We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bed and breakfast at affordable price”
Review of Ferry Bank

Ferry Bank
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferry Bank
Ranked #7 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good bed and breakfast at affordable price”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Minutes from centre of town and ferry and parking available. Clean,
quiet and peaceful house. and a good hostess. We enjoyed our very good breakfasts
from the extensive menu provided. From this I would recommend Ferrybank to visitors
looking for accommodation in Orkney

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biscuit11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed 3 nights last week and was astounded by the thoughfulness of our host even down to providing umbrellas for each guest. Bed supremely comfortable and breakfast was imaginatively presented and delicious. Great views from rooms which were exceptionally well equipped. Thank you Venus for an outstanding experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edinburgh444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This B&B is unbelievable! It doesn't look very large when you approach it from the street, but it is built into the hillside and is surprisingly spacious. Mrs. Hourston is the consumate hostess, welcoming and friendly - the extras in our room were staggering - a mini fridge for the creamers, a kettle, loads of treat (cookies, candies, chocolates, chips, coffee, various teas, etc.), 2 terry cloth robes in the bathroom, a huge variety of toiletries! Our room was very pretty with a lovely view of Stromness harbour, with a very conformtable bed, and a really good shower. Even though the room faced a major thoroughfare, it was quiet. Breakfast was as every bit as good as you will find in 5 star hotels, and the variety available is unbelievable, including items like salmon steak. You select your requested breakfast from an extensive menu the night before and magically it appears before you the next morning, after you've enjoyed a truly wonderful fruit salad. There are all kinds of bits and bites available as well - cereals, fruit, nuts, etc. A great place from which to explore the many sights of Orkney. The free parking is invaluable in Stromness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We enjoyed 3 nights staying in Ferrybank. Venus Hourston made us feel so welcome in her home and provided lots of extras in our room to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable, (including SO soft bathrobes!). Her pretty starter dish of fruit at breakfast suited us perfectly and we enjoyed chatting with this lovely Orcadian lady. The house is situated most conveniently for late evening ferry arrivals and early morning departures, and has a lovely outlook over the water. We would definitely stay here if visiting Orkney again and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AudreyUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We have stayed at this B & B for many years on our trips up to Orkney and over that time we have never been disappointed. We arrive off the boat often feeling tired after a reasonably long journey and it is always nice to be greeted by Venus. The room is warm, clean and welcoming. Even small things that you may find you need such as needle and thread etc are provided. A menu is left in your room so that you can choose your breakfast for the next day. This gives you time to decide what to have as there is a very good choice.
We think we like breakfats best . We leave early the next day to catch another boat but Venus always manages to set a lovely table and provide a super breakfast - it is never a bother to her. We once stayed at an expensive hotel but they would not serve breakfast at 7am and only provided cereal & coffee to which we had to help ourselves.
What we like least is having to rush and not have longer to chat as Venus herself makes this B & B so good. It is very reasonably priced and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caithness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

everything was first class,a nice view over the marina,lovely garden and a good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Firstly the decor of the B&B is extremely garish, with every surface covered in doilies and ornaments, flock wallpaper, floral duvet cover and divan etc . However I know this is a matter of taste and is not necessarily a negative point about this B&B as some people might like it.

Secondly the breakfast we received was worryingly below standard. Various items on my cooked breakfast appeared to have been boiled, and most upsettingly the poached egg was still liquid in the white part. I was also rather squeamish about some of the items in the breakfast buffet which included squirty cream, processed cheese slices in the wrappers and Primula "toothpaste" cheese.

Thirdly when my husband and I returned to the room after this unusual breakfast we found Venus in the room, amongst our luggage and clothes, stripping the beds. We still had 45mins before check out at this point! Venus apologised and mentioned that she "had someone else coming".

Also I don't know whether this is a hygiene issue as such but among the toiletries for guests' use there was a roll on deodorant.

Sadly I left this B&B feeling nauseous from the breakfast, and vowing never to go there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Squeebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
7.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#3 of 9 in Stromness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Bank

Property: Ferry Bank
Address: 2 North End Road, Stromness KW16 3AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Ferry Bank Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing