We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel with Theme Park next door.”
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night after celebrating at a wedding reception in their semi-permanent Function Suite.
The Alona Hotel is situated in Strathclyde Park just minutes off the M74 to Glasgow/the south and connects easily to the various motorways linking Scotland's cities. The building looks modern and well looked after. Service at check in was speedy even with 60 Chinese tourists in the queue ahead of us (we were attended to while the tour guide allocated rooms to his charges). We stayed in a superior room which was spotlessly clean and modern. Nice big wet room/toilet with a full bore shower. Free wifi, flat screen tv and tea/coffee making facilities plus Tunnocks Caramel Wafers instead of the usual tea biscuits. Large mirrors give a sense of space with two chairs and a coffee table for relaxing. The large double bed was not too firm and we both had an excellent sleep after the excesses of the wedding reception. Breakfast was self service and really good with enough of a choice to satisfy the biggest appetite. My only slight complaint would be that there weren't any sliced/Lorne sausages. Plenty of hot dishes with proper black pudding and haggis if wanted but no square sausage! I registered my slight complaint at reception so perhaps that will be rectified in future. Although the hotel was fairly full, the breakfast service was quick and no waiting. Check out again was quick and efficient. The hotel is next to M&D's Theme Park and therefore ideal for families. Miles of walking/cycling around the park and water activities on the loch itself. We didn't eat in the dinning room but ate in the Toby Restaurant at the entrance to the park which may be a better option for those on a budget. Special thanks to the hotel staff who helped when one of the wedding guests felt unwell during the evening.
The Function Suite is vast with plenty of room for dancing and making merry. The bar service was very efficient with plenty of bar staff so little queuing for drinks. The late snacks were also excellent. Would happily stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a centrally situated hotel. Transport required because of were it is situated but very handy for the motorway network.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very positive comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking apart from the lack of Lorne sausage on the breakfast menu. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards Ian Donnachie general manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

It’s hard to believe that this hotel is situated in the heartland of industrial Scotland being as it is in the beautiful Strathclyde Country Park at Motherwell. We stayed for one night, en route from Yorkshire to the North of Scotland which made the location, just five minutes from the M74, perfect. The Park is dominated by the Strathclyde Loch which is on the doorstep and there are great park and woodland walks within minutes of the hotel. On the night we stayed, there was a wedding function in the marquee at the rear of the hotel and the management kindly upgraded our room to be the furthest distance from the event and minimise any disturbance. In the event, we slept soundly. Good restaurant in the feature glass atrium which served an excellent breakfast. Our room was roomy, well-appointed with a comfortable bed. Staff were attentive and courteous. Overall, a good experience and great value for money.

Room Tip: This review based on a "Superior Double Room" - worth trying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

dear Guest
Thank you for commenting in a very kind manner after your stay with us at the Alona Hotel. I will pass on your comments to the staff about their friendly and courteous manner. Thank you for staying with us and would would be very pleased to welcome you again.Kind regards ian donnachie general manager alona hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is the first time I've stayed at the Alona, normally I stay at the Holiday Inn just up the road - however I was very impressed with the Alona, great location next to the lake and very quiet.
The restaurant was a little pricy by comparison, but the food was excellent. Breakfast was first class, hot and well presented.
Rooms were first class, well decorated and equipped to a high standard.

Great location for Glasgow, East Kilbride, Hamilton, etc. Would recommend this as an option over the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: I was told by a fellow guest that the rooms at the East side of the hotel apparently get very hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for posting some very positive comments. We are pleased that you found the hotel to have friendly and helpful staff and that the location was suitable to you. thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon
kind regards ian donnachie general manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel but attended a function in their semi-permanent marquee. This is a great venue. There is a nice space to mingle before going through to the actual function area. The venue is very spacious and airy. The staff were great with service very well coordinated. The food was a set menu for the function and was hot and tasty as well as being well-presented.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scotsguy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your very positive comments regarding our function suite. It is really a unique area and provides an excellent venue for weddings and large functions. It is more than a marquee with a very heating system providing plenty of warm air in the winter. Two sides of the marquee are fully glazed providing plenty of light and that feeling of space with the extra height that a marquee this size brings. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the food quality and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards Ian Donnachie General Manger Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Three of us went for afternoon tea on Sunday . Despite a wedding in progress no holdup. Choice of tea /coffee and great amount of brown/white sandwiches with mixed enjoyable fillings. Then large heated fruit scones, with cream, jam and hotel made cakes. Asked for water and got jug of iced .....free. All very enjoyable for under £8 per person.
Staff extremely friendly, polite and Wayne stood out...a pleasant young man.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank JC154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our afternoon tea. I agree the price is very good at £7.95 and the staff are friendly without being intrusive. Thank you for dining with us and please visit us again soon
Kind Regards
ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Lovely welcome at reception. Complimentary glass of wine offered on arrival a nice touch. Superb, spotless room. Toiletries good quality. Staff very professional, pleasant and helpful. Lovely bar area. Breakfast great choice and plentiful.


Definitely one to re visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of the bedrooms. The housekeeping staff do work very hard and the result is very clean and fresh bedrooms which are regularly highlighted by our guests. The toiletries are also of a good standard enhancing the stay of our guests. We do thank you again for your positive comments and for choosing to stay at the Alona Hotel

kind regards ian Donnachie General Manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have previously stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it the first time so thought that we would try again. We were not disappointed the staff were lovely and helpful and extremely pleasant. This is second time we have tried the lazy Sunday deal and it is a good deal

Room Tip: The rooms we have stayed have all been perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments and I do agree that the Lazy Sunday deal is very good value for money. For only £99 to afternoon tea,dinner,newspaper,glass of wine and bed and breakfast is great value. Thank you for choosing to stay again and we look forward to meeting you again soon
Kind regards ian donnachie General manager Alona Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range: $98 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing