We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and welcoming”
Review of Browns Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stromness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Browns Hostel
Reviewed May 26, 2010

One of my favourite hostels. A converted house, it features well-equipped kitchens and spacious common areas that make you feel as if you're in your grandmother's living room. Services are basic, but everything is clean, tidy and welcoming. It's just steps from the ferry, centrally located in Stromness, and I would highly recommend it to backpackers, students, and anyone else looking for some affordable and well-kept accomodation in Orkney. I just spent a long weekend here with fellow international students attending a seminar, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Many of us are already planning trips back -- we know where we'll stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polyarne_syavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

Just last weekend I was in Stromness with a group of fellow international PhD students. Brown's hostel is in a fabulous location. It is a historic building right on the main cobbled road of the town. The hostel is rustic/basic accommodation, but we all felt at home there. Let's face it, it ain't the Ritz, but it is affordable, clean and homey. Mrs. Brown is friendly. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcticlemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The best value for your money in Stromness, if not all over Orkney. No, it is not plushly appointed nor roomy. But when traveling to Orkney I am not looking for fancy or roomy since I am not in my hostel for anything other than sleeping and a value rate. If you lay around your room when you travel, I'd suggest another place. Sure, you can find a nicer place for more money, but that's not the goal when traveling in a recession. To top it all off, Mrs. Brown is one of the most thoughtful innkeepers I have ever met.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Very dirty little place. Very cold little rooms. It's all very well to provide hot water bottles but how about turning on some heat! The bathrooms were grotty. It's next door to a noisy pub. There is one common room - This serves as TV 'lounge', kitchen, dining room and noisy washing machine and drying room. This room serves everyone in the hostel. When we arrived at 10 am the 'kitchen' needed a good clean. When we went to cook our meals at 6pm the rubbish bin was still over flowing from the night before and there was no evidence that the place had been cleaned.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrysonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hostel is situated on the main road of Stromness, just a few minutes walk from the ferry terminal.
Unfortunately I´ve never been to a more rotten place. The only good thing I can say about it, it was cheap, but the room was so badly ventilated that condense water was not dripping, but running down the window by 10 pm and the shower cabin was so full of dirt and mold, that I didn´t dare to enter it. I left disgusted!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stromness hotels
1.2 mi away
Lindisfarne Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Ferry Inn Stromness
Ferry Inn Stromness
#2 of 9 in Stromness
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Asgard B&B
Asgard B&B
#5 of 9 in Stromness
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Hostel

Address: 45/47 Victoria Street, Stromness KW16 3BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stromness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Stromness
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Browns Hostel Stromness, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing