We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanday
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B
Ranked #1 of 3 Sanday B&B and Inns
Dawlisg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Found Jane and Geoff very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Geoff provided some lovely food and varied the menu to suit, even curry to go along with the football! Lovely location - shame about the weather and the football result!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us- sorry about the football result though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
29
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Jane and Geoff have recently taken over Backaskaill Farmhouse B&B and have made the property a great choice in peaceful, picturesque Sanday. We stayed for two nights in the queen-bed room downstairs. It was a good size with a spotlessly clean en-suite (nice fresh towels each day too - unusual for a B&B) As a traveller with a sore back my only issue was the slightly soft bed (others may find this a delight!) We ate "in" on both nights of our stay, which turned out to be an excellent choice. Geoff is a professional chef, and his food was superb - what he can do with the sometimes limited supplies on the island is amazing. Fresh, local produce stars and makes for a memorable (well priced) meals, particularly if it's warm and/or sunny enough to sit in the nice conservatory. When we stayed you could BYO your own wine. Breakfast is made to order as well - again excellent. Jane is a excellent, bubbly host and both Jane and Geoff are great to talk to. When we stayed they had recently finished renovating a comfortable-looking upstairs guest lounge. The two pet goats provide amusement and the property itself is well situated a hundred metres or less from the spectacular Backaiskaill Beach.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and meals with us- thanks for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed for one night bed and breakfast and upon hearing that the owner was a professional chef we had our evening meal there too. The accommodation is really very nice indeed and the food was well priced and delicious, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraslet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and for choosing us to stay with on Sanday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This B&B has new owners this year.
We went to Sanday for a few days to soak up ancestral air and to enjoy the island's natural beauties.
The B&B was lovely, but what turned out to be the treat was the food. Geoff is a professional chef, and after the first meal of lamb, we said "surprise us" and each evening meal was beautifully cooked and presented, made all the better by the use where possible of local products (lamb, beef, fish).
Jane and Geoff were wonderful hosts--attentive and pampering. The B&B is located near a working farm so we got to watch and be watched by recent calves.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janeyandgeoffy, Owner at Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments -we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We decided to visit Sanday and stay overnight at Backaskaill B&B. As we requested a booking at very short notice we were allocated the self catering cottage adjoining the main house. On arrival you are made welcome by the owners and offered tea and home bakes. I have stayed in many B&B's throughout my life and can honestly say that Backaskaill ranks one of the best for food and hospitality. As vegetarians we were more than satisfied with the food offered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selkiesave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Backaskaill is an old farmhouse a few miles from the ferry terminal. You drive down a farm track to get to it. I'm told there are magnificent views on the way down but unfortunately the weather was so miserable when we stayed we were unable to see them, but there is little anyone can do about the weather on Orkney.

As soon as we arrived, we were offered tea and scones. The scones were so good we had to try another cake as well and were not disappointed. Maggie popped in and out whilst baking away in the kitchen. We didn't eat dinner as we have already arranged to meet other people in Kettletoft, but part of me wishes we had because if the dinner is as good as the baking, we missed something special.

The room was huge and fillled with solid wooden furniture. This house has character and the oak beams and solid wood everywhere remind you it is an old house, but has been wonderfully modernised. Being and old house, the walls were thick, the room silent and although there was no en-suite, the bathroom was only a few yards from the room and spotless.

I would recommend this place to anyone who visits the island of Sanday. I just wish the weather had been kinder and we could have seen the island in all its glory.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We visited Sanday as part of our holiday on the Orkney Islands off the north of Scotland. Backaskaill is a hop, step and jump from the white Sanday sands, in the midst of one of the famous Orkney farms. You can watch wildlife from the windows of Backaskaill and from the beach here. And all over the island there is so much to see - birds, flowers, archaeology, and a complete skyscape. Staying in this B&B was a great pleasure and Maggie and Paul are delightful people. The stay will be of special pleasure for vegetarians as a full vegetarian menu is available. This is a must for your Orkney tour!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adawoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanday
21.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
366 reviews
21.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ayre's Rock Hostel
Ayre's Rock Hostel
#1 of 1 in Sanday
51 reviews
21.8 mi away
Karrawa Guest House
Karrawa Guest House
#2 of 26 in Kirkwall
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B

Property: Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B
Address: Sanday, KW17 2BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Sanday
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sanday
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Backaskaill- we are two minutes walk from the stunning sandy beach which can be viewed from the house. As we only cater for up to 5 guests at any one time you will receive personal service aimed at making your stay a memorable one.We have our own small restaurant and can cater to your own requirements,and also provide packed lunches. BYO alcohol with no corkage fee too! Backaskaill- the perfect place to unwind and relax! Well behaved pets welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Backaskaill Farmhouse B & B Sanday, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing