We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday home!”
other travelers have booked this property
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Kringla apartments, quality self catering holiday accommodation in Orkney.
Sunbathing
Modern kitchen with all home comforts
Comfortable dining and relaxing area
Beautiful double bedroom with memory foam mattress for your ultimate comfort.
Twin room with memory foam mattresses.
Shower room
Tammie Norrie or puffin showing off his very smart coat!
A frequent occurence in Orkney is the Northern Lights or Aurora Borealis
Springtime at Kringla
Sunrise and Sunsets are magnificent
Yes this is an Orkney beach!
Sea angling, bird watching or just enjoying the scenery?
Frosty morning on Boardhouse Loch
Beautiful walks, you never know what you will see round the next corner.
Kringla apartments sign
Surrounding countryside.
Crossroads in Dounby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dounby, Mainland, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Tapstar
Stresa, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday home!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We've just returned from a lovely week staying in Orkney. Kringla in Dounby was a great base being in the centre of the West Mainland and it's easy driving to the main sights including Skara Brae, Maes Howe, Brough of Gurness, Kirkwall and Stromness. We were out most of the day, but the apartment was a lovely comfortable and warm place to return to after a long day sightseeing, walking or bird watching.

Kay Morgan is a delightful host and knows her island home so well - we found puffins just where she said they would be on our first outing! The apartment is really well appointed with everything you might need to self cater, including our yardstick - a cafetiere to make real coffee. Having a Co-op shop which is open until 10pm, a good butchers shop and a small hotel which serves great food, all just 2 minutes walk away, makes Kringla a very convenient base for visitors. Altogether I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kringla and I hope it won't be too long until we return!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia W
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday accommodation”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I spend a great week in Orkney and stayed at Kingla Apartment 1. The owner gave us a warm, friendly welcome and provided useful local information. A nice touch was a welcome basket with local goodies and fresh eggs from their farm.
This is a very comfortable and well appointed new apartment, nicely decorated, a bright, modern decor with all the home comforts, very comfortable beds. Located in the quiet village of Dounby, which has a small supermarket (open long hours), a chemist, post office, butcher, and good restaurant and cafe. We highly recommend Kringla and would love to stay here again!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feel of the accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph_May
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish we had stayed longer!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We spent 3 nights in Orkney and rented 3 Kringla, the upstairs apartment. We were the first to stay in this newly renovated, quiet, and beautifully fitted apartment. The beds were extremely comfortable, good heating, and all of the kitchen and bathroom fittings are first rate. They have really done this flat up as if they were about to move in themselves! There was also a lovely welcome basket with farm-fresh eggs, Orkney fudge and other treats. Kay met us at the apartment and gave us a lot of helpful local knowledge to plan our trip.

Dounby is central to 'mainland' Orkney and was a short drive to Skara Brae, Brodgar, Birsay, Maes Howe, and 20 mins to Kirkwall. We easily filled our three days with fascinating historical sites, wildlife spotting, craft galleries and a tour of the Highland Park whiskey distillery.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very comfortable apartment, centrally located
Liked least: nice view out over the fields but perhaps on Orkney a sea view would be nice.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaine B
Glasgow
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a wonderful weeks holiday. The accommodation was really beautiful and Kay has thought of everything! Dounby is a great location for exploring mainland Orkney and the local amenities are very good. Alastair's fresh eggs are a luxury - although I think he is undercharging! I have already recommended Kringla to friends.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property is furnished and decorated to an extremely high standard.
Liked least: Heading home!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M
Keith, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect accommodation for the perfect holiday”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

"Kringla" is a very, clean, well equiped dwelling which makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The ramp access was very beneficial for our elderly parents. Its central location is ideal for visiting all corners of this wonderful island. The village has a well stocked shop, filling station, excellent butcher and the hotel serves delicious meals. Kay greeted us with a very warm welcome and was extremely attentive throughout our stay. We would not hesitate to rent this property again and would strongly recommend "Kringla" to anyone wishing to holiday on Orkney.

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieDunc...
Turriff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at Kringla. The apartment was beautifully decorated and fitted out. We really enjoyed staying there, locals were very friendly and we would recommend a meal at the Smithfield Hotel, just down the road.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our holiday in Orkney was made all the more enjoyable by staying at Kringla.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Kringla enjoys an enviable position being situated close to cross roads to all parts of the island. It is only a short drive to Kirkwall or Stromness and most of the places of interest. It is an excellent base for bird watching and trout fishing. The house is in Dounby where there are sufficient shops to find supplies for family meals and an excellent butcher's shop. The owner rears all the meat on his own farm. There is also a small hotel in the village for meals out.
The accommodation was welcoming, clean and warm and well furnished. In particular the kitchen was just like home with every appliance you could wish for and all easy to operate. The beds were very comfortable and the only sound at night was that of a nearby owl! We would highly recommend Kringla for a nice relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing