We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanday
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanday B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Impressed is an understatement! Amazing location, amazing food and amazing hosts. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was first class. I'm a hard person to impress when it comes to restaurants, but Backaskaill Farmhouse is up there with one of my favorites.
My bed was very comfortable, fresh and warm. The bathroom was spotless.
A big bonus was the guest lounge. It's very comfortable, with an impressive TV, everything you need after a long day of fresh Sanday air.
For a one nights stay or a two week holiday, I would highly recommend Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, it was our pleasure to look after you, we hope to see you again if ever you are in Sanday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights on our first visit to Sanday, we arrived off the Ferry a couple of miles away. We found the B&B easily. On arrival we were welcomed by a warm house, friendly owners and a homemade hot meal (just what we needed after 10 hours of travelling). The owners are most welcoming and made us feel at home. Our room was lovely, warm, spacious and comfortable with a fantastic view from the window. We even had the opportunity to see the Northern Lights one night. We ate at the B&B restaurant every night as they had a menu with many selections of starters, main course and desserts, plus the food was very good, especially after an active day on the island – we recommend Geoff’s veggie surprise!. Although we forgot all about watching the television they have a lovely visitors lounge to relax in after a busy day. If you’re coming to Sanday for holiday or business and looking for somewhere to stay, Backaskaill Farmhouse is fantastic place to stay, with its own beech that has crystal clear water and white sands, 1st class food and hospitality. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stone-lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,and that you liked Sanday too! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now on buisness trips to Sanday and have been made to feel most welcome by Geoff and Jane. The Bakaskaill is the perfect place to retreat to after a days work to unwind. The Resteraunt serves the most superb quality of food and no dish is too much trouble. In the evening there is a lovely comfortable lounge area to relax and a large TV which is there for the use of the guests.

If you are visiting Sanday for buisness or a family holiday then you have to check into the Backaskaill.

Look forward to my next trip over, cant wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to seeing you again on Sanday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for three nights on our visit to Sanday. Accommodation, food and our hosts Jane and Geoff were marvellous. The room was warm and comfortable and the food really very good after spending three pretty active days on the island. Loved the view looking over the farm to the white sandy bay and its incredible blue waters. Would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 341Lilias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments- we are glad the weather held so you could enjoy all your long bike rides! It was a pleasure to look after you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful long weekend break in Scotland
We visited Backaskaill Farmhouse in Sandy and the hospitality and quality of food and
service were exceptional, Jane and Geoff are a brilliant double act, he is a 1st class chef
and she makes you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The attention
to detail is second to none. If you are planning a trip to Sanday this is a jewel in the crown

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We were so glad we could accomodate you at short notice and you managed to get to the Lighthouse!
Many thanks for your comments and support- it was great to meet you both- if only briefly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent four nights here during a 2 week holiday in the Orkney Islands. Jane and Geoff were the most welcoming hosts, and did everything to make our stay special and relaxing. The comfortable bedroom and relaxing guest lounge were great, but we particularly loved the location - a few seconds from a wonderful sandy beach, and the food - which was delicious. We are both vegetarian, and my wife also gluten free. Geoff cooked us a special 'surprise' meal every evening, which was of the highest standard and absolutely delicious - as good as we've eaten anywhere. We felt so well looked after and will definitely be returning to Sanday, and to Backaskaill, as soon as we can. We can't recommend Backaskaill too highly. Thank you very much! Hilary and Jonathan Hines.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Many thanks for using trip advisor- we truly appreciate your kind comments. Geoff loved cooking all his new veggie dishes to such an appreciative audience!
We hope it won't be long till you manage to return to Sanday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We wanted to say thankyou to Jane and Geoff for a marvellous stay at Backaskaill. Booked 'on spec' as a surprise for my wife, they and their home more than lived up to expectations. A lovely room with a lovely view of the coos and goats and food to die for.
Don't think about it, GO.
We will be back.
John and Sandy

Room Tip: I don't think there are any to miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are so pleased you chose Sanday ,and Backaskaill for Sandy's special birthday! The dogs loved thier walks too- and added bonus for them! It was certainly our pleasure to look after you both, glad you got to see a lot of the Island plus the Lighthouse trip too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanday
21.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
21.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
21.3 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
14.6 mi away
No. 1 Broughton
No. 1 Broughton
#1 of 1 in Pierowall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Shore
The Shore
#10 of 26 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B

Property: Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B
Address: Sanday, KW17 2BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanday
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Backaskaill- we are two minutes walk from the stunning sandy beach which can be viewed from the house. As we only cater for up to 5 guests at any one time you will receive personal service aimed at making your stay a memorable one.We have our own small restaurant and can cater to your own requirements,and also provide packed lunches. BYO alcohol with no corkage fee too! Backaskaill- the perfect place to unwind and relax! Well behaved pets welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing