We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's chilly up North”
Review of Breadalbane Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breadalbane Arms
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We arrived after a heavy downfall of snow. Although the access roads around the hotel were passable with care the car park at the rear had not been cleared. Three stalls later I managed to park the car. On entering the hotel using the rear entrance the first noticeable thing was just how cold it felt, this would be a constant feature for the duration of the break.

Checked in and climbed the stairs to our first floor room. Stuck the heater on, you guessed, it was freezing. The room did eventually warm up but so did the outside temps as a thraw would begin the next day.

The meal on the first night was instantly forgettable. I had a very bland haggis and neeps, while Mrs Beanoz had, according to her, reasonable mushroom pasta. Of the 4 couples staying that night only 3 were paying guest. The other couple were that night’s entertainment.

Onto the aforementioned entertainment. Once the singer had made some homophobic comments while setting up his equipment we settled down for an evening of culture. Well not before I popped upstairs to get a jumper and the wifes winter jacket, yes it was perishing. We quickly got to know the other couples staying in the hotel and also met visitors to the hotel who would normally stay. I got the impression they put up with the hotels failings due to the price. Well £29 dbb should represent value for money. Mmm

The following evenings meals were truly appalling. One of our fellow guests asked if the haddock on the menu was fresh. A minute or 2 later and they received a reassuring a reply that indeed, the fish was fresh. This prompted us to order the fish as well. Mistake. As the smell of burnt oil enveloped the dining we braced ourselves. Our offering was utterly shocking. Dried out battered fish, which was cooked in such a way, you could never tell whether it was indeed fresh or otherwise. The homemade chips were soggy and the peas hard. It was a hat trick of culinary failures presented on a plate. Impressive.

We retired to our room as the evening’s entertainment had been cancelled. Although not before stocking up on food from the Co-op over the square.

Finally breakfast on our last day was fine but, no beans, surely an oversight!

All in all, while the tarrif was under £30, consider that as a price for bed and breakfast. Dinner is a lottery and where the numbers are stack in favour of the house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beanoz2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breadalbane A, General Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Breadalbane Arms Hotel.

I'm disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, the day you arrived we had indeed had a very large fall of snow and we were unable to clear the carpark manually, and all available snow ploughs were out clearing trunk roads. We did indeed have a walk way into the hotel cleared for the comfort of our guests.

I am surprised that your room was cold upon entering as we usually have the heater on for a considerable time prior to guests arrriving, and if this was overlooked I apologise.

As a charge of £29 DBB for a 3 course dinner and fully cooked breakfast is considerable value for money, I am unhappy that you didn't enjoy it, and the food was'nt to your liking.

I would be delighted if you would consider revisiting us in the better weather, and where our Chef would be only too happy to ensure your dining experience is definitely stacked in favour of yourselves.

Kind Regards

Management Response Team
Breadalbane Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 325 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was slightly wary having booked a two night dinner ,bed and breakfast ,before reading the reviews on Trip Advisor ; however , I can report we are glad we went. The staff were all helpfull and friendly and made you feel welcome , and as for the food , it was well made and generous portions.The rooms were clean , bed linen crisp and towels were new , soft ,fluffy and changed each day.This is without doubt an excellent value for money hotel , trying hard under new ownership , to shake off the inherited low ratings. I would say "give them a chance". Yes its not 5 star , but the break we had was 100% value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlasgowStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in the 'Breadbin' (as locals called it) for an overnight in December whilst in Aberfeldy for a do @ the Town Hall. My local friend had reccommended & made the booking for us. After checking in about 7ish we found the room clean & & fresh. If your looking for pretentious designer stuff then this aint for you! The decor is very nostalgia-inducing but just adds to the character of the place. After switching the room heater on it quickly warmed up & was very cozy! We had a quick drink in the welcoming bar & found staff very helpful & friendly! Following a fab night in the Town Hall we returned to oor lodgings & decided to have a nightcap before bed however, this turned into quite a few nightcaps as the band were still there & not quite finished! Everyone was so friendly, time just flew in & eventually we called it a night. Breakfast the follwing morning was not for the faint hearted.. Huge portions of quality, tasty food which I struggled with as I'm not oversized or a huge eater but it certainly set me up for the day! On departure we were asked if we'd enjoyed our stay which we certainly had! We were wished safe travels & went on our way! Will def stay there again! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SisterSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel only having an evening meal. The food was pub grub which was very tasty with absolutely massive portions. A number of us had scampi and chips and I can honestly say I have never had more scampi in my life. The meal could barely fit on the plate.... Absolutely excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Highlandbull74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel has new owners who need to spend a bit on refurbishment but our room on the first floor was clean and comfortable. To fund the renovations the owners could cut back on the quantity of food provided! Dinner runs to six courses with the starters, main courses, sweets and cheese and biscuits coming in huge portions! The quality of the food is also excellent. Breakfast can be continemtal or full with an extensive choice of dishes.
Entertainment is provided in the bar on Thurs,Friday and Saturday and is of a good standard mostly folk or C&W which can lead to a good singsong!
Jill is a very helpful manageress and her main support staff. all hungarian, Greg, Christina, Julia and Yvette gave excellent caring service.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerryattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Been to the breadalbane before for dinner and didnt like it to say the least however i thought i would give it ago again as i heard new owners had bought it and thought they would have new staff.They must have because the food was great. Everything was cooked to perfection. Only down side was that nothing has been done to the inside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wendy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed one night whilst attending a sporting event, which resulted in the hotel being fully booked.
I'd checked out the reviews on here, and so wasn't expecting high standards. But I wasn't prepared for the appalling service from the management that myself and our group experienced.
Our annual event brings in a lot of money to the town, and any savvy business would try to ensure their hospitality was turned up a notch when premium prices are charged at this time. Not so here.
The hotel is badly in need of The Hotel Inspector. To offer rooms with only a bath and no shower in the 21st Century is questionable. To have been runnng the hotel for 27 years and not attempted to remedy these failings is inexcusable.
Winter-hours bar meals are served until 8pm. At 7.45 we gave our order for starters and mains. I struggled to find anything on the menu that was imaginative or wasn't out of the freezer. After finishing these, we asked to see the pudding menu, only to be told (at 8.40pm) that the kitchen was closed!!
Breakfast was paltry. Not since 1983 have I seen a breakfast menu with fried bread included in the Full Scottish. The sausages were the cheap, frozen, catering pack type which had been deep-fried. Two Eastern European waiting staff struggled to keep up with the volume of guests.
Browsing the Evening menu, this included Fruit Juice as a starter!!!

All in all, it was just horrendous. The Management have lost their passion for hospitality; the hotel badly needs a makeover, and the Chef needs brought out of the 1980s. Next year I will be booking early and paying an extra few pounds to stay at the Moness.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Breadalbane Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Carlislecat,
I am extremely sorry for what you have experienced.

The Hotel has just been bought by new Owners. In relation to the issues you experience with our Staff we are sorry as this should not have happened and can assure you that this will not happen again.

The new Owners have purchased new luxury linen for all bedrooms and are in the process of upgrading areas of the Hotel.

We are in the process of recruiting a Team of Chefs and implementing new breakfast menus, bar meal menus and restaurant menus all offering an excellent selection of locally sourced produce. The Hotel will also be serving food from 8:00am to 9:00pm 7 days per week.

I am extremely disappointed that you are looking to book another Hotel for your event next year and would be delighted if you would contact us so that we can discuss your comments further, explain the changes we are making and get your party booked back with us next year so that we can show you our changes and change your opinion on the Hotel.

Best regards

The Breadalbane Arms Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfeldy
0.2 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
3,683 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Weem Inn
The Weem Inn
#3 of 4 in Aberfeldy
98 reviews
17.6 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
7.9 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
468 reviews
8.0 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane Arms

Address: | Bridgend, Aberfeldy PH15 2DF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Aberfeldy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Aberfeldy
Price Range: $40 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Breadalbane Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Breadalbane Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breadalbane Arms Aberfeldy, Scotland
Breadalbane Arms Hotel Aberfeldy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing