We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
$179
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveler rating
24
5
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
5
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 34 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night early Autumn 2011 on our trip through Scotland. The hostel itself is in a convenient location to catch the ferry at Stromness, this is one reason we chose this one on our last night in the Shetlands. The owner was friendly and helpful showing us our room and telling us about places to see on the island. Rooms are basic but clean, similar with bathroom. Overall if you are looking for a good value hostel which is clean with a good location stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2012UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I thought it was great - really welcoming and allowed me to make myself at home. Granted, it helped that it's pretty quiet at the moment in terms of tourists but I really liked the place, great views out over the water from the kitchen and lounge, very handily located for everything there is in Stromness, and George was a helpful, low-key host. Kitchen facilities were decent as well - yep, I had a really good 5 night stay here. Good value too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Didn't have any problems here, stayed for a long weekend, all rooms spotlessly clean, kitchen with all the facilities, and a rest room with tv, great. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but neither is the price, this is cheap by Orkney standards. Stayed in many hostels around Scotland, and this is easily the cosiest, well done George.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dairsieman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The place was not very clean, had to clean out drain and not as advertised. Manager unhelpful and did not fulfill conditions relating to rental, but was however happy to take the money. For example drier was broken and accomodation so limited in layout and proportions that drier was essential in the property. Definately not four star as it is advertised and questionable in terms of trade description.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 61travelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

This review does not belong on trip advisor. This "guest" was housed in our apartment as a tenant not as a traveller. Unfortunately we are given guidelines by trip advisor that, should we choose to ignore, would allow me to attach a scripted account of the difficulties we endured at the hands of this tenant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Promoted as 'The only Visit Scotland 4 star graded hostel on mainland Orkney'. When my partner called visit scotland to enquire he was informed that this hostel is not even registered with them! I'll leave it for your readers to decide what sort of establishment would need to lie about their standards!!! Do like the subtle placement of a refuse bin in the promotional photo though. Subliminal message perhaps? On a plus note, Orkney was beautiful and we had fantastic weather.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JJA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamnavoeOrkney, Owner at Hamnavoe Hostel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Firstly I would like to thank the reviewer for pointing out that we have no registration with Visit Scotland. We cancelled our quality assurance grading for our Apartments and it would appear, inadvertantly cancelled for the hostel. As of today (30.07.12) this has been reactivated and we will be re-graded. I would like to point out that the hostel still meets the exact standards that have been set down every year that we have been graded. The hostel is immaculate, all rooms are cleaned to the highest possible standard and we have endeavoured to provide the best possible service to our customers, as is reflected in the majority of reviews.

I would like to make two points, there is indeed a wheely bin at the back door of our hostel, this is purely because it is the only place to keep it. It is absolutely no indication of the interior of the hostel whatsoever. Secondly, it is not at all clear from the review that this person (s) stayed with us, and indeed if they had the review might have contained more information.

It is very difficult as a small business, to read reviews that are only part truth and while we welcome any constructive criticism and comments, stories such as those written above only serve to damage our business and the livelihood we try to make.

We hope that potential customers would read all the other excellent reviews and make their decision based on those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews