We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday house in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing
Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Comfortable dining and relaxing area
Beautiful double bedroom with memory foam mattress for your ultimate comfort.
Twin room with memory foam mattresses.
Shower room
Tammie Norrie or puffin showing off his very smart coat!
A frequent occurence in Orkney is the Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis
Springtime at Kringla
Sunrise and Sunsets are magnificent
Yes this is an Orkney beach!
Sea angling, bird watching or just enjoying the scenery?
Frosty morning on Boardhouse Loch
Beautiful walks, you never know what you will see round the next corner.
Kringla apartments sign
Surrounding countryside.
Crossroads in Dounby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dounby, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jennieliz
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday house in a great location”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay in Kringla 3 during our recent trip to Orkney. The location is great, Dounby is a nice village with useful amenities including a Cooperative Food, petrol station, butchers and pharmacy. It also has a nice restaurant which we went for dinner one night and another hotel with restaurant a mile away. It is a great location too with it being only a short drive to a lot of the main sites and an easy drive to Kirkwall and Stromness.

Kringla itself is lovely. Spotlessly clean, modern styling with everything you could want for your stay. The open plan layout of the living areas suited us well and although we ate out quite a lot the kitchen was well equipped for the times we did cook. It was very comfortable and quiet.

Kay is extremely helpful and welcoming which really added to the experience. She emailed daily bulletins with useful information about events, weather and cruise ships which helped us to avoid visiting Skara Brae on a day when two huge cruise liners had offloaded all their passengers to visit! The welcome hamper which included farm eggs was a lovely touch. We loved Orkney and will definitely be back and would certainly stay in Kringla again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you so much for your detailed review which will be useful to future guests. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmac...
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect central location”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Kringla is clean, well equipped and comfortable. There were some lovely touches such as welcome pack of free range eggs, fudge, shortbread & more. Kay sent me an email of what was happening on the island on a daily basis and gave us some great tips for visiting places.The property is centrally located in Orkney which was handy for us as we were on a fishing trip. Never got round to meeting Dave to have a talk about fishing which we will the next time we visit. The only thing that I would suggest that would make Kringla perfect would be a shed out back to keep wet fishing gear in, we were lucky this time as the weather was near perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
Delighted that you are planning a return visit! We have considered a shed out the back so will take your suggestion into consideration. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
975mauree...
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first visit to Orkney and we stayed in Kringla Apartment 1, with excellent facilities and very homely. It was good to receive the daily 'breakfast bulletin' which was very informative, especially letting us know when cruise ships were in port. Kay also informed us of the best places to eat locally. This has been the best self-catering apartment we have stayed in and would highly recommend it to our friends and family.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thank you very much for the great review! Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JudithF73...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“highly recommended”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in Kringla 3 which is on the first floor. A very well appointed apartment with lovely views from kitchen and living room across the island to Hoy. Weather quite cold, especially for May and the warm air heating kept the apartment toasty. It was a pleasure to come back each evening and relax in comfort.
Kay was extremely helpful in giving us all the information we needed, both beforehand and during our stay. She was there to meet us when we arrived at 11 30pm from the ferry, which was much appreciated.
Apartment well located for getting around rest of island, with shops on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellent heating system and light airy rooms, with good quality furnishings
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kringla and had a cosy place to return to after a day out in the cold. I look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grace z
1 review
“Great place to stay in Orkney!”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a great short stay in this lovely apartment. It was the perfect base for explore the island.

Kay was a super nice host, provide detailed direction to the place and gave us excellent suggestion on places to visit. The place was spotlessly clean, had everything we need for our holiday, and excellent heating for these cold Scottish nights.

Thanks Kay for waiting for our late arrival at 9pm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly Host
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. It would be great to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin t
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“an excellent apartment in a good location”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed with my son in Kringla 2 for a week in January, a lovely warm and comfortable apartment. Dounby is a pleasant peaceful village with a good pub/restaurant, family butchers,and Co-op store. A good base from which to explore the island. Kay and Dave were keen to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Booked again for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for the great review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoë G
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Apartment is decorated to a very high standard, well equipped and very clean. Its handy being close to local amenities such as shop, restaurants and play parks etc. Kay has been extremely helpful and we have appreciated her daily emails with the Whats On information. The apartment is in a super location central to mainy tourist attractions. Also recommend the smithfield down the road....food is lovely and staff very welcoming. We will certainly be back again soon. Thank you Kay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2016
You are very welcome! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing