We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Small Hotel”
Review of Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Thank you John and Evelyn for having us recently. We had a lovely time in at The Sands Hotel, Orkney. Your hotel is immaculate, your rooms are spacious and had all the comforts we needed for our short break. The meals are really tasty with a huge selection. Keep up the good work. We hope you have a busy Season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmelClive39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 181 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

Saw the sign on the roadside - don't be put off by impression from the road. Front of hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautifully furnished and spotless. Rooms have lovely views onto Scapa Flow. Food was beautiful - freshly prepared and the sirloin is to die for as are the desserts. Staff could not have been friendlier. Would certainly return here and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robboloveslola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I regularly travel to the Orkney Islands on business. And since Flybe have trebled the price of the flight from Glasgow to Kirkwall( more expensive than a flight to Boston!) it now requires a lengthy drive and an overnight stay.

I have now had the dubious pleasure of staying in most of the higher profile Kirkwall and Stromness hotels and have to say they are generally overpriced and distinctly mediocre.

However, the Sands Hotel is an absolute GEM and is only five minutes from St Margarets Hope( the arrival point of the shorter and cheaper ferry crossing to Orkney.)

The building had originally been a fish store and has been lovingly converted some years ago into what an Island Hotel should be. Family owned:family run and extremely welcoming.

The rooms are modern and expensively furnished, with flat screen tvs and hospitality trays. The en-suite is large enough and the showers effective.

There is a public bar where many of the local fishermen congregate together with a lounge bar and a small restaurant. Try the locally dived Scallops and Blackpudding with pesto. Fantastic.

And after a couple in the bar you can walk out onto the pier and marvel at Scapa Flow and the hundred years of history below the surface.

The next morning and a thirty minute drive takes you up past the little Italian Chapel; over the Churchill Barriers and onwards to Kirkwall or beyond.

I just loved this little island hotel. I am sure you will too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We didn't stay here (stayed at the fab Creel Restaurant and Rooms) but came here for dinner one night when the creel was closed.

The service was perfectly good and deserved of the 10% standard tip BUT the food was bland at best and greasy at worst. The choice of starters was 90% deep fried (cheese, prawns, chicken fritter types) and the roast beef main was a dark grey, with an odd jelly like gravy,...very strange. My steak was appropriately cooked to order but un-seasoned rendering it, also, rather flavourless.

Small redemption in the puddings - 2 single scoops of hard-to-get-wrong Orkney honeycomb ice cream were pallet boosters after their depressing predecessors.

Not one to drive out of your way for.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
2  Thank JoeyRoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We are a family of 5 with three primary age children. We often find it hard to get reasonably priced accomodation for the whole family and many hotels will not let us share a room.

We were amazed and delighted by the accomodation at the Sands hotel. We booked a family suite which was vast. It had a sitting area with large family sized sofa and chairs, a dining area, a small separate kitchen (fully equipped). Upstairs in the loftspace were 2 bedrooms, one double and one twin. They were happy to put in another bed into the twin. The rooms were quite small but as there was lots of sitting space downstairs you didn't need much. All the furnishings were new and up to date and very clean, as was the bathroom. The suite had a contemporary feel and there were 3 TV/DVD players in the various rooms. Every window had stunning views out to sea.

All this cost little more per night than the cost of 2 rooms at the premier inn on the motorway up (2 rooms because they don't let a family of 5 sleep in one room).

The children found plenty they liked on the menu and so did we and we liked the relaxed feel in the dining room. They were happy to give us a jug of fresh milk to put in our fridge for morning tea and coffee - it is the little touches like this which make the difference for a family!

All in all a lovely small hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happygolucky026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We arrived on Orkney with no room for Saturday night and tourist info told us this was the only double room available on the whole mainland! Fortunately it was a lovely room with sea views and we had a fine evening meal there and walk along the rocky beach. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigPietro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Booked this hotel to go to a wedding nearby, the room was lovely, everything was newly decorated and it was very pleasant. The problem was the noise at night which started at eleven o clock and went on to midnight. On the Saturday night it was one o'clock. Breakfast was adequate although uninspiring to say the least. The dinners at night were very good and that is obviously where the business concentrates. On our last evening we returned to be greeted by "we weren't expecting you you were only booked in for 3 nights" as I had a copy of my emial confirming 4 nights we obviously weren't. Our rooms hadn't been done up and no fresh towels had been provided - this wasn't rectified. All in all it was fine but lacking something despite all the money that has obviously been spent on it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soutar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burray Village
9.9 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
371 reviews
18.2 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
16.0 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kirkwall Hotel
Kirkwall Hotel
#8 of 9 in Kirkwall
380 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
131 reviews
9.5 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#6 of 9 in Kirkwall
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: Sands Motel Pier Road, Burray Village KW17 2SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Burray > Burray Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burray Village
Price Range: $102 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Burray Village
Sands Hotel Burray, Orkney Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing