We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perthshire Break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breadalbane Arms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Breadalbane Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perthshire Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent situation in Aberfeldy , the breakfast was very good ,using local produce .
The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful . Unfortunately the decor was extremely tired and dated although I understand it is due to be refurbished in the near future .

Booked by telephone to redeem a Groupon voucher , and was a little apprehensive when I was only asked my name to confirm booking . On arrival I was advised that despite booking for 2 nights we had only been booked for 1 night , but this was rectified immediately .

The location was ideal for touring the surrounding area and there were sufficient cafes , restaurants and bars to cater for our stay . The many walks and beautiful scenery made it a very pleasant break .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    66
    71
    44
    92
See reviews for
39
175
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with my mother for 2 nights = 2 nights to many!!!
No manager was present throughout our stay and the staff that were there had no clue how to man the bar or the reception!
To my absolute disgust a staff member saw fit to invite his friends into his room after business hours / the middle of the night for a drink! He had the room adjacent to ours! These 'friends' had been walking up the main street and stopped to have a conversation with him, which was shouted between them in the street and him in his room, before he invited them into the hotel. This happened on BOTH nights of our stay!
1st night we were awoken by the noise at 01.00 which continues until 03.00 - I stupidly thought that this would not happen again on the Sunday night as people would be in bed for work on the Monday morning - and in so did not request a room change. To our disgust this happened again on the Sunday night, we were awoken at 00.30 and the noise continued until 02.55.
On the Sunday night (Monday morning) my mother banged on the room wall due to her disgust at been kept awake for the 2nd night to be informed by one of his 'friends' that 'were just in having a [--] drink'. To top it all off each and every time the staff member left his room one of the fire doors he used slammed behind him and not only made an horrendous noise but also vibrated the walls of our room! On the Monday morning we left without breakfast, I can 2nd all the previous comments about the breakfast and the stench of chip pan fat filling the corridor outside the kitchen and in the dining room.
God only knows when the last time the main hallway carpet outside the bedrooms was last hovered!
I have since been offered a bottle of house wine if I DARE return = NO THANK YOU! I value my sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilmchugh, General Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay, I would firstly like to say that a new management team has been brought into the hotel in the last couple of weeks and we are very focused on improving the hotel on all fronts.
I would also like to point out that the "problem" regarding a staff member has been quickly resolved by ourselves and can assure that this problem will not arise again. The problem with the smell from the kitchen has also been a priority and should not be an issue in the future.
I would like to point out that there will be refurbishment going on with extensive staff training and procedures renewed, we will also have a lot going on within the hotel and we are fully confident in bringing the Breadalbane up to a high standard. We understand your frustrations but would like to echo the determination and experience that our new management team have and would be grateful if you could contact the hotel directly to discuss your issues further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberfeldy hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a night last week and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. On talking to the very smartly dressed staff whom welcomed us it was clear that there is a brand new management team who had just started that week and having talked to other guests they had made a huge difference in that small space of time, so i look forward to seeing what they achieve in the winter. It also appears there will be investment put into the hotel and fully expect it to be of a very decent standard next summer.
The food was of a good standard and very filling, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel has a huge amount of charm from the slightly slopping corridors to the stairs leading to the bathroom.

I would urge people to forget the recent bad reviews as this is one hotel deffinetly on the rise!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallace711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked a 3-day break (DBB) for a bargain £79. Found a very helpful receptionist who had only just started employment. He carried our bag upstairs to first floor very willingly. Our room though small was clean and comfortable. Dining room staff were very prompt in service and portions for dinner were always more than I could manage to eat. Hotel is central to town and maybe a room at back would be preferable if you are light sleeper, due to early morning traffic noise at front rooms. A most relaxing break and good touring centre for Perth and Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are likely to be quieter. A lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed here last week. This was our experience. There was no manager in charge during the 4 night stay. This hotel is not suitable for anyone who has a disability. There is no lift, and the hotel is spread over many different levels including within the rooms (there were seven steps to climb to get to a bathroom). Bedrooms were very small, could not open wardrobes or drawers. On one occasion, one room was not made up at all. Security was poor, a bedroom door was left unlocked after staff had been in to clean. A Bath had loose support rails, one of the two rooms had no shower at all. Breakfast and dinner would be rated 2 out of 10. These problems were no fault of the staff, but there is no leadership in this hotel. In our opinion this hotel needs closing and redeveloped.

Room Tip: Don't go there / choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite arriving and there being some confusion over double bookings, the staff went out of their way to help solve the matter. Luckily there was room for us and after the initial confusion, it proved to be a great weekend!!!

The food was lovely, bar staff great and rooms very clean. Despite all the bad reviews this place is a perfect base to go exploring in the surrounding areas.
Good value for money and good food, what more can you ask for ????

Room Tip: Loved room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arrived today to be told that they had double booked our room and so there wasn't anywhere for use to stay. The staff couldn't care less and just left us abandoned!!! NEVER AGAIN How can a professional organisation double book and then make out is our fault and fail to even assist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinHP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.3 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
7.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 21 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane Arms

Property: Breadalbane Arms
Address: | Bridgend, Aberfeldy PH15 2DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breadalbane Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Breadalbane Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Arms Aberfeldy, Scotland
Breadalbane Arms Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing