We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms and good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Good rooms and good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We arrived on Orkney with no room for Saturday night and tourist info told us this was the only double room available on the whole mainland! Fortunately it was a lovely room with sea views and we had a fine evening meal there and walk along the rocky beach. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    38
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
selkirk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

Booked this hotel to go to a wedding nearby, the room was lovely, everything was newly decorated and it was very pleasant. The problem was the noise at night which started at eleven o clock and went on to midnight. On the Saturday night it was one o'clock. Breakfast was adequate although uninspiring to say the least. The dinners at night were very good and that is obviously where the business concentrates. On our last evening we returned to be greeted by "we weren't expecting you you were only booked in for 3 nights" as I had a copy of my emial confirming 4 nights we obviously weren't. Our rooms hadn't been done up and no fresh towels had been provided - this wasn't rectified. All in all it was fine but lacking something despite all the money that has obviously been spent on it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soutar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

Lovely place. Lovely food. Lovely people.

So much better than I expected!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moody79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2007

A great hotel. Orkney is pricey but I moved here after a 2 nights at a horrible
hotel.

food is good with local fresh seafood. Lobster can be ordered with 24 hours
notice.

Water view.

I would definately go back

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank mightymousemighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

We stayed at the Sands Hotel for three nights as part of a tour of the Highlands and Islands.

Although this hotel has a rating of four stars in the 'Small Hotel' classification, I'm not sure how it managed to get it. Three stars would be more realistic.

The hotel was comfortable, and recently renovated, but the walls are thin (we could hear the sound of the TV in the next room, and footsteps from the room above), the rooms small and the quality of food was good rather than great. The curtains were also made of fairly thin fabric which let through the light a little too much (especially as it never really gets dark on Orkney this time of year)

On the plus side, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the prices for food and accomodation were completely reasonable.

We wouldn't stay at the Sands Hotel again - not because of anything particularly wrong, but because there is so much better choice out there.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not up to the standard I'd expect of a four-star hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

I was really looking forward to visiting the sands hotel and I was VERY dissappointed. We arrived at the hotel and the owner seemed pleasant at that point (if only we had realised then how rude she was!) We were shown to our hotel room - the hotel room was basic and very modern, I was very pleased and was quite confident this as going to be a fantastic place to stay! The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff in the restaurant were very nice. I left my hotel room one morning, I went down the stairs and the owner stared at me I was unsure why and to be honest very intimidated! i left the hotel for a day out and returned at around 5:00pm I decided I would like to eat at the hotels restaurant, The owner was behind the bar and I went up and asked to reserve a table. She then started to be very rude and accused me of "flushing toilets for most of the night and jumping up and down all night" I was horrified why would I want to flush toilets all night and jump up and down, she also accused me of making other noises! ALL OF THE ACCUSATIONS WERE INSULTING AND UNTRUE! I would not recomend this hotel to anyone only go there if you want to be insulted!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The unpleasant staff and the very basic rooms!
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Jack133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2006

We stayed in two rooms at the top of the hotel. One room had 2 beds and the other had three. They are not inter-connecting but they share the stair and feel quite separate. We liked this. The rooms were well decorated, had hospitality trays, a kettle, hairdyer and were very clean. Nice bathroom and the rooms overlooked the pier and you could lie in bed at night and hear the water wash up against the pier. Very soothing. It was very quiet and relaxing.

We ate in the hotel on 3 nights and liked the food and felt that the service was good without being over the top.

We would definitely choose to stay there if we were in Orkney again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.8 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
9.8 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#7 of 9 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Burray, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing