We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Tangles & Kelpie(Burray Village)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
136
50
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
50
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscallopsstaff were friendlyevening mealorkney islandsherringfirst classsteaklovely placegills bayplace to stayservice was excellentlovely fooddining roomsmall hotelplenty of choiceseafoodminute drive
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 197 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a lovely place. The hotel sits beside Watersound Bay with views out to Scapa Flow. There is a small jetty and harbour for local fishing boats and diving boats. We stayed in one of the two suites and it was fabulous. So much room, nice views and all the mod cons you could wish for. Every single member of staff was friendly and helpful and always willing to chat and advise on local visits and produce. The restaurant and conservatory serve fantastic evening meals. If you are a fish lover then this is the place to be. Over our 4 night stay i ate prawns, scallops, monkfish, cod and shared a whole lobster ordered the day before and brought in specially for us. The lobster was fully dressed and prepared and was a treat.
Our thanks to Evelyn, John, Tracy
and all the staff for making this such a restful and wonderful stay. All being well we will be back next year for a little longer this time! Highly recommended.
Chris and Mags Chew

Room Tip: All rooms face onto Watersound Bay so no problems. However the suites are excellent!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMags741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My heart sank when I drew up to the hotel - typical Scots grey outside - but inside it is warm and very tastefully decorated. We'd booked a suite and couldn't believe what we got - 2 completely separate bedrooms each with a TV, living/dining area with a large TV, bathroom with bath and shower and a kitchen - all light, bright and clean. Also warm from central heating and a gas fire. perfectly comfortable for 4 adults.

Not that we cooked (other than tea and coffee) because the food was excellent. We ate far more fish than we normally would because it was so good - including herring in pinhead oatmeal and smoked haddock and salmon for breakfast. Even the mince and tatties was perfect.

Oh and it really is right by the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been to the Sands before, but it was a few years ago and it was ok.The difference is amazing the A la Carte and Bar Menu are both excellent and it is very difficult to choose. The staff are also a real plus, very friendly and attentive. We were lucky enough to get in the conservatory, as it was a beautiful evening. All in all, a lovely evening. When you visit Orkney, you MUST go there

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Yamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our family traveled to Edinburgh, the East and West Highlands and Orkney. This restaurant was hands down the best food (as well as the best prices) of the entire trip. We enjoyed the fish and chips (flavorful and not greasy), salmon served over chick peas and vegetables, scallops (served in entirety with Thai curry). These dishes were accompanied by fresh perfectly cooked vegetables and potatoes. These unique flavors and perfect preparation were unique over our two week trip. The staff was also highly accomodating, as they served us dinner after we arrived on the last ferry, despite that fact that they were closed. We cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Excellent hotel, staff, food and owners! Close to Churchhill Barriers and the lovely Italian chapel. 5 minute drive from the Pentland ferry. Lovely clean modern room. A credit to Orkney and great base to see the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews