We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on the rise”
Review of Breadalbane Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breadalbane Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for a night last week and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. On talking to the very smartly dressed staff whom welcomed us it was clear that there is a brand new management team who had just started that week and having talked to other guests they had made a huge difference in that small space of time, so i look forward to seeing what they achieve in the winter. It also appears there will be investment put into the hotel and fully expect it to be of a very decent standard next summer.
The food was of a good standard and very filling, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel has a huge amount of charm from the slightly slopping corridors to the stairs leading to the bathroom.

I would urge people to forget the recent bad reviews as this is one hotel deffinetly on the rise!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallace711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 325 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked a 3-day break (DBB) for a bargain £79. Found a very helpful receptionist who had only just started employment. He carried our bag upstairs to first floor very willingly. Our room though small was clean and comfortable. Dining room staff were very prompt in service and portions for dinner were always more than I could manage to eat. Hotel is central to town and maybe a room at back would be preferable if you are light sleeper, due to early morning traffic noise at front rooms. A most relaxing break and good touring centre for Perth and Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are likely to be quieter. A lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

we stayed here last week. This was our experience. There was no manager in charge during the 4 night stay. This hotel is not suitable for anyone who has a disability. There is no lift, and the hotel is spread over many different levels including within the rooms (there were seven steps to climb to get to a bathroom). Bedrooms were very small, could not open wardrobes or drawers. On one occasion, one room was not made up at all. Security was poor, a bedroom door was left unlocked after staff had been in to clean. A Bath had loose support rails, one of the two rooms had no shower at all. Breakfast and dinner would be rated 2 out of 10. These problems were no fault of the staff, but there is no leadership in this hotel. In our opinion this hotel needs closing and redeveloped.

Room Tip: Don't go there / choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite arriving and there being some confusion over double bookings, the staff went out of their way to help solve the matter. Luckily there was room for us and after the initial confusion, it proved to be a great weekend!!!

The food was lovely, bar staff great and rooms very clean. Despite all the bad reviews this place is a perfect base to go exploring in the surrounding areas.
Good value for money and good food, what more can you ask for ????

Room Tip: Loved room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Arrived today to be told that they had double booked our room and so there wasn't anywhere for use to stay. The staff couldn't care less and just left us abandoned!!! NEVER AGAIN How can a professional organisation double book and then make out is our fault and fail to even assist.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinHP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Arrived and there was no reception staff to meet and greet. Nobody showed us to our room, didn't understand our groupon voucher and shut the dinner room before we had dinner! Breakfast isn't much to go for either. Anaemic sausage and powdery cornflakes! You don't need an alarm clock just get woken up by the smoke alarm.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkelephant88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Small sloping room and I mean sloping felt like I was sleeping on a hill, there was a ledge at the side and top of the bed so it was impossible to sit up, very dated. Location was good on the main square but sleep quality was bad, wanted to get off early so went down for breakfast as soon as they started serving only to be told the chef had slept in! There was sick on the stairs from the night before not their fault but would have expected it to be cleaned up sooner, not a good experience and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,683 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
98 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
468 reviews
8.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane Arms

Address: | Bridgend, Aberfeldy PH15 2DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $40 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Breadalbane Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Breadalbane Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Arms Aberfeldy, Scotland
Breadalbane Arms Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing