We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bis-Geos Hostel & Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveler rating
11
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed herethe cottagescrofterscliffswalksweatherpuffinsviewsisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 12 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Me and my fiance` stayed at the bis-geos in 2010 over christmas and new year and had what can only be described as a picture perfect holiday. Fantastic sea cliff views amazing little cottage a very relaxing and peaceful place . Alena and her family are fantastic too very helpful and genuine people who didnt mind going the extra mile to help you settle in which we both will never forget. Would recomend the cottage to anyone who wants a great holiday in a beautiful place with very friendly people. P.s hope to go back again one day to relive the magic.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Crofters Rest self catering cottage for a week. Perfect, peaceful, relaxing, cozy retreat. Stunning views out across the sea cliffs. More birds than people, one evening we saw puffins on a sea stack a short walk away. Alena was very friendly and helpful, as was everyone else we meet on the island. Would recommend to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

I stayed in Crofter's Rest, the smallest of the cottages, for 3 nights with my boyfriend. It's a small place with little storage room, but it's lovely and definitiely reccommended; the lady that runs it was very helpful and we had a very peaceful stay. The underfloor heating is useful and there's a walk right from your doorstep down to stunning coastline and an RSPB reserve. If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. It has all mod cons like stove, oven, decent shower, use of a freezer in the shed, etc. but we were a little disappointed the fire didn't draw properly (we were warned when we arrived but we still gave it a shot).
We only paid £35 a night, so I think it was a real bargain!
However, it is behind the other cottage (and attached to it, but that didn't present any problems) and doesn't have the same stunning views; more views of fields than the coast/sea (I only mention it so you're aware).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimmy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

This is surely a hostel to beat all other hostels. With enormous bunk beds in double and family rooms, you feel like you're in a hotel not a hostel. The views from the conservatory are amazing, and the garden is fantastic. A great well-stocked kitchen, excellent advice and help from Alena, and clean bathrooms. What a place. The best hostel we have ever stayed in. It was rebuilt some years ago by the local doctor, and you can see pictures in a book in the conservatory of what it looked like before he rebuilt it! The walk up to the light-house is great, and you are likely to meet some great people staying there. Worth a trip.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We had three nights in the small self-catering unit and used the hostel sun porch. The self-catering unit has a box bed, stone floor, underfloor heating, shower room etc. Superb location and superb accommodation. If you need to unwind and don't want 5* chain hotels, jacuzzis and all that, this is the place to come for a get away from it all break. Lots to do and see in Westray - if you can be bothered to stir from the view at Bis Geos. Shops stock everything (literally) and Alena, the warden, is very helpful. Hesitating over recommending this place in case we can't get in next time we want to go!!

2  Thank Tammienorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews