We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“(Literally) Brilliant”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning sea views at Cantick Head Lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning sea views at Cantick Head Lighthouse
The iconic lighthouse Your island holiday location
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Stunning sea views at Cantick Head Lighthouse
The iconic lighthouse
Your island holiday location
Climber take caution
The Victorian cottages
Pollution free skies
Ever changing skyline
Master bedroom super king size
Gym and darts
2nd bedroom with super king zip and link beds and sea views
Master bedroom with sea views
Kitchen diner with sea views
Kitchen diner with sea views
Kitchen diner with sea views
Kitchen diner with sea views
Living room with sea views
Living room with sea views
Living room with sea views
Living room with sea views
Your island holiday location
The iconic “Old Man of Hoy”
Stunning sunrises and sunsets
Stunning sunrises and sunsets
Your island holiday location
Stunning sunrises and sunsets
Beautiful coastal walks
Large enclosed gardens
A vast array of wildlife
A vast variety of wildlife
A vast variety of wildlife
Watch out for visiting Orcas, seals and dolphins
You might be lucky enough to glimps the northern lights
A vast variety of wildlife
Beautiful coastal walks
A vast variety of wildlife
Watch out for passing orcas, seals and dolphins
A vast variety of wildlife
A vast variety of wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hoy, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Frequenti...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“(Literally) Brilliant”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of four stayed for three nights in the Principal Lighthousekeeper's Cottage.

The views out over the sea are amazing, the waters from Scapa Flow and the Pentland Firth playing out an endless back-and-forth battle under the cliff. We were really hoping to see lots of wildlife, and weren't disappointed - on our second day we saw two Orcas coming into Scapa Flow in the morning, and others (the same two?) leaving that night. The next morning we saw a pod of harbour porpoises in the sea beneath the lighthouse, and of course there were seals and seabirds galore. The kids really enjoyed watching the wildlife and going beachcombing on the rocky shore nearby (lots of sea urchins to be found!).

The cottage was unbelievably warm and cosy (they certainly knew how to build them back then...), and the kitchen was very well kitted out. Our host (Nadia) was very welcoming, and we all enjoyed the rhubarb crumble left for us on arrival!

The rest of the world felt a million miles away whilst we were on Hoy, and it would be wonderful to go back, for longer next time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia H
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Book it Now!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We first stayed here 5 years ago and return at least once a year. It is just the perfect place to relax. The cottages are particularly well furnished/ equipped and are very cosy -we've even been here in winter when the storms are spectacular.
Tom and Nadia -the hosts are really lovely genuine people who could not be more welcoming and helpful.
The view from the window of big sea, sky right across to the Pentland Skerries would be hard to beat and it doesn't matter when you come or what the weather does-there is always something to look at. Wildlife birds, dolphins, whales, seals and ships of every shape and size that are back and forth along the Pentland Firth. The sea itself where the Firth meets Scapa Flow is mesmerising-changing colour/direction/flow as you watch it. Truly beautiful.
We love this place and have brought our children and friends here. We cannot recommend this place highly enough. If you love nature especially the sea - you must go to Cantick!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone180...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation, and helpful, friendly host”
Reviewed April 13, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We went to Hoy for two nights and Cantick Head was a bit of a treat. We loved the idea of staying in the lighthouse keepers cottage and were not disappointed in the slightest. Nadia was a very nice host, and was also really helpful before our trip as well as when we were there. She lives next to the cottages, but we did not feel imposed on at all... We stayed in the Principle Cottage and inside was just lovely. The Kitchen was spacious and on the dining table we were greeted with warm apple crumble (which we consumed the next day - yum! Thanks Nadia!)... there was everything we needed down to kitchen roll, cling film and foil, food storage boxes etc etc. I can't even think of anything we might have needed that was not there :)

The house was warm, bedrooms were comfortable, there is a store next to the cottage with videos/dvds/wellies/games etc, which can be borrowed, and also an area where we could put things to be recycled. The Livingroom was a good size and had comfortable sofas... what would have really made it would have been a real fire, rather than electric - but that is no complaint!!

I imagine in the summer when both cottages are booked up it might not feel so secluded and private, but there is plenty of space outside and I imagine it would be a good place for families as well as couples, or friends. I would definitely like to visit again... hopefully soon :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnandRic...
Arisaig
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed May 30, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were only at the Lighthouse 2 nights but what a delight. Huge skies, birds flying below us as we sat on the cliff, the lighthouse only steps away from the door...We stayed in the Assistant keeper's Cottge and got a real feeling of history - altough it has been modernised of course! - and an atmosphere of family life in the last century. Perhaps because we knew what the original tenants did.. .The kitchen is tiny but beautifully equipped. Tom and Nadia are so lovely and helpful - Tom sings in the Stromabank Pub Choir and though we missed rhearsal night we heard the choir in Kirkwall Cathedral the following week. We got a lovely rhubarb crumble on our welcome tray!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjmcr
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We first stayed here three years ago and...”
Reviewed May 8, 2010 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We first stayed here three years ago and have returned each year since. The new owners Nadia and Tom are very welcoming and try hard to help you enjoy your holiday. The cottages (there are two) are former lighthouse keeper cottages and as you would imagine are located right by the sea, with stunning views of the surrounding islands.

This is the place to go if you love nature as the local environment is wonderful - go May to August if you love flowers and birds and go anytime if you love wonderful walks of all standards with jaw dropping scenery.

The cottages provided everything we needed, but the main reason for going here is the peace and quiet. We'll certainly be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celinebeb...
Nottingham, UK
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed March 4, 2010 for a stay in February 2010

We stayed in the Assistant Lighthouse Keeper's Cottage and had an outstanding time. The lighthouse was literally outside the front door and beyond that nothing but blue sky and the sea. If you are looking for an inspiring journey that takes you to a place that can only be described as heaven, then this is it. Nadia and Tom keep the cottages in excellent condition and the local Stromabank Pub is only a short drive away. I absolutely recommend this accommodation for anyone looking to escape. I know I will go back there as soon as I can.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sandbach, Cheshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best self catering experience in Scotland!”
Reviewed November 2, 2005
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the assistant lighthouse keepers cottage at the Cantick Head Lighhouse at the end of Oct 2005. What a fantastic experience. Absolutely lovely quality accommodation and two hosts Christine and Bill who were a mine of information and exceptionally friendly. I can't recommend it highly enough. My son George 4 loved it! Particularly the two sheep who think they are dogds and the dog which thinks it is a dog called Charlie!

On the first morning we were greeted on the beach by two common seals and their pup! It is a get away from it al place - in luxurious comfort. The kitchen was a little small but hey - it is a lighthouse keepers cottage, not a mansion! Some people wrote in the visitors book that the cottage would benefit from a pay as you go computer with internet access!!!!!!! Why????? don't stay there mate is my advice to that bloke! There is a larger cottage next door and both are great. Both cottages have showers and it would have been nice to be able to have a soak in a bath but again the fittings are immaculate - so we adapted, not problems!

If you need entertaining then don't go there - it is for people who love peace and quiet and can happily amuse themselves with walks on the beaches and a sport of fishing!

We loved it so much we are returning on 26th December for another go!

Get in there if you are interested - once this little gem becomes more widely known you will not be able to get a reservation!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing