We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanday
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanday B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Would thoroughly reccommend this B & B with restaurant. Very warm welcome from Jane & Geoff who were excellent hosts. Arrived off the ferry and immediately offered tea and home made cake. Room very comfortable, elegantly decorated with big fluffy towels in the bathroom. Food excellent and all cooked fresh by Geoff. Highlights were the sea bass and the pumpkin soup with home made sun dried tomato bread. Steak from local meat was very good too. Comfortable lounge for relaxing with view of the spectacular beach. Come to Sanday for beaches - one for every direction of the sun and wind. Also not to be missed is the Quoyness neolithic chambered cairn - entrance is a crawl but will worth it. We will be back - next time in summer for a swim.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peediequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments- we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the delights of Sanday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Geoff and Jane are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble, Came over on business and were made to feel right at home. The food is of first class restaurant standard. Even if your not into hotel stays I would recommend this old farmhouse as a good example of how to run a B & B with restaurant.
Will be staying again very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments- it is always a pleasure to make sure you enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Found Jane and Geoff very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Geoff provided some lovely food and varied the menu to suit, even curry to go along with the football! Lovely location - shame about the weather and the football result!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us- sorry about the football result though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Jane and Geoff have recently taken over Backaskaill Farmhouse B&B and have made the property a great choice in peaceful, picturesque Sanday. We stayed for two nights in the queen-bed room downstairs. It was a good size with a spotlessly clean en-suite (nice fresh towels each day too - unusual for a B&B) As a traveller with a sore back my only issue was the slightly soft bed (others may find this a delight!) We ate "in" on both nights of our stay, which turned out to be an excellent choice. Geoff is a professional chef, and his food was superb - what he can do with the sometimes limited supplies on the island is amazing. Fresh, local produce stars and makes for a memorable (well priced) meals, particularly if it's warm and/or sunny enough to sit in the nice conservatory. When we stayed you could BYO your own wine. Breakfast is made to order as well - again excellent. Jane is a excellent, bubbly host and both Jane and Geoff are great to talk to. When we stayed they had recently finished renovating a comfortable-looking upstairs guest lounge. The two pet goats provide amusement and the property itself is well situated a hundred metres or less from the spectacular Backaiskaill Beach.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and meals with us- thanks for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed for one night bed and breakfast and upon hearing that the owner was a professional chef we had our evening meal there too. The accommodation is really very nice indeed and the food was well priced and delicious, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thanks for your kind comments and for choosing us to stay with on Sanday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This B&B has new owners this year.
We went to Sanday for a few days to soak up ancestral air and to enjoy the island's natural beauties.
The B&B was lovely, but what turned out to be the treat was the food. Geoff is a professional chef, and after the first meal of lamb, we said "surprise us" and each evening meal was beautifully cooked and presented, made all the better by the use where possible of local products (lamb, beef, fish).
Jane and Geoff were wonderful hosts--attentive and pampering. The B&B is located near a working farm so we got to watch and be watched by recent calves.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments -we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We decided to visit Sanday and stay overnight at Backaskaill B&B. As we requested a booking at very short notice we were allocated the self catering cottage adjoining the main house. On arrival you are made welcome by the owners and offered tea and home bakes. I have stayed in many B&B's throughout my life and can honestly say that Backaskaill ranks one of the best for food and hospitality. As vegetarians we were more than satisfied with the food offered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selkiesave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B

Address: Sanday, KW17 2BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanday
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Backaskaill- we are two minutes walk from the stunning sandy beach which can be viewed from the house. As we only cater for up to 5 guests at any one time you will receive personal service aimed at making your stay a memorable one.We have our own small restaurant and can cater to your own requirements,and also provide packed lunches. BYO alcohol with no corkage fee too! Backaskaill- the perfect place to unwind and relax! Well behaved pets welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing