We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a friendly welcome”
Review of Stromness Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stromness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Shetland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always a friendly welcome”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

I have stayed at the Stromness Hotel many times over the past six years. The fabric of the building needs some attention and the decor needs updating but I have always been made to feel very welcome by the management and staff and never had a bad meal here (and I am a caterer so quite picky!).

Have read some of the other reviews and surprised by some of the comments - wonder just how true they are?

I remember the guy Jason who is mentioned by name - perhaps he wrote that review himself? In any case it was a good day when they got rid of him! He was the only person I ever heard using the title 'manageress' in a derogatory fashion regarding the General Manager. I can personally vouch for the fact that she operated the smoking ban properly - someone telling porkies here I feel (sour grapes on getting hte sack?)

  • Liked — Friendly welcome
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zetland1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    47
    16
    17
See reviews for
21
78
23
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

The Stromness has a wonderful chef & dinner was very good & reasonable. The room was tired, no internet, but the garden view was pleasant. But the Orbitz rate was 30% than booking directly.

We will return to he Orkneys and stay at the Orca, just down the street, which is a comfortable b&b with great art, much cheaper rate, and a delightful host - Doris.

Do not eat at the Royal down the street where we had the most memorable terrible dinner ever.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank ucity52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stromness hotels

UK
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We had dinner here. Some of the worst food I've had eating out, and the ingredients were definitely not local. Maybe from the local supermarket?

I had the fish grill (£15), which consisted of a few unidentifiable, chewy and overcooked bits of fish and a couple of king prawns heated from frozen. The cheese board was no better than a slab of tesco value cheddar.

Avoid.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Cranked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2008

The hotel looks charming from the outside but once you step through the front doors you are confronted by nothing but a dirty, tired old hotel. The room was simple and dirty, with crumbs in our desk and bugs in our tub. In addition the shower, if you can call it a shower, had not curtain or glass partition nor a hook to hang the shower head resulting in a flooded bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xcvar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2008

Stayed here on an overnight trip to the Orkney Isles, which I will visit again as they are beautiful.
This hotel was the most random with lots and lots of plus and minus points, the hotel itself is charming and rustic reflecting the era it was built in. The staff were all marvellous and I enjoyed a good pint in the perrie inn with a lovely roaring fire. The food at dinner was of good value and quality.
On the negative side the hotel is dire need in the rooms of modernization, an attempt seems to be made a few decades ago but this is beside the original features. This makes most of the changes I seen pretty pointless! The room I was in had a massive bath but no shower.
Overall I would probaly stay here again if on the early ferry home but if not I think its Kirkwall next time.

  • Liked — The historic feel of the building and the staff
  • Disliked — poor state of room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contentscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2007

This was the worst hotel we have stayed in.
It was not at all as described on the internet.
The renovations were performed in the 1970s, not 'recently renovated' as described.
We were extremely shocked when we arrived and saw the quality of this flea-bitten fire-trap of a hotel.
As accommodation in the Orkneys is limited, and Stromness is a far distance from other towns. As there were no other rooms available in Stromness that night, we felt that we had no other option than to brave the night.
£96 (£48 per person bed and breakfast) is completely laughable! They advertised to us that the rooms have been renovated. Ours had all old damaged furniture - not matching and with large stains. Water damage in bathroom. When we checked out we mentioned this and how angry we were with the quality of not only our room, but of the whole building.
The lady automatically dropped our rate significantly - and agreed that the advertising was disceptive, explaining that the brochures were written a long time ago, when the rooms were renovated. She also admitted that she has had the same experience with other visitors.
No fire detectors in the room. Old wooden building, above a pub with loud rough gang kids that made us too scared to leave our room after dark.
Not at all indicative of the beautiful Orkneys that we saw on the rest of our trip. The Orkneys are absolutely devine and I could not recommend visiting this area enough. Just, please, make sure you stay anywhere other than the Stromness Hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Condition of the building
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank figjammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I have to say i disagree with the last review. i stayed for three nights over the august bank holiday and thought the hospitality was excellent. all staff we encountered were helpful, smiling and eager to please.

we ate in the hotel on more than one occasion in order to listen to the traditional music and the food was excellent. in particular the scallops and fish stew deserve a mention. There were four of us eating and between us all we must have tried most dishes over the stay and no complaints. My mum had the steak and thought it was delicious. i know from talking to the staff all the beef and fish were local and the sausages etc served at breakfast.

this is ultimately a three star hotel so never going to be 5 star experience but what makes it special is the attitude of the staff and the welcome. The rooms were spotless and i could not fault the breakfast either.

  • Liked — clean, tidy, spacious, great views
  • Disliked — slightly dated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
12.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
365 reviews
7.7 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
86 reviews
12.2 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
15.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
173 reviews
12.2 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stromness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stromness Hotel

Property: Stromness Hotel
Address: 15 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Stromness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stromness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1901, our historic 42 bedroom hotel lies in the heart of the unique fishing port of Stromness, overlooking the working harbour and Scapa Flow. The bedrooms are en-suite with telephones, colour television and tea/coffee making facilities. There is a lift to all floors and car parking is available to guests. Indulge in the charm of a picturesque village harbour view from the bay windows of the Hamnavoe Lounge Bar where award-winning Orkney Ales are available on tap or enjoy a welcoming open fire and warm atmosphere in the splendour of the Flattie Bar. Residents can enjoy a cosy quiet atmosphere in the Still Room with a choice of over one hundred malt whiskies. The a la carte Scapa Flow Restaurant prides itself on using the finest local Orcadian produce - the very best grass-reared beef, fresh fish and succulent shellfish. To the rear of the hotel we have a large beautifully kept Victorian Garden where residents can enjoy a stroll in the evening or a quiet refreshment whilst relaxing in the afternoon. The hotel can also cater for weddings, parties and functions for up to 120 guests or any special event you may require, at very competitive rates. Please contact us for details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stromness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stromness Hotel Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing