We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious presentation”

The Grill Room at The Kenmore
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grill Room at The Kenmore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Aberfeldy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dundee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pretentious presentation”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Cosy hotel which allows dogs in - this was the plus side. As for the food - it claims on the menu that it uses a new cooking method using a special grill. The burgers that we purchased were presented skewered on an unusual and unecessary huge plate with a cylindrical dish of several blackened wedges/ chips - not aesthetically pleasing to look at and not much better to eat.Also overpriced in my opinion.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thejazzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    74
    47
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday treat and surprise.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Visited my family, and had a surprise birthday meal, meal was beautiful, and well presented, staff pleasant, and table was laid wonderful for my birthday.compliments to the chef for making me a beautiful cake.hotel very relaxing, rooms need updating but overall a wonderful visit.be happy to visit again but i would stay in the lodges as they are high spec accomadation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank frontmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Having visited Kenmore for a few days we decided to treat ourselves to what we thought would be an enjoyable experience at the Grill restaurant but wasn't. The initial visit to the hotel bar with its log fire and Burns poetry on the chimney breast was very pleasant and we looked forward to trying out the food. My wife and I ordered a starter and both of us chose the steak burger as a main course. The starter was fine and the presentation of the burgers was good. However we both found the steak burger over seasoned with spice and salt, the salt being the worst part. We also thought that the burger was too dense and not really burger like. We highlighted the saltiness to the waiter who said the chef was aware of problems with his local supplier of the burgers and was trying to get it resolved. However this did not help us and I was amazed to discover that the restuarant did not make its own burgers. These were easily the worst burgers I have ever had and would advise anyone visiting the restaurant to avoid them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bfmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hallam, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gone down hill I'm afraid”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've looked forward to going to the Kenmore for a meal having been year on year in the past. The roaring log fire, the ambience, friendly staff... This year, no fire, when asked if it was going to be lit the staff just said no, when ordering a 'rack' of pork was given a chop. When queried that it wasn't as described on the menu nor did it have the listed accompaniements we were quite curtly told that the chop WAS in fact a rack, the response was 'well do you want it or not?'. As the rest of the family had their meals it was accepted but disappointingly. It was taken away to have a teaspoon of shop bought apple sauce added to it. Another couple arrived, ate and left. It's not a quiet time in the area, the Courtyard is always busy, friendly and the food is beautiful. It was nice to have another option but it's not one we'll use again or recommend. Sadly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“pleasant evening meal”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we were welcomed by a warm log fire after a walk from our apartment The service was excellent and the food came well presented We had the fish and chips and the fish was very fresh

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room at The Kenmore also viewed

Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Grill Room at The Kenmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing