We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Hackness Martello Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.08*
and up
Historic Scotland Explorer Pass
Ranked #4 of 9 things to do in Hoy
Attraction details
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the second time we have visited this excellent Historic Scotland site. This time round, with our 8 year old daughter, we were pleasantly surprised to find the same humorous and informative custodian as our previous visit 10 years ago! Both the Martello Tower and the Barracks, still in original layout, have a really interesting history and our daughter loved trying on the replica uniforms and hats covering all eras of the site's history. This place is well worth visiting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter-T-Summer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved this - a well-preserved site with a really enthusiastic guide (Mike) who gave us a terrific tour that brought the place to life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrequentishFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fascinating history and great views”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We didn't think a visit to this attraction would take very long so we were pleasantly surprised by how much we enjoyed it, largely down to the informative and enthusiastic custodian guide who took around our group of visitors on a beautiful sunny day this past week. The barracks building is interesting for its contents and excellent state of preservation but the highlight is getting to climb up inside the Martello tower and up onto the top where you get a wonderful panoramic views. If you visit Hoy don't miss this excellent attraction, included on the Orkney Explorer Pass available from Historic Scotland which is definitely good value if you plan to visit the main sites.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philippa_Sommerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A bit of a tortuous drive, and not that easy to find, but well worth the effort. And don't miss the adjacent battery, which is amazingly well-preserved.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BirderBoltonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
568 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We guided ourselves around as we didn't have long to do the museum. We were the only ones that had visited that day, apparently. The attraction was interesting, and it is well sign-posted. You could not go into some of the buildings, but the tower was open. This is worth a visit if you're on Hoy. It's amazing that there are only three of these left when there were hundreds at one time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hackness Martello Tower also viewed

Stenness, Mainland
Stromness, Mainland
 

Been to Hackness Martello Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing