We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Asgard B&B
Nearby Hotels
Stromness Hotel(Stromness)
$184
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West End Hotel(Kirkwall)
$134
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ayre Hotel(Kirkwall)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albert Hotel(Kirkwall)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kirkwall Hotel(Kirkwall)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
St. Ola Hotel(Kirkwall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
78
9
1
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
9
1
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalpacked breakfastlots of extra touchesbottled waterpreservesbreakfast menuvery comfortable staysmoked haddockfree wififresh milkan easy walkbiscuitsdawndogsharoldhouseorkney
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 95 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have stayed at Asgard for three successive years, and intend staying next year also - which, I think, speaks for itself. Those who offer a review will, quite rightly, speak of the comfort, spotless cleanliness, the first-rate facilities, the breakfast menu, and the host of little ‘extras’ which make a visit so memorable.

All of these make Asgard worthy of the four stars awarded, but it is the hospitality of Dawn and Harald Wishart that is the icing on the cake. Nothing is too much trouble, and their welcome is truly Orcadian, making Asgard worthy of at least five stars.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clergyman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Asgard is a modern, friendly, dog-happy B&B run by a lovely couple who will make you feel at home. The room we stayed in was bright, full of character and special welcoming touches. The shower was especially good. Breakfast was delicious! We will return next time we're in Stromness. PS Ask Dawn why she doesn't swim in the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmanofhoy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

A great pleasure to be part of the household for four days, assured by the genuine warmth and humour of the hosts and the great fun shared with the three dogs. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. - John & Mary Hutchinson, Norwich.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hutch297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I thought the host was amazing, very welcoming, and easy to talk to. The rooms were amazing, compact, comfortable, cozy. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemcglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Mine hosts, Dawn and Harald Wishart, made this our second memorable visit. Bed - very comfortable, room very well appointed and to the highest standards of decor and cleanliness. Breakfast - the widest selection you will get anywhere, freshly cooked to order (remember to pre-order the smoked haddock, delicious with a poached egg on top!) and an "eat as much as you like" attitude. ideal if you are off on a hard days work/walk. Lovely lounge to relax in with large flat screen TV. We were even treated to a drink of beer while we watched the Champion's League final, helped get over the disappointment of the result. Short walk to the the town for the best beers on Orkney - Orkney Dark Island and Scapa Special. Try the Royal Hotel for a couple of pints, a short walk up the road to the chippy (best haddock and chips I've had) and back to the Royal to top up!

On leaving we were offered, and gratefully accepted, the opportunity to shower before we caught the early evening ferry. Dawn and Harald - thanks very much for having us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Foz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews