We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brinkies Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brinkies Guest House
Ranked #2 of 11 Stromness B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very comfortable room and an excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Brinkies guesthouse for two nights. The room was very comfortable and spacious. There was a wonderful view from the room. Yvonne was a perfect host and helped us with everything we needed. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. The house is with walking distance from the centre of Stromness. If we would travel to Orkney again, we would defenetely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
31
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

At the top of a hill with wonderful views and surrounded by birds in the adjoining fields. Yvonne welcomed us with genuine warmth and we were immediately made to feel at home. She cooked us an excellent dinner but the highlight was the wonderful Orkney breakfast, made from local produce. I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this B&B when visiting Stromness.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at Brinkies for 5 nights over the folk festival. Yvonne made us really welcome and we all felt at home from the minute we arrived. The breakfasts (Orkney inspired continental style) were outstanding and she was to real effort to source local ingredients and to meet our individual needs. Rooms were comfy and clean and the views were amazing. I could pick bits and bobs that could improve but our stay was so splendid they all seem irrelevant. Thanks Yvonne

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickoaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I am a 30 yo french man well travelled and I have enjoyed the stay at brinkies Guest house for 2 nights so mush that I would have stayed a lot more longer. The localisation is just amazing (10 min of walk from central stromness, up to a hill with a gorgious dominant view over the region). The environment surrounding the guest house is peaceful and tranquil, close to nature, no city noise.The house is impressive almost like a manoir but very functionnal and warn in the inside with a shared living room and 4 private bedrooms upstairs:)
The bedroom itself (room N°2) is modern and cosy with everything you need: towel, bath tube, toilet, café, sofa, touristic information, map of the city, wifi and even a tissue pack to take away.
The breakfast is very good with many different local products. The service is like the rest very enjoyable, you alway get a good advice and a smile whatever you ask and it makes your stay lovely. The ratio quality/price is good compared to most of the hotel. In a word, it is the perfect base of operation to explore Orkney. I am happy to recommand it to all my friends

Room Tip: bedroom number 2 is an ensuite room with toilet and bath tube/shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've just spent an exceptionally good weekend with a good friend on the Orkneys and chose Brinkie's Guest House from searching TripAdvisor. At this time of year we were hoping for an escape from London and a relaxing time and we got that! We were made very welcome, and were looked after very well. Great attention to detail from Yvonne. The property is scrupulously clean, newly decorated and thoughtfully set out. We drove off the ferry, following detailed directions and pulled up outside the house within 3 minutes. On both mornings we chose different breakfast (cooked for day one, and Continental for day two). Both were very good indeed! Beds were comfortable and every detail was thought about. Showers in our rooms were electric and I guess you either like them or not. I'm not a fan personally, but it's not a big problem. We had an Indian meal in Kirkwall on the first night and I managed to get curry on my shirt and trousers!! I asked Yvonne if she could wash them for me and she went to extraordinary lengths to get the stains out. Absolutely fantastic effort, and they're now both spotless.

i would thoroughly recommend Brinkie's to anyone. The views are breath-taking, the food excellent, and the service faultless. I hope to be back there again. A really enjoyable experience, and just what a guest house should be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a really lovely stay here, Yvonne was so friendly and accomodating, the room was comfortable and the breakfasts (and packed lunches) were fantastic. A lot of information on exploring the Orkenys was provided, and Yvonne was also helped us figure out how to organise our Maes Howe tour. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank isigfethera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

A group of 8 of us made a last minute trip to orkney the weekend before new year without planning accommodation ahead. Called Yvonne after finding her contact in a info guide, and she promptly made arrangements to fit all of us, even giving us trip advice. The house was lovely and cosy, very beautifully decorated, and everything was well maintained (if not new). It's in the most beautiful of places. Stunning view. Worked out at 25 pounds pp, which is really exceptional value for what we were getting. Felt like a boutique hotel. The house is even fitted with a jacuzzi! Wished we could have spend more time here. Thanks Yvonne.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stromness
0.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 11 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brinkies Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkies Guest House

Property: Brinkies Guest House
Address: Brinkies House Brinkies Brae, Stromness KW16 3JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Stromness
Also Known As:
Brinkies Guest House Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing