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I booked the moness resort for myself and fiancé. we got asked if we wanted to upgrade our room to the honeymoon suite. I had to pay extra for this. though he said that the room is fantastic. Worth upgrading too. which for 2 nights a meal included on the first night came to £300. He did also say that he would put a note on the booking to say it was for a special occasion due to me proposing to my fiance. i did ask in the picture for the honeymoon suite does this come with the champagne, He said that he can request it, though not guaranteed but i did upgrade my room. so he cant see why not. So i cant understand what i paid extra for.

on arrival,, we checked in and went to our room, in the room was a bed, 2 bottles of water and the bathroom which has splashes of red stuff all over the walls. so really what did i pay extra for. a bigger bed??. as that was all. there was nothing.
all i can say is if you want somewhere to book for your honeymoon do NOT book there, the room is just like any other room in the hotel. there is nothing that you go in to and you think wow this is amazing, its a bed with a small tv which didnt work.

Our first night for the food. sat down got given the menu in the restaurant which looked more like my school gym with tables put on the floor. a waitress who didnt know a joke or how to smile and thumped her self round the place taking orders.
we booked a 3 course dinner which was included in the price. Nothing said that we had to pay an extra £5 supplement for Steak and an extra £2 for the peppercorn sauce. On the menu for the main there is about 6 choices. so there was nothing i seen sept steak, i was in a party of 4 so we all ordered steak, now the 3 course dinner was £27. were the supplement of £5 comes from and another £2 for the sauce is ridiculous. so before we paid the bill we already had to pay £28 extra for supplements + and extra £3.50 for dessert as we ordered cheese. which came with 2 oatcakes and 3 different cheeses. A dessert costs £6. So how can you get away with charging £9.50 for cheese.

though the other deserts on the menu were really nice. hot sticky toffee pudding and white chocolate cheesecake,
if you want to order salmon or any of the fish there is also an extra supplement, which this isn't advised when making a booking, totally out priced. the food quality for the starters and main aren't up to much either. they were nice but nothing for the price we paid
4 people. 3 course meal each. 2 bottles of wine. total price £192. which I wouldn't mind paying if the food was brilliant.

2nd night we had dinner in the bar upstairs which i would advise to go to. The food, atmosphere and all round much better than the restaurant, plus its cheaper. and there are no hidden supplements. Food service was quick and the drinks prices were good.


last thing to mention is the breakfast. £12.50 for adults £6.50 for kids.
i just wanted a roll though i was told i would still need to pay the full price. and i can order from anything on the menu. my fiance ordered something and asked for a potato scone. the waitress came back and advised the chef refused this, as they cannot do this, so i am paying £12.50 for anything on the menu i want but i cant mix and match. Joke.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpson1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness resort on trip advisor.

We are naturally disappointed and somewhat saddened to read some of the descriptives and misunderstandings of your recent stay.

I am sorry that you were under the impression that champagne was included in your stay. This request could have been adhered too at an extra cost and its unfortunate that you misunderstood at time of booking.

Room 06 is often booked by guests for special occasions. I am pleased to say that out usual feedback of this room if very positive, the claw foot bath and the bespoke mahogany furnishings being the point of all good feedback, that being said I am sorry the room did not meet your own expectations.

Supplements are often charged on premium dishes in all restaurants. Our Flemmyng restaurant offers a choice of ten main courses with supplements applying to only two. The price of said supplements along with the price of any side dish are clearly displayed on the menu. Regardless of your impressions, Im very pleased you chose to dine with us again on your 2nd night and that you enjoyed your meal in the Terrace Bar.

Your second night with us was inclusive of breakfast and although it is unusual to mix some menu items. After investigation I feel this may have been a communication problem as of course our chefs would have happily supplied an addtional item at no extra charge.

With all that being said I am sorry that is seems that Moness Resort did not meet with some of your own expectations and we would encourage all travellers to read our more favourable reviews which we consider a truer reflection of the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We were in the area for a family event and stayed in Juniper, Kew and Ivy - all 1 bed cottages.
The booking was actually through Groupon, but we would definitely return to this surprise find.
The cottages were absolutely excellent. Splotlessly clean, large and with very good facilities. To find an upstairs living area with a wee veranda to sit on and look across at rooks nesting was amazing (they weren't noisy!). The zip/link beds were a total blessing to oldies and not so oldies alike - large and soooo comfortable. Very impressive. The water pressure in the shower wasn't great but that's so often the case in cottages so wasn't a problem. Heating was quick. We paid £5 electricity per cottage for a 2 day visit which seemed very reasonable. The pool, steam room and sauna were such a treat and we sat outside on the Terrace cafe in the sunshine to have an excellent lunch. The staff were so pleasant everywhere - Anna was patience herself on the phone and although we never met in person she was as charming as all the reception and dining staff.
We were lucky enough to arrive in great weather but this this could be a great place for rainy days too - table tennis, etc. Ducks and rabbits wandered around - the "birks" walk was nearby and Aberfeldy was lovely (great butcher/mellis cheeseshop). The staff in the the Information Centre were great fun and the Watermill gallery and bookshop is really top class. The members of our party who hadn't booked and had to get back to work were very jealous but plan to return another day. So shall we. Thank you all!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noojie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

What a wonderfully comprehensive five star review! So much detail was covered, it would take a very lengthy response to cover all the comments you wrote. So... we would just like to say a very big thank you and mention that we are so very pleased to read you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Thank you once again and we look forard to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We arrived on Friday the 27th of April for a two night stay in a cottage in the time share part of Moness, our cottage (number 44) was clean, tidy, well equiped and comfortable. Facilities on site are good with two areas to eat, a bar (with Sky TV) swimming, sauna, treatment rooms, snooker,pool and table tennis all in close proximity. Outside there's a childrens play area and putting green. We ate dinner one night and the standard of fare was really pretty good and enjoyable - all in all, good value for money and a relaxing weekend! The only issue? 10am is an early checkout, but given the geography of the site understandable that it takes time to get round to clean and tidy - I would recommend a visit here as would the other 4 couples we travelled with.

Room Tip: All the Cottages on site looked great! I guess if you can get a semi or end terraced (we were the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeWhite049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Moness Resort. So great to read you found your cottage so comfortable, enjoyed your dining experience and had such a relaxing weekend with us. Also I very pleased to read that yoursleves and your travelling companions would recommend us. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in a self catering cottage at Moness a couple of weeks ago, this was our second time in about 18 months. Our accommodation was well furnished and comfortable and the kitchen well equipped with everything we needed. The staff were pleasant and helpful - both of us had a spa treatment with Holly who I can highly recommend. I had not had a day off since January, so the Indian Head Massage was a real de-stresser for an hour. OH had a relaxing breakfast while I had this done.

I've read one or two comments on here about Moness needing to have entertainment, but being in Perthshire for me is all about going on beautiful walks, then quietly relaxing in the evenings. If I wanted entertainment I'd choose somewhere really lively. It rained during a lot of our stay, but who cares when the scenery is fantastic! Away from Aberfeldy there are plenty of things to see and do, you don't have to travel far.

I hope to be back again for a few days, perhaps in the autumn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherub61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’m pleased to read that your latest visit was enjoyable and particularly that you enjoyed your experiences in the spa. I will share your lovely comments especially with Holly, whom you kindly mention. Thank you once again and we too look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having spent two days at this resort in a self catering cottage with three other adults this place is exceptional food good staff first class location excellent recommend to anyone first class

Room Tip: all rooms as no are 1 st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IANJOHN34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonessResort, Public Relations Manager at Moness Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you for your fantastic five star review, I was really pleased to read such positive comments. Its really great to read you would highly recommend us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
1.2 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
103 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
921 reviews
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Leisure Club
8.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,901 reviews
14.2 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moness Resort

Address: Crieff Road, Aberfeldy PH15 2DY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $63 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland’s longest and loveliest glen, its longest river (the Tay), some of its most spectacular mountains and lochs, and a rich and historic culture. All this and more are part of the welcome we extend to you from Moness Resort, a 35-acre woodland estate in Aberfeldy at the very heart of Highland Perthshire. Whether you are looking for a 4* Perthshire hotel break or a charming 4* country house hotel in Scotland, Moness is the perfect choice. Moness House hotel is a former shooting lodge dating back to 1758 and the oldest dwelling in Aberfeldy. Lovingly refurbished to retain the integrity of the original while introducing the essentials of modern day comfort, it is the ideal place to relax after time spent exploring this beautiful and unique part of Scotland. Hotel accommodation in this unique house been individually styled and offers a range of Deluxe and Superior rooms, graded according to size and location. All are furnished to an exceptional standard that will leave you feeling truly pampered. Or choose to stay in one of our Perthshire holiday cottages and lodges. They range from traditional to beautiful four star cottages that make the perfect gathering place for a family break in Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moness Hotel Aberfeldy
Moness Hotel Country
Moness Resort Aberfeldy, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing