We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight in our six months of travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Harray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A highlight in our six months of travel”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the last month of our six months of travelling around the world. This was our first trip to Orkney and we weren't quite sure what there was to see and do. This was no problem, as Phil took the time each morning to map out an itinerary for us, in between courses of our delicious breakfasts.

Our room was large and very comfortable, with everything we could have needed. There's really no need to stay in Stromness or Kirkwall, as Hammersmith is within a fifteen-ish minute drive of each of them. Most of the attractions are out of the towns, anyway.

All in all, a wonderful stay. Thanks very much, Phil and Lynn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbfrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schönhorst, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Glad we found it. Very comfortable beds; quiet location. The central location allows visiting to all parts of the island within an hour's drive. Hosts Phil and Lynn run the most friendly and warm service. It is really an excellent place to visit all Orkney sites The welcome is wonderful, the rooms are modern and very clean Phil homemade cookies and breakfast are unforgettable. We will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Much thanks to our gracious hosts, Phil and Lynn, who contributed so much to the success of our recent visit to Scotland and the Orkneys; Our three-day visit to Mainland, Orkney, was truly wonderful. Scara Brae, the Broch of Birsay, the Standing Stones of Stenness, and Maes Howe are all easy trips from Hammersmith, and each site is a treasure in its own rite. Phil’s knowledge of local lore and his tips on where to eat, where to take a coastal hike, and how to make the most of our short time on this beautiful island were all right on the mark! Our fond memories of our visit were enhanced by the overall experience of this lovely B & B , which also provided us with many bests: Best breakfast, best advice (Hike Yesnaby. Try a meal at the Merkister. Check the tides at Birsay. ), best bedroom suite, best tea cookies … and best memories. The Orkneys are beautiful, and we found a home there, albeit briefly, at Hammersmith. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenericbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Glad we found it. Very comfortable beds; quiet location. The central location allows visiting to all parts of the island within an hour's drive. No need to stay in Stromness or Kirkwall or near the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollolegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaville, France
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lynn & Phil B&B is a very good memory
It is really an excellent place to visit all Orkney sites
The welcome is wonderful, the rooms are modern and very clean
Phil homemade cookies and breakfast are unforgettable
Phil is a really interessant guide who explains you the Orkney sites
We had a great stay in this excellent B&B.
The porridge is unforgettable :-)
We stayed 4 nights and had great rest

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed in Hammersmith B&B for 2 days last week. Had fantastic time. Hosts Phil and Lynn run the most friendly and warm service and have very good attention to detail and ahve thought about all aspects of your stay including a daily update on what happening in Orkney . The facilities are very clean, modern and comfortable - easily one of the best you will experience. I agree with previous reviewers about the quality of the breakfast - simply superb! They also had some home made cookies in the room which tasted great! Very close to attractions like Stones of stenness, ring of Brodgar and Maeshowe. Also just next door to Fursbeck pottery, which is worth a quick visit. All in all highly recommended - would love to stay here every time i visit Orkney!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lontoitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A beautiful house where we had our own downstairs 'suite'. Very comfortable, excellent facilities, very pleasant, nice and knowledgeable hosts and a most superb breakfast. Good location for exploring mainland Orkney... oh and the friendly chickens that sat on our window-sill were lovely too as was the beautiful border collie dog who made an appearance once or twice but otherwise you'd never know she was there. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachandmike_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harray
529.3 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
536.1 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
537.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
529.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
523.0 mi away
The INN Guest House
The INN Guest House
#1 of 2 in St. Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
531.3 mi away
Burnside Farm
Burnside Farm
#1 of 9 in Stromness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast
Address: Hammersmith Hammersmith Hammersmith, Harray KW17 2JR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Harray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lynn and Phil welcome you to HammerSmith. We are situated in the heart of the west Mainland near to the lochs of Harray and Stenness, close to the World Heritage neolithic sites of Skara Brae, Ring of Brodgar, Standing Stones of Stenness and the Ness of Brodgar. We are on the main road from Birsay to Finstown conveniently close to both Kirkwall (12 miles) and Stromness (10 miles). With the Merkister Hotel only 2 miles and the Smithfield Arms 4 miles away you do not have to go far for a relaxing drink or a meal. Fishermen can take advantage of the hire boats available at the Merkister Hotel which is situated on the shore of Loch Harray. Phil is a registered tour guide so will be able to offer advice on the best areas to see in Orkney ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hammersmith Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hammersmith Bed And Breakfast Orkney Islands/Harray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing