We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little harbour hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ranked #3 of 9 Stromness B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little harbour hotel”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely quirky  sunny room on top floor and great view of the harbour.  No lift though and quite a climb.  Very comfortable bed  with cotton sheets.
A nice bathroom but the shower was not great, possibly because it was on the top floor.
Buffet breakfast was good which we enjoyed in a nautical themed dining room.
Hotel was in a great position and would love to stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sambucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. Glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    57
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
24
51
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Delicious food! Was so pleased with the hearty, traditional and delicious options on the menu. As a vegetarian I had the roasted veggie tart, and my husband had the steak pie, which was worth the 20 minute wait he tells me! Some cask ales, too. To top it off, our Labrador was allowed to sit in with us and they even brought him a water bowl. Great service, even better food. Would defo eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmeg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review. Glad that you enjoyed our food and service. Particularly pleased that you liked our vegetarian option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a room in the annex. The room was clean and tidy and ready for us to check in before 12 noon. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough. The bar at night was very lively and the impromptu music by the locals was a great welcome to Orkney. The only dampener was having the remains of our drinks taken off us at 12.15, as we had had our 15 minutes drinking up time. Breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. I would definitely stay here again, for a real taste of Orkney. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlander75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I think that you must have stayed with us at the end of the Orkney Folk Festival. It is a superb time to visit Stromness. Lots of folk around with lots of lively traditional music. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After arriving on the evening ferry it was so nice to find the Ferry Inn so easily just across from the ferry terminal. We checked into a room in the annex. We had a nice dinner in the restaurant. It was a pretty restaurant with nice polished wood. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The decor was pretty standard and the bathroom was rather dated looking but was clean and perfectly fine. The following day, after a long and full day of sight seeing, we came back to find the lock on the main (street) door to the annex broken. The woman on duty went and found someone to fix it. In the meantime we went to the bar and had a drink. We would rather have gone back to the room for a rest and didn't have a long wait until it was fixed (very quick ) . This might be picky but it would not have hurt for them to comp our drinks as we really had nowhere else to go. But, apart from that, our stay was great and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind comments. In the rush to get the lock on the door changed so that you could get back into your room as quickly as possible, I forgot to say to the staff to comp your drinks. I had meant to do this. I am glad that you got back into the room quickly and hope that you might be able to come back for that complimentary drink one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Arrived on the afternoon ferry and walked the 100 yards to this hotel. Tiny reception area but lovely greeting from the manageress. Dumped our packs and walked up the west coast trail just to stretch our legs. Rain and wind drove us back, setting the standard for most of the rest of the week. The hotel rooms were very comfortable and our evening meal that night was great and served by a very charming lady. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your walking holiday despite the weather. Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I will pass on your thanks to the staff who looked after you. The weather remained mixed after you left. Hope that the rest of your holiday went well and that you got a few blinks of sunshine during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We booked into the Ferry Inn for our last night on Orkney after a weekend in a tent. We had sneaked lunch in the bar the day before and were impressed with both the quality and the quantity of the food.
We ate in the " restaurant " on the night of our stay , having been advised to book a table by the bar staff - and we're glad we did. We would recommend the scallops, they were gorgeous!
All the staff were really efficient and friendly and wer would happily return.
It's also worth noting that there is free motorbike parking in the car park outside.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have just returned after having spent 4 nights at the Ferry Inn. Our room (in the annex opposite) was well decorated, comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We ate dinner in the restaurant 2 nights out of 4 and found the food to be excellent despite it being really busy both nights. A great choice of hot or cold breakfast. The only negative was that the full scottish breakfast was really quite greasy. All in All a really great place to stay and we will certainly go back on our next trip to Orkney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, General Manager at Ferry Inn Stromness, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Lovely to hear that you had a great weekend! Thank you for letting us know that you liked the room that you stayed in and that the evening meals were good despite us being so busy. I have noted your comment about the full Scottish breakfast and will speak with the kitchen about reducing the fat content.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
12.0 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
12.1 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry Inn Stromness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Inn Stromness

Property: Ferry Inn Stromness
Address: 10 John Street, Stromness KW16 3AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferry Inn Stromness 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Inn offers a range of single, twin, double and family accommodation across 20 ensuite rooms, situated on the harbour in Stromness just 100m from the ferry terminal. There are 12 rooms on the first and second floors of The Ferry Inn itself, with the remainder in the Harbourside House and Miller's House annexes situated directly across the street. Harbourside House has 3 rooms on the ground floor, with all other rooms accessed over stairs. All rooms have TVs, tea and coffee facilities, ensuite bathrooms (we do have one smaller single room with private facilities well suited to those travelling on a budget) and are fresh, clean and comfortable. The kitchen at the Ferry Inn is open all day from breakfast 'til supper with a full range of meals and snacks including tea, coffee and homebakes. Serving from 0700 to 2100 there is always something tasty on the go. We offer a great pub menu alongside a splendid a la carte selection. We are proud to source and serve a full range of Orkney produce, supporting local growers and manufacturers while ensuring our guests enjoy both the quality and provanence of the islands' fare. Our meats are sourced from award winning local butcher E Flett & Son, who themselves buy locally grown beef, lamb and pork. Our seafood is from Orkney Fishermens Society, a co-operative business which has been the lifeblood of our harbour town for over 60 years. Their fresh shellfish - scallops, brown crab and lobster - and when in season Scapa Flow langoustines and line-caught mackerel, are brought in daily by local boats, with whitefish sourced predominately from the markets in Scrabster and Lerwick. The haddock for our superb fish and chips special is from sustainable stocks, and Jolly's of Orkney provide excellent secondary processing for example for our range of smoked salmon products. Dairy needs are well met by local cheese manufacturers at Grimbister Farm and the Orkney Cheese co-operative, with milk, cream, butter and ice-cream from the Orkney Creamery at Crantit. With Vetquoy Free Range Farm eggs, breads and biscuits from Stromness producers Argo's and Stockan's to supplement our homebaked breads and cakes, and our own garden grown soft fruits and herbs when in season, we truly work to offer a fantastic 'Taste of Orkney'. The Ferry Inn has always had a good reputation for local ales. Recognised in the Good Beer Guide and multiple winner of the CAMRA Northern Isles pub of the year, the cellar has racking for up to 10 local cask ales, with 4 handpulls on the bar as well as bottled local beers from the fridge or shelf. At The Ferry we are enthusiastic supporters of live music and through the season offer the bar as a venue for young traditional musicians to showcase their skills. The Orkney Folk Festival at the end of May, and Blues Festival in September are obvious highlights, but throughout the year we provide a venue for young (and not so young) bands to strut their stuff and support traditional music sessions which set the pub off to its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ferry Inn Stromness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry Inn Stromness Hotel Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing