We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay”
Review of Breadalbane Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breadalbane Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights with two dogs and used our voucher from Groupon.
I regret adding a dinner on first night to our groupon option- there were not enough choices on the menu (if I remember correctly three or four) and I had impression the menu was created especially for Groupon customers (there were no prices shown and it looked totally different from bar menu!).
I did not enjoy the dinner (not fresh, just heated up food) but the breakfast was excellent (basic but fresh cooked, piping hot and we didn't have to wait long).
The hotel is in the centre and it was easy to find, the room was small but clean, staff very friendly.
The only downside is the internet connection- despite asking a few times for the username and password we were unable to connect to the internet on our laptops and phones.
For majority time we were out of the hotel (there is a lot of places to visit around) and it was nice to come back to very warm and clean room (it was very cold outside and raining often).
We might come back if they have another deal on Groupon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    71
    73
    44
    93
See reviews for
39
180
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Spent three nights here in july on a dinner bed and breakfast basis, the meals at night were absolutly SUPERB, the breakfast on the other hand was pretty crap, the table service was COMPLETLY ABBHORRANT, and the room service very basic. The barstaff were LESS THAN CLUELESS! Never got charged the same price twice for the same drinks!!!!! But on saying that, we were informed that the hotel had been taken over by new people. The new manager(who had just started that day) seemed a nice enough guy) so heres hoping he can turn it around. DONT GO IF YOU HAVE KIDS OR ARE INFIRM(cant handle stairs)

Room Tip: go somwhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scunnercampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good location, in the centre of Aberfeldy.
Lots of stairs within the hotel leading to the guest bedrooms.
I requested a room with a shower which was no problem for the reception staff to arrange. However, it was one of the furthest away rooms. A challenge as I am recovering from surgery & temporarily using a stick. I got the impression there was only one room with a shower.
The room was a small double, fortunately I was alone!
It suited me fine but may have been too small for a couple.
The floors are very creaky, if all of the rooms near you were occupied it could make for a noisy stay!
The decor & fittings were dated.
Both the room & the small shower room were clean.
Breakfast was served from 8am to 9.30 am. I ate earlier on my second morning & the food was certainly fresher. No beans on either morning!
I used the hotel as a base, I had family staying at Moness & could not get booked in there.
I don't think I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, General Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The hotel is an old Coaching Inn and the floors are creaky as you said but it all adds to the Character of the place. We do have other rooms with showers but on the night in question this was the only room available.
Beans are not a standard on our menu - but we have now ordered them in so we have them if a customer requires them.

Mhairi Moffat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 5 spent two nights at the Hotel. Rooms were clean and comfortable however was a little disappointed with the lack of shower and rooms lacked any personality. Breakfast on both mornings were very average.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrylass91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, Public Relations Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed you found our breakfast average as we pride ourselves in the food we serve. I have asked the staff to make sure that the new Breakfast Menu is used as there is something for everyone on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Was given two day get away as a retirement gift via Groupon, what a disaster. The whole place smelt of burnt cooking oil from the minute we walked in until we left one day later. We could not stay for our second day. On arrival we were given a room or should I say a box with a bath. We were given a plastic hose to use in the bath if we wanted to have a shower. We asked for a room with a shower, we were given this, to be fair this was a bigger room but the shower only had cold water coming through and that was only a dribble. The evening meal was advertised as gammon steak, salad and potatoes, I received gammon steak, peas and burnt black chips. We were asked at breakfast what we wanted to eat, never told what we could have. At reception they were burning scented candles to try and cover up the smell of the burnt oil. It states that the hotel has recently been renovated still trying to work out where this has been done. I cannot fault the staff, they are friendly and try to make your stay pleasant. Every piece of clothing we had with us has had to go directly into the wash due to the smell clinging to it. This hotel has to be avoided at all cost.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sapper102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, Public Relations Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay - We had a problem with the extraction in the kitchen and were awaiting an engineer thankfully the problem is resolved now. The Gammon Steak is served normally with Chips and Peas on our bar menu but I understand that there was an occasion when Gammon Steak Salad and Potatoes was on the dinner menu so this is possibly where the confusion has come from.
We have had a few staffing problems but they have been resolved since your visit.
As I have written previously the hotel is slowly being renovated but this is a busy time of year and all work has been put on hold until the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberfeldy hotels

East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Weekend 2 guys up for river canyoning , I was very sad to see the quality of the accomodation ,cramped , no mattress protectors, old creaky
furniture , not the recently overhauled and refurbished rooms it promises in the leaflet, food was average . Even the band on Saturday didn't turn up . Maybe they new something .. . ..? The group who own this hotel really need to look at themselves if they want to compete in the market, the staff were pleasant ,but really need to Loki at the presentation of the rooms they expect guests to stay in. Feel sorry for staff who all appear to be leaving soon.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, Public Relations Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As I have said in previous reviews we will be investing heavily in the hotel in the not too distant future.
The staff that have left have been replaced and the Hotel has a totally different atmosphere altogether. This and the refurbishments planned will totally transform The Hotel.

Mhairi Moffat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Just had a two night B&B stay at the Breadalbane courtesy of Groupon (again!). I read some of the reviews before we booked and all the important stuff was well reviewed so I knew what to expect. To all of the moaning Minnies, I have no idea what you expected from a budget hotel but this was a perfectly nice place with great staff and great breakfast. Yes, the hotel was a wee bit rustic, the room was tiny and the shower was slow but it really didn't matter. The location is lovely, made even better by the fact that the weather was glorious! We took our border collie pup (7 months old) with us for only a tenner and he had a great time too. Hours spent at Victoria Park chasing a frisbee and long country walks along with loads of attention from the other guests meant he was in his element. Only one slight negative......the set dinner menu (a tenner a head, booked in advance) was okay, but I would strongly recommend a main course from the bar menu instead as the bar food was delicious and the portions were huge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilackat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, Public Relations Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. We always have special offer breaks on so just ring the hotel anytime you want to come back and I am sure we can accomodate your budget.

Mhairi Moffat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#2 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
The Townhouse Aberfeldy
#1 of 19 in Aberfeldy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane Arms

Property: Breadalbane Arms
Address: | Bridgend, Aberfeldy PH15 2DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Breadalbane Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breadalbane Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Arms Aberfeldy, Scotland
Breadalbane Arms Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing