We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better value but avoid wedding discos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
234 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Better value but avoid wedding discos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We thought this was much better value for money than others (Tudor, Airdrie and Hilton, Bellshill). It's light and airy, nice dining room, decent size room. Helpful and intelligent staff, good location near J5 of M74. I especially liked breakfast where a chef was doing two or three fried eggs at a time (elsewhere they do 500 when breakfast starts, and by the time you get there they are all congealed and horrible).

Snags: on Thursday night there was a wedding reception; after the ceremony they were all traipsing through the dining room to the loo; the kids were tired and emotional, and noisy. There was worse to come: the disco afterwards. With our windows shut and the heavy curtains pulled, we couldn't sleep. However when they finished after midnight we could finally get to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask them if they are doing a disco and ask for a room on the other side of teh hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afterbrunel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    147
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
106
110
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just got married at this hotel yesterday and would just like to say a massive thank you to the wonderfull staff at the alona hotel, service is absolutely flawless, staff were so accommodating and friendly, the arrangements for the ceremony, dinner and reception were perfect thanks to the staff the day was completely stress free, me my new husband and guests all commented how great the day had went, the food was brilliant I would highly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a venue for their big day. Cannot thank the staff enough for making my day so special I wish I could do it all over again, thanks Mr and Mrs Abernethy xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki_abernethy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked this hotel as an add-on to a trip to Glasgow already booked, but the hotel in central Glasgow was full.

Just off the M74, and 20mins from central Glasgow, this place is convenient for getting about.

Set along side the Strathclyde National Park, we arrived and checked in. Welcome was great, and everything was explained fully.

Arrived in room on 3rd floor, and have to say the decor looked relatively new and fresh. Large room, good size bathroom, and french doors and balcony overlooking car-park and lake.

Double bed in room was a little too small for 2 people, but there is a fold out sofa bed in the room too.

Bar and restaurant always looked busy, we only used the restaurant for breakfast, which had a fantastic choices, self service, and great value.

Set alongside the M&D Theme Park, this place is great, and would be more than happy to stay here again when in the area for business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I frequently stay here when I am in the area on business. The staff are very friendly and the service superb. Food is of a high quality and menu changes often. The rooms are comfortable ab
Me of a good standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottish_Wanderer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments and I will be sure to pass them onto the staff. We are delighted that you found the food of such a good quality and at the moment i am working with the chef on a new menu which we hope to launch this month. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind Regards Ian donnachie Geneeral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Arrived at the hotel for a weekend trip with the family, location is great right next to the loch in the Strathclyde Country Park and the theme park.
Reception staff were very helpful getting us booked in and in our rooms in no time.
The rooms were a decent size and tastefully decorated, though the bed in 306 was a bit on the hard side to say the least.
Bar prices were a bit expensive and the room service was at the same level of most hotels.
The breakfast was buffet style with full English as well as cereal etc very nice though we did have to wait a few times for items to be re filled.
Nice atmosphere at the hotel and would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Don't get 306 unless you like a rock hard bed,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanDonnachie, General Manager at The Alona Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you found your stay enjoyable. I do take note of your comments regarding the hardness of the bed. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you again to the Alona Hotel
Kind regards
ian donnachie
Alona Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had our Wedding reception here and we could not fault this place a tall. All the staff were lovely. Helped us out a lot. A lot of our family were staying here as well for an over night and they all enjoyed there stay. The Alona went way and above our expectations and nothing was ever too much trouble.In our Honeymoon suite we had a small bottle of champagne, strawberries with choc and a wedding card waiting for us when we went into the room we thought that was a lovely touch. A big Thank you to all the Alona staff for looking after us and and our guests. We would defo recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobie1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I had seen the murder mystery night advertised locally and thought why not!

What a night! It was fantastic! The food was top class, I had the soup to start, then the beef. One of the nicest cuts of beef I've had in a long time! The staff were fantastic! Very attentive and friendly!

The murder mystery night itself was brilliant! Great fun, everyone seemed to enjoy it and then had a boogie with the disco!

The hotel room was great! Clean, spacious and a walk in shower! Breakfast was also very tasty no square sausage :( however the breakfast selection was large! Great for soaking up the alcohol!

All in all, a great night! Will remember it for a while! Cheers Alona :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMH-sco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing