We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it Now!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cantick Head Lighthouse Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hoy
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We first stayed here 5 years ago and return at least once a year. It is just the perfect place to relax. The cottages are particularly well furnished/ equipped and are very cosy -we've even been here in winter when the storms are spectacular.
Tom and Nadia -the hosts are really lovely genuine people who could not be more welcoming and helpful.
The view from the window of big sea, sky right across to the Pentland Skerries would be hard to beat and it doesn't matter when you come or what the weather does-there is always something to look at. Wildlife birds, dolphins, whales, seals and ships of every shape and size that are back and forth along the Pentland Firth. The sea itself where the Firth meets Scapa Flow is mesmerising-changing colour/direction/flow as you watch it. Truly beautiful.
We love this place and have brought our children and friends here. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you love nature especially the sea - you must go to Cantick!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shearwater58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

We went to Hoy for two nights and Cantick Head was a bit of a treat. We loved the idea of staying in the lighthouse keepers cottage and were not disappointed in the slightest. Nadia was a very nice host, and was also really helpful before our trip as well as when we were there. She lives next to the cottages, but we did not feel imposed on at all... We stayed in the Principle Cottage and inside was just lovely. The Kitchen was spacious and on the dining table we were greeted with warm apple crumble (which we consumed the next day - yum! Thanks Nadia!)... there was everything we needed down to kitchen roll, cling film and foil, food storage boxes etc etc. I can't even think of anything we might have needed that was not there :)

The house was warm, bedrooms were comfortable, there is a store next to the cottage with videos/dvds/wellies/games etc, which can be borrowed, and also an area where we could put things to be recycled. The Livingroom was a good size and had comfortable sofas... what would have really made it would have been a real fire, rather than electric - but that is no complaint!!

I imagine in the summer when both cottages are booked up it might not feel so secluded and private, but there is plenty of space outside and I imagine it would be a good place for families as well as couples, or friends. I would definitely like to visit again... hopefully soon :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were only at the Lighthouse 2 nights but what a delight. Huge skies, birds flying below us as we sat on the cliff, the lighthouse only steps away from the door...We stayed in the Assistant keeper's Cottge and got a real feeling of history - altough it has been modernised of course! - and an atmosphere of family life in the last century. Perhaps because we knew what the original tenants did.. .The kitchen is tiny but beautifully equipped. Tom and Nadia are so lovely and helpful - Tom sings in the Stromabank Pub Choir and though we missed rhearsal night we heard the choir in Kirkwall Cathedral the following week. We got a lovely rhubarb crumble on our welcome tray!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

We first stayed here three years ago and have returned each year since. The new owners Nadia and Tom are very welcoming and try hard to help you enjoy your holiday. The cottages (there are two) are former lighthouse keeper cottages and as you would imagine are located right by the sea, with stunning views of the surrounding islands.

This is the place to go if you love nature as the local environment is wonderful - go May to August if you love flowers and birds and go anytime if you love wonderful walks of all standards with jaw dropping scenery.

The cottages provided everything we needed, but the main reason for going here is the peace and quiet. We'll certainly be back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjmcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed in the Assistant Lighthouse Keeper's Cottage and had an outstanding time. The lighthouse was literally outside the front door and beyond that nothing but blue sky and the sea. If you are looking for an inspiring journey that takes you to a place that can only be described as heaven, then this is it. Nadia and Tom keep the cottages in excellent condition and the local Stromabank Pub is only a short drive away. I absolutely recommend this accommodation for anyone looking to escape. I know I will go back there as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celinebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sandbach, Cheshire UK
219
Reviewed November 2, 2005

We stayed in the assistant lighthouse keepers cottage at the Cantick Head Lighhouse at the end of Oct 2005. What a fantastic experience. Absolutely lovely quality accommodation and two hosts Christine and Bill who were a mine of information and exceptionally friendly. I can't recommend it highly enough. My son George 4 loved it! Particularly the two sheep who think they are dogds and the dog which thinks it is a dog called Charlie!

On the first morning we were greeted on the beach by two common seals and their pup! It is a get away from it al place - in luxurious comfort. The kitchen was a little small but hey - it is a lighthouse keepers cottage, not a mansion! Some people wrote in the visitors book that the cottage would benefit from a pay as you go computer with internet access!!!!!!! Why????? don't stay there mate is my advice to that bloke! There is a larger cottage next door and both are great. Both cottages have showers and it would have been nice to be able to have a soak in a bath but again the fittings are immaculate - so we adapted, not problems!

If you need entertaining then don't go there - it is for people who love peace and quiet and can happily amuse themselves with walks on the beaches and a sport of fishing!

We loved it so much we are returning on 26th December for another go!

Get in there if you are interested - once this little gem becomes more widely known you will not be able to get a reservation!


9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yannou70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cantick Head Lighthouse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantick Head Lighthouse Cottages

Address: Longhope, KW16 3PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Hoy
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hoy
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You have a choice of two self-catering cottages: our Principal Cottage sleeps 4 people and our Assistant Cottage sleeps 4 people. Short breaks are welcome all year. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cantick Head Lighthouse Cottages Hoy, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing