We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar meals and restaurant review -really lovely food.”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Bar meals and restaurant review -really lovely food.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited twice for evening meals, once in the public bar and once in the lounge bar. (We did not have rooms at the hotel). There were 5 of us and we all really enjoyed our meals. The Cullen skink was absolutely delicious, best I've ever had. It was a creamy smoky fish and potato chowder. Beef olives with oatmeal stuffing also yum. Had a game of pool in the public bar. Darts as well. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    45
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
93
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We had been recommended to try this restaurant by a local who had eaten there several times. The first disappointment was that on a beautiful evening there was no room in the conservatory and we were shown to a dark table in the interior of the restaurant. The waitresses were very pleasant and took our order promptly. We ordered sirloin steaks. One was completely inedible as it was very tough and dry. The other was only slightly better but more than half of it was the same as the first.The staff were very apologetic and the steaks were not charged. We were offered another meal option but we declined as we did not have time to wait.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Calinda_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Scapa Suite in the Sands is fantastic - a huge room on two levels with two bedrooms (a double and a twin) a seating area with a TV a nice bathroom and even your own kitchen - all decorated very tastfully in a modern style.

The hotel itself is excellent - good food, excellent location (which is much prettier than it looks on Google Maps) and a short drive from Kirkwall in one direction and the ferry in the other.

The restaurant was very busy when we were there, so service was perhaps a bit slow - but honestly we didn't care!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea - but the suite we had (the Scapa) was fantastic, so I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arethuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a lovely place. The hotel sits beside Watersound Bay with views out to Scapa Flow. There is a small jetty and harbour for local fishing boats and diving boats. We stayed in one of the two suites and it was fabulous. So much room, nice views and all the mod cons you could wish for. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful and always willing to chat and advise on local visits and produce. The restaurant and conservatory serve fantastic evening meals. If you are a fish lover then this is the place to be. Over our 4 night stay i ate prawns, scallops, monkfish, cod and shared a whole lobster ordered the day before and brought in specially for us. The lobster was fully dressed and prepared and was a treat.
Our thanks to Evelyn, John, Tracy
and all the staff for making this such a restful and wonderful stay. All being well we will be back next year for a little longer this time! Highly recommended.
Chris and Mags Chew

Room Tip: All rooms face onto Watersound Bay so no problems. However the suites are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisMags741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My heart sank when I drew up to the hotel - typical Scots grey outside - but inside it is warm and very tastefully decorated. We'd booked a suite and couldn't believe what we got - 2 completely separate bedrooms each with a TV, living/dining area with a large TV, bathroom with bath and shower and a kitchen - all light, bright and clean. Also warm from central heating and a gas fire. perfectly comfortable for 4 adults.

Not that we cooked (other than tea and coffee) because the food was excellent. We ate far more fish than we normally would because it was so good - including herring in pinhead oatmeal and smoked haddock and salmon for breakfast. Even the mince and tatties was perfect.

Oh and it really is right by the sea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been to the Sands before, but it was a few years ago and it was ok.The difference is amazing the A la Carte and Bar Menu are both excellent and it is very difficult to choose. The staff are also a real plus, very friendly and attentive. We were lucky enough to get in the conservatory, as it was a beautiful evening. All in all, a lovely evening. When you visit Orkney, you MUST go there

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our family traveled to Edinburgh, the East and West Highlands and Orkney. This restaurant was hands down the best food (as well as the best prices) of the entire trip. We enjoyed the fish and chips (flavorful and not greasy), salmon served over chick peas and vegetables, scallops (served in entirety with Thai curry). These dishes were accompanied by fresh perfectly cooked vegetables and potatoes. These unique flavors and perfect preparation were unique over our two week trip. The staff was also highly accomodating, as they served us dinner after we arrived on the last ferry, despite that fact that they were closed. We cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
365 reviews
19.3 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
86 reviews
15.9 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
125 reviews
9.4 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
251 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Orkney Hotel
The Orkney Hotel
#5 of 9 in Kirkwall
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Property: Sands Hotel
Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Burray, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing