We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #3 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Smelly and dirty”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Only visited the pub for an afternoon beer. Although it was a lovely day we sat in because if you go outside you get a plastic glass. Going in there was an overwhelming smell of chip fat and stale beer with something a bit musty underlying. Barmaid was very nice but pub was quiet and all the tables were dirty. Didn't like it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you came to see us just after one of the coach tours that eat with us at lunch time had just left. If this was the case, the tables would all have been used and staff would have been in the process of clearing up. Had you come in 10 minutes later, everything would have been back to being spotless!

In terms of taking drinks outside, we are lucky to be able to offer guests the option of having a refreshment outdoors when the weather is nice. Our policy is to serve any drinks to be taken outside in polycarbonate glasses to avoid the risk of anyone being injured on broken glass on the areas surrounding the hotel. We have nice re-usable glasses for this and many of them are branded in order for guests to enjoy their drinks in the open air.

I hope that this helps explain what happened when you visited us ie just on the back of a very busy lunchtime and in the process of resetting the tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
51
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Garstang
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff at the Ferry Inn are both very friendly, and efficient. Our room in the grim looking annexe was clean and properly serviced, and the bedding was fresh and newish, but we thought the Ferry had little else to commend it, and nothing to justify our £90 a night. Self service breakfast on the first day was bad - we had to ask for our sausages to be taken away and cooked properly - the next day with waitress service it was much better. Our downstairs room on the corner had two windows right onto the street giving no privacy. Bar food was OK but pricey, and the beer was dearer than elsewhere.We had booked for 4 nights, but after two nights of being woken by drunks and traffic outside the window, and living with the blinds down, we decided to check out and found a local B & B with a far nicer room and better food at a fraction of the price. This was a four minute walk from the centre - just as convenient as the Ferry, but quiet and peaceful. We suggest you shop around on the many websites available.

Room Tip: All potentially noisy. The "Harbourside" Annexe ( a separate building) looks really grim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BobDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2013. Our room was a 4-bed one in the "Harbourside House" (an annex across the lane, not in the actual inn itself), with two beds and a bunk - felt slightly cramped for 3 adults and 1 teenager but would probably be perfect for a family. The room was nice, clean and with everything you'd expect from a B&B room - en suite, kettle, wi-fi etc. Two things to be noted regarding the room: 1) it took us a while to figure out how to open the window, and then it hardly opened for more than a bit - the room turned out to be quite stuffy with 4 people in; 2) the ladder on the bunk rattled horribly whenever anyone tried to climb up it - not only was the noise quite bad but it might also be dangerous if it isn't fastened securely! Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay - the location is perfect, at the northern end of Stromness across from the ferry port, with free parking a 2 minute walk away and pay-and-display car park (which is free overnight) right next to the hotel itself. Breakfast was included in the price - the choice of cereals and fruits could have been a bit better, but the cooked options at least were really good. We also ate dinner in the Ferry Inn restaurant twice; the vegetarian menu choices felt a bit slim, but what was there was quite good. All in all would recommend this for anyone looking to stay in Stromness (especially the annex).

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex may be preferable due to noise concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonaFras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for recommending us. You are right that room 24 is probably best suited to a family with children in the bunk beds. However, it remains a popular option for groups of 4 adults who might be looking for a cheaper option - just ask the smallest adult to go on the top bunk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely quirky  sunny room on top floor and great view of the harbour.  No lift though and quite a climb.  Very comfortable bed  with cotton sheets.
A nice bathroom but the shower was not great, possibly because it was on the top floor.
Buffet breakfast was good which we enjoyed in a nautical themed dining room.
Hotel was in a great position and would love to stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Delicious food! Was so pleased with the hearty, traditional and delicious options on the menu. As a vegetarian I had the roasted veggie tart, and my husband had the steak pie, which was worth the 20 minute wait he tells me! Some cask ales, too. To top it off, our Labrador was allowed to sit in with us and they even brought him a water bowl. Great service, even better food. Would defo eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmeg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed our food and service. Particularly pleased that you liked our vegetarian option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a room in the annex. The room was clean and tidy and ready for us to check in before 12 noon. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough. The bar at night was very lively and the impromptu music by the locals was a great welcome to Orkney. The only dampener was having the remains of our drinks taken off us at 12.15, as we had had our 15 minutes drinking up time. Breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay here again, for a real taste of Orkney. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlander75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I think that you must have stayed with us at the end of the Orkney Folk Festival. It is a superb time to visit Stromness. Lots of folk around with lots of lively traditional music. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After arriving on the evening ferry it was so nice to find the Ferry Inn so easily just across from the ferry terminal. We checked into a room in the annex. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant. It was a pretty restaurant with nice polished wood. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The decor was pretty standard and the bathroom was rather dated looking but was clean and perfectly fine. The following day, after a long and full day of sight seeing, we came back to find the lock on the main (street) door to the annex broken. The woman on duty went and found someone to fix it. In the meantime we went to the bar and had a drink. We would rather have gone back to the room for a rest and didn't have a long wait until it was fixed (very quick ) . This might be picky but it would not have hurt for them to comp our drinks as we really had nowhere else to go. But, apart from that, our stay was great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. In the rush to get the lock on the door changed so that you could get back into your room as quickly as possible, I forgot to say to the staff to comp your drinks. I had meant to do this. I am glad that you got back into the room quickly and hope that you might be able to come back for that complimentary drink one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
12.0 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
12.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Property: Ferry Inn Stromness
Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferry Inn Stromness 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Inn offers a range of single, twin, double and family accommodation across 20 ensuite rooms, situated on the harbour in Stromness just 100m from the ferry terminal. There are 12 rooms on the first and second floors of The Ferry Inn itself, with the remainder in the Harbourside House and Miller's House annexes situated directly across the street. Harbourside House has 3 rooms on the ground floor, with all other rooms accessed over stairs. All rooms have TVs, tea and coffee facilities, ensuite bathrooms (we do have one smaller single room with private facilities well suited to those travelling on a budget) and are fresh, clean and comfortable. The kitchen at the Ferry Inn is open all day from breakfast 'til supper with a full range of meals and snacks including tea, coffee and homebakes. Serving from 0700 to 2100 there is always something tasty on the go. We offer a great pub menu alongside a splendid a la carte selection. We are proud to source and serve a full range of Orkney produce, supporting local growers and manufacturers while ensuring our guests enjoy both the quality and provanence of the islands' fare. Our meats are sourced from award winning local butcher E Flett & Son, who themselves buy locally grown beef, lamb and pork. Our seafood is from Orkney Fishermens Society, a co-operative business which has been the lifeblood of our harbour town for over 60 years. Their fresh shellfish - scallops, brown crab and lobster - and when in season Scapa Flow langoustines and line-caught mackerel, are brought in daily by local boats, with whitefish sourced predominately from the markets in Scrabster and Lerwick. The haddock for our superb fish and chips special is from sustainable stocks, and Jolly's of Orkney provide excellent secondary processing for example for our range of smoked salmon products. Dairy needs are well met by local cheese manufacturers at Grimbister Farm and the Orkney Cheese co-operative, with milk, cream, butter and ice-cream from the Orkney Creamery at Crantit. With Vetquoy Free Range Farm eggs, breads and biscuits from Stromness producers Argo's and Stockan's to supplement our homebaked breads and cakes, and our own garden grown soft fruits and herbs when in season, we truly work to offer a fantastic 'Taste of Orkney'. The Ferry Inn has always had a good reputation for local ales. Recognised in the Good Beer Guide and multiple winner of the CAMRA Northern Isles pub of the year, the cellar has racking for up to 10 local cask ales, with 4 handpulls on the bar as well as bottled local beers from the fridge or shelf. At The Ferry we are enthusiastic supporters of live music and through the season offer the bar as a venue for young traditional musicians to showcase their skills. The Orkney Folk Festival at the end of May, and Blues Festival in September are obvious highlights, but throughout the year we provide a venue for young (and not so young) bands to strut their stuff and support traditional music sessions which set the pub off to its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferry Inn Stromness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing