We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #3 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good, but.....”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Only called here for a coffee: espresso listed at £2.20 - OK, byt asked how much double espresso and was informed with deadpan expression and no further comment 'twice that price'

Coffee-lover that I am, I refuse to pay £4.40 for a small cup of coffee, however good, and one which even Costa would have 'only charged about £2.90 for. Had an Americano instead - far less extortionate.

Took the shine of things and rather a shame 'cos otherwise seemed an OK place and deservedly a successful one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
26
55
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although the rooms are out the back on a street they were well stocked with tea and coffee and were clean. Bed was only a double and was quite hard. Unfortunatley you could hear other people using bathroom and walking around. Food in the hotel was good and the staff were very helpful with forward bookings and printing out boarding passes

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room as you can hear bathroom and walking downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a very nice, quick stay here. Got in late due to ferry, but was greeted warmly and efficiently. The lady who checked us in (Julie) was very nice and made sure we had dinner (which was delicious). We were in the annex and our room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was good too. Very handy location for ferry and for sightseeing. Would recommend staying here!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a one night stay,the room was small but clean,we were made very welcome and the staff were very friendly.The food was very good and we enjoyed our stay,there was some noise at night but the Hotel is right on the Harbour next to the ferry terminal and bus stop.Orkney is a fantastic place to visit,thousands of people arrive on the island from all over the world every year,so they are doing something right over there.The Ferry Inn may have the odd fault but where do find a hotel that is faultless,go and see for yourself and and make your own mind up,i thought it was very good so GIVE THE HOTEL A BREAK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words are very much appreciated. We are pleased to say that we have had a very busy summer. Last winter we closed for several months to refurbish the whole of the downstairs, including the bar and restaurant. We have also re-painted the whole outside of the building and put in some new case and sash windows with funding from the Stomness Town Heritage Initiative. We will continue to make improvements to the Inn over the coming winter. The hotel owners are all local folk who are keen for the Ferry Inn to be a place that locals and visitors are proud off. Any feedback on our progress is much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked in for 5 nights . solo motorcycle rider ,made very welcome , room 12 was very small, it would be better as a storage area for the hotel, the last set of stairs were far to steep to be, dare i say safe , i know its a very old and respected hotel, but to put a 60 year old in that room i felt that was poor judgment, i know its all about getting the best from your hotel rooms , we all want to clear our feet and make a profit, but i do think that using that room may not be the way to go in the long run , i my stay there if i go back to stromness but ask first about there room size.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabushman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. The rooms at the Ferry Inn are all different. You stayed in room 12 which is our smallest and cheapest room. This tends to be a popular room for people travelling on their own and on a budget. We do get quite a lot of return visitors asking specifically for this room as it suits their budget and needs. Should any future guests prefer not to use the stairs, we also have rooms on the ground floor at Harbourside House, just opposite the Ferry Inn. We are very happy to speak with guests prior to booking so that we can put guests to the most appropriate rooms base on their needs. It is often possible to change rooms on arrival, should you decide that you are looking for something different. Just let the reception staff know and we will let you have further options if at all possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Only visited the pub for an afternoon beer. Although it was a lovely day we sat in because if you go outside you get a plastic glass. Going in there was an overwhelming smell of chip fat and stale beer with something a bit musty underlying. Barmaid was very nice but pub was quiet and all the tables were dirty. Didn't like it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you came to see us just after one of the coach tours that eat with us at lunch time had just left. If this was the case, the tables would all have been used and staff would have been in the process of clearing up. Had you come in 10 minutes later, everything would have been back to being spotless!

In terms of taking drinks outside, we are lucky to be able to offer guests the option of having a refreshment outdoors when the weather is nice. Our policy is to serve any drinks to be taken outside in polycarbonate glasses to avoid the risk of anyone being injured on broken glass on the areas surrounding the hotel. We have nice re-usable glasses for this and many of them are branded in order for guests to enjoy their drinks in the open air.

I hope that this helps explain what happened when you visited us ie just on the back of a very busy lunchtime and in the process of resetting the tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff at the Ferry Inn are both very friendly, and efficient. Our room in the grim looking annexe was clean and properly serviced, and the bedding was fresh and newish, but we thought the Ferry had little else to commend it, and nothing to justify our £90 a night. Self service breakfast on the first day was bad - we had to ask for our sausages to be taken away and cooked properly - the next day with waitress service it was much better. Our downstairs room on the corner had two windows right onto the street giving no privacy. Bar food was OK but pricey, and the beer was dearer than elsewhere.We had booked for 4 nights, but after two nights of being woken by drunks and traffic outside the window, and living with the blinds down, we decided to check out and found a local B & B with a far nicer room and better food at a fraction of the price. This was a four minute walk from the centre - just as convenient as the Ferry, but quiet and peaceful. We suggest you shop around on the many websites available.

Room Tip: All potentially noisy. The "Harbourside" Annexe ( a separate building) looks really grim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
12.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
358 reviews
12.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
121 reviews
7.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
168 reviews
14.3 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Property: Ferry Inn Stromness
Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferry Inn Stromness 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Inn offers a range of single, twin, double and family accommodation across 20 ensuite rooms, situated on the harbour in Stromness just 100m from the ferry terminal. There are 12 rooms on the first and second floors of The Ferry Inn itself, with the remainder in the Harbourside House and Miller's House annexes situated directly across the street. Harbourside House has 3 rooms on the ground floor, with all other rooms accessed over stairs. All rooms have TVs, tea and coffee facilities, ensuite bathrooms (we do have one smaller single room with private facilities well suited to those travelling on a budget) and are fresh, clean and comfortable. The kitchen at the Ferry Inn is open all day from breakfast 'til supper with a full range of meals and snacks including tea, coffee and homebakes. Serving from 0700 to 2100 there is always something tasty on the go. We offer a great pub menu alongside a splendid a la carte selection. We are proud to source and serve a full range of Orkney produce, supporting local growers and manufacturers while ensuring our guests enjoy both the quality and provanence of the islands' fare. Our meats are sourced from award winning local butcher E Flett & Son, who themselves buy locally grown beef, lamb and pork. Our seafood is from Orkney Fishermens Society, a co-operative business which has been the lifeblood of our harbour town for over 60 years. Their fresh shellfish - scallops, brown crab and lobster - and when in season Scapa Flow langoustines and line-caught mackerel, are brought in daily by local boats, with whitefish sourced predominately from the markets in Scrabster and Lerwick. The haddock for our superb fish and chips special is from sustainable stocks, and Jolly's of Orkney provide excellent secondary processing for example for our range of smoked salmon products. Dairy needs are well met by local cheese manufacturers at Grimbister Farm and the Orkney Cheese co-operative, with milk, cream, butter and ice-cream from the Orkney Creamery at Crantit. With Vetquoy Free Range Farm eggs, breads and biscuits from Stromness producers Argo's and Stockan's to supplement our homebaked breads and cakes, and our own garden grown soft fruits and herbs when in season, we truly work to offer a fantastic 'Taste of Orkney'. The Ferry Inn has always had a good reputation for local ales. Recognised in the Good Beer Guide and multiple winner of the CAMRA Northern Isles pub of the year, the cellar has racking for up to 10 local cask ales, with 4 handpulls on the bar as well as bottled local beers from the fridge or shelf. At The Ferry we are enthusiastic supporters of live music and through the season offer the bar as a venue for young traditional musicians to showcase their skills. The Orkney Folk Festival at the end of May, and Blues Festival in September are obvious highlights, but throughout the year we provide a venue for young (and not so young) bands to strut their stuff and support traditional music sessions which set the pub off to its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ferry Inn Stromness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing