We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel on 28th February with my fiancee and our 18 month old daughter. We stayed in the Swona. This hotel is spotless. I mean completly spotless. I even tried looking for dust and dirt and found nothing. The view from our window was amazing. We ate in the resturant in the evening. A very good menu with lots of choice. We had a fantastic meal. Breakfast was equally impressive.
I cannot reccomend this hotel enough. I will stay there again, and for longer than just 1 night next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 189 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just returned from Orkney and spent one night at this lovely friendly small hotel - should have been 2 but the ferry was cancelled. Staff were very helpful from us booking to leaving. Our room was lovely and clean with all that we needed. Dinner was lovely - we just ate from the bar menu which was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was very nice. Views from the rooms are lovely - would definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodders5301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Sands Hotel has provided me with everything i have needed this trip to Orkney, John & Evelyn are amazing hosts. i came in late at night looking for a room for the night and ended up staying almost a week!

Couldnt recommend it more

Room Tip: i was in a double room (which had a single bed in the same room) - i was told there are full suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Despite quite a large scale they managed to provide personal attention. A varied menu but the chef obviously enjoys cooking the local seafood which is certainly worth a try. Reasonably priced and good service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked this lovely hotel for three nights and wished we could have stayed for longer. The room was spotless, well furnished and decorated, the bed was lovely and comfortable, so much so that we kept on oversleeping. We ate at the hotel every night of our stay and were very pleased with the food on offer. At breakfast the service was quick and food excellent. I'm sure I put on half a stone with the wonderful food on offer. We shall certainly stay here again the next time we visit Orkney.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just had B&B here as we were being catered for elsewhere. The room was clean and comfortable with all we needed but there didn't appear to be a guest lounge other than to use the restaurant or bar. Breakfast was fine but for £100 for two one would expect something better to put one one's toast than sachets of Golden Shred etc. Very convenient for the Ferry but not for Kirkwall etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GandFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

fabulous apartment room with living room, kitchen, dinning space and two upstairs bedrooms with twin beds. Very clean. Perfect for our group of 4 ladies. Windows look out on a harbor with fishing boat. Dinning room delightful for breakfast and dinner. Food was excellent. Good spot to tour the Italian church and Eagles Nest the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
383 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
136 reviews
0 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
332 reviews
16 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
218 reviews
9.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range: $106 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Burray, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing