We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly with good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Standing Stones Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly with good food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. Modern bar and restaurant- excellent for functions as well. Food was good portions and well presented. Rooms were large and clean. Well located for stromness and sites in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew2458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    27
    18
    13
See reviews for
30
59
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barmouth, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We used it as a base to explore the Orkneys for which it was perfect. It is near to the major megalithic sites and on the shores of a lake. The staff were generally helpful and friendly. The food was adequate. The place was reasonably clean and tidy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orkney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went here for a high tea with the Orkney Vintage Club and it was beautiful, meals lovely, scones , pancakes, fancies all melted in the mouth, highly praised them to everyone. However we went back and were very very dissapointed, main meals were good but small portions more half portions we would say and as for the fancies, no pancakes or scones, poor selection of fancies and half the size of when we last visited. We were extremely dissapointed this time and will certainly not be recommending them to people this time. On saying this we did notice that people who came about 15 mins before they stopped serving got much bigger servings, must of been wanting to use food up. So if you go maybe just go about 5.50pm and you might be ok. Fancies will still be dissapointing though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank shona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and myself had been travelling around Orkney for some time trying to find a place for lunch, when we come across the Standing Stones Hotel. On entering the bar we were greeted by a young lady who was very helpful, serving us with drinks whilst we decided what to have from the bar meal. There was a good selection of meals in the menu both our meals arrived promptly and to a good quality, Portion size was good and we believe the meals to be value fort money the decor of the bar area could have done with a coat of paint but it was clean. we would recommend this food to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Had a good meal served by friendly and efficient staff - despite there being a bus tour eating in the bar next door! The mixed grill was excellent - even if it arrived minus the mushrooms!! A good menu and good for a quick lunch stop in this exciting part of the archaeological treasure that is Orkney!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location and the views are amazing. The staff are very welcoming and do their absolute best to meet the needs of the guests. However this is a very busy hotel and there is a price to pay for that. If you are looking for peace and tranquility you are unlikely to get it here unless you go out of season. The bar is often full to oveflowing and the rooms suffer from noise invasion. The walls must be very thin, because I could hear the TV and movements of the other guests. It was actually very irritating because I would have preferred quietness to enjoy the surroundings, but I suppose the hotel cannot be held responsible for another guest's blaring TV. Also the bed was very hard. This either suits or not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

There was nothing really wrong with the standing stones hotel, but it just lacked anything to distinguish it. The rooms are utilitarian and decorated in a kind of 1970s time warp. Breakfast is OK, except for the rather intrusive Celtic folk rock that was played. A forgettable experience but not really a bad one, I wouldn't have wanted to spend more than 2 nights here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stedms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stenness
9.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
205 reviews
5.9 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kirkwall
124 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
271 reviews
14.7 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Standing Stones Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Standing Stones Hotel

Property: Standing Stones Hotel
Address: Stenness, Stenness KW16 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Stenness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stenness
Hotel Class:3 star — Standing Stones Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Standing Stones Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standing Stones Hotel Orkney Islands/Stenness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing