We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alona...at last.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alona Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alona Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Alona...at last.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights over a weekend.
Had a room for 3 and 3 x breakfast all for £80 per night. Great value and the breakfast is the 'full Scottish'.
Excellent well appointed and stylish room.
Arrived late on the Friday night so could only get some sandwiches via room service which were a bit disappointing......tasteless really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    146
    39
    22
    20
See reviews for
104
109
17
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

it is obvious that this hotel takes complaints very seriously. after a complaint was made to management about a business overnight stay the issue was dealt with promptly in the most professional manner by telephone and letter.The manager Ian Docherty told me that the complaint would be dealt with and was true to his word. the visit to the hotel was very good and would be recommended to others.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank helen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

You now get free wi-fi here, although on the past two occasions we've stayed here, its gone a bit wonky.

The bedrooms are large and well equipped, with flat screen tvs, bath/power shower and quality bathroom smellies.

Unless you like really hard foam pillows, I strongly suggest that you take your own - they are really uncomfortable.

Breakfast is a help yourself buffet, and is about average on the scale of things - only one fried egg on the platter when I went up, and you get a tiny one-cup teapot but it is refillable.

We would have taken an evening meal here, but the prices are considerably higher than my budget would permit, so we drove to the nearby Toby carvery and ate there instead.

If you want a hotel for the amusement park, this is good value at £85 bed and breakfast, haggle on the room rate at reception though.

Watch out for the boy racers in the country park after dark. Use the Motherwell park exit if you don't like busy roundabouts to get back onto the motorway!

Room Tip: Avoid the low floor rooms near the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband - Saturday 22nd September 2012. Booked through Late Rooms - £75 for 1 night B&B for 2 people - very reasonable price (although we have payed £50 off-season before now).
Things we really liked -
* The food at dinner was excellent. Medallions of beef and rack of lamb both superb. Starters and desserts were good too. Well done chefs!
* Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. I think it might have been an upgraded room?
* Fantastic toiletries by Rituals. First hotel we have seen using this new brand. Lovely.
* Jazz band playing live music were excellent. Great entertainment.
* Great, free car parking.
Things not so good -
* We used to be offered a complementary glass of wine on check-in. Not this time.
* The room was very hot during the night, and there is no air con.
* The mattress was pretty hard and so were the pillows. Not a very comfy sleep.
* The waiting staff in the dining room were untrained and a little unprofessional.
* Breakfast was OK - hot food was good, but not a big selection of continental options.
Overall, a nice place to stay for a night away, especially because of the live swing band on a Saturday night. It used to be a cheap night away here, but our total bill was £166 for DB&B, so just average price now. This did include a bottle of wine and a couple of drinks, right enough.
Yes - we will go back again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 106 and it was fine. It was a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice-and-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Whilst adhering to the modern building formula of hotels, both the rooms and common areas succeed in convincing you that this is a cut above the rest.
I'm sure the bill for fitting out this well placed hotel was double that of its rivals, it is money well spent.
From the welcome, the impression is one of a higher ambition. Although without any definite style, every fitting and fixture is well made and stylish.
In the rooms, the carpet is thicker, the bed nicer, the furniture better chosen and bathroom a little posher.
Service was excellent, everyone saying hello and following it up with a smile.
Breakfast was possibly the only let down from thi high standard - whilst plentiful and hot, each of the ingredients were more Lidl than ideal.
It's proximity to strathclyde country park would be a bonus for those who want a walk in fresh air or risk the amusement of the nearby theme park.
Well done for trying harder and setting your stall out so well.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having previously stayed here before at a friends wedding we had no hesitation in staying here after our wedding, and as on our other visit we were very pleased with the standard of room and efficiency and friendliness of the reception staff.
The breakfast was also very good.
so this is a hotel I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

On arriving at the Alona I was delighted to see it hasn't changed much in the three years since we last stayed here. Very bright and airy interior and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. This was booked as a last minute treat by my husband for my birthday. The room was very modern and clean and bathroom is spotlessly clean with large walk in shower.
We went out to the Toby Carvery with family for dinner, this was only a few minutes walk away-although if this hadn't been pre arranged would probably have had dinner in the hotel.
Breakfast is a buffet with a choice of cereals, fruit and fruit juices. Also available is the cooked breakfast-buffet style again but well worth it
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.4 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.1 mi away
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
Bothwell Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bothwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alona Hotel

Property: The Alona Hotel
Address: Strathclyde Country Park Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3WB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#5 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Alona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Hotel Motherwell
The Alona Hotel Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing