We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, reassuringly expensive”
Review of Dakota Eurocentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakota Eurocentral
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Cawood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, reassuringly expensive”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Don't be put off by the office block on a business park looks from outside, once inside the hotel has a nice feel. The staff are very pleasant, like the background music too. Standard rooms have a bathroom with a good shower and nice toiletries. Restaurant food is a little on the pricy side, but the quality is without question. Our room had some motorway noise, would ask for a different side if there is to be a next time. Breakfast was excellent. Only giving biscuits in the room on the first night is a little penny pinching, especially as they are so nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side to the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xedos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    212
    78
    24
    18
See reviews for
70
347
14
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

We started our honeymoon here and it was amazing, the biggest bed iv ever seen, very clean, modern room and rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed, a bottle of bubbles was brought to our room and strawberries dipped in chocolate. The food was out of this world and we had to eat there 3 time just to make sure it was as good as the first time haha. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. This made the start of our honeymoon wonderful, something I will never forget.

Room Tip: We had the bridal suite so if you can afford it get this as it was pure luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ourbadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Took a couple of customers here for a business lunch.
The food was great.
It's very smart inside perfect atmosphere for that type of meeting.
Service was quick and efficient without being obtrusive.
Will use again!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed the one night with our two wee dogs so we could attend a nearby birthday party. Reception was great and the room (220) very modern and nice. A very nice touch was a pet blanket and feeding bowl delivered to the room without asking. Nice dog friendly hotels can be few and far between but this one scores high. The hotel is in the midst of a business park that is almost totally empty so loads of space to walk your wuffiers. Downside was the shower door did not close properly and the very distinctive table light did not work, all reported to reception on departure and I just get the feeling from the quality of staff that this has now been sorted. Breakfast was good, with the main course cooked to order.
Hotel is located just off the M8 motorway and during quiet periods you could drive to the centre of Glasgow in about 30 mins. and Edinburgh in a easy 45 mins.

Room Tip: Rooms to the north face the Edinburgh-Glasgow M8 Motorway but the good sound insulation should be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HEREFORD, UK
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We were moved (free of charge) because our original girl had a wedding. Wow ! Would definitely advise people to look at this. Love the dc3/c47 connections decor great, lobby superb, reception staff outstanding, rooms quirky but good basic design (clothes hang up behind false wall behind bed). Breakfast service slow and I didn't like my egg? But otherwise amazing. Only downside ? Directions are rubbish. Road access impenetrable and joy signed off main road. Getting access out of hotel area to anywhere other than Glasgow is impossible and frankly dangerous. We only wanted to get to Falkirk and it took twenty miles if fannying around badly signposted roads. Not the hotels force.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank monocularman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

A bit of an office looking blackbox from the outside but we found the hotel to be comfortable and the room well designed. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom could be better quality such as the shower door which will probably fall off soon. Wardrobes also need a light as you cannot see a thing due to the darkness. No sockets next to bed for the the phone charger.
Good for a couple of nights and close to most places in central Scotland.

Room Tip: Away from the front (M8) and away from the elevator which is obsessed by letting you know what it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedandRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I recently stayed there for two nights as I was visiting clients in Maxim Park next door. You are limited for choice in the area but I was very pleased I booked.

The outside of the hotel is black and the inside is deliberately dark to create an alround mood of mystery and atmosphere. As the name suggests it's theme is built round the McDonnell Douglas Dakota - the famous workhorse of WWII and beyond. As an ex MD employee I was pleased to see this though was slight puzzled by the picture of a Short Brothers Golden Hind flying boat which has very little to do with the DC3 other than being of the same era. Just a minor quibble on my part!

You enter the hotel via automatic doors and some very heavy curtains to keep the light out and are faced with a reception and a large brick wall. The staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming and made me feel very welcome.

My room was also very dark and but very tastefull designed. There was large bed with a HUGE pillow on it which is great for sitting up in bed and watching television. It was equipped with a nice large LED TV with the usual Freeview channels. Wifi was free but, if using more that one device as I was, you should ask for more than one vouchure. Behind the bed there are two cunningly hidden alcoves with hanging space, tea/coffee making equipment and an iron and ironing board which was extremely useful as I had just flown up from London.

I had a really good night's sleep helped by the very efficient air conditioning unit.

The bar area and restaurant are also very dark with the waiters/waitresses dressed in black so sometimes they were difficult to see! On the walls wre two massive front pages of the Eagle magazine which was the background of my youth in the '50s so it was great to see Dan Dare, the Mekon and Digby again - old friends! There was also a very tasteful Playboy poster on the wall. Service was very efficient, discreet and friendly and the food excellent. I gather the Chairman's wife was responsible for a lot of the design so a big thumbs up to her.

If you don;t like dark hotels this one is not for you. If you like something different from the normal sterile hotel and you like quirky designs then this is definitely for you. It is just off the main M8 motorway in the middle of nowhere but is very quiet and very convenient for the nearby business park (Maxim Park). It's about a 20 minute drive to the centre of Glasgow and is also well serviced by a Citylink bus that goes between Edinburgh and its airport and Glasgow Buchanan Street Bus station.

I loved it and am looking forward to spending a week there in a few week's time. I can thoroughly recommend it. Another big plus is that they seem to employ mainly local, indiginous Scots which I thoroughly applaud and makes a great change from many other hotels that don't.

The only real downside is that there's no swimming pool and a only a small gym.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,900 reviews
Mondo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coatbridge
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Eurocentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Eurocentral

Property: Dakota Eurocentral
Address: 1-3 Parklands Avenue | Eurocentral Business Park, Motherwell ML1 4WQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#1 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#1 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Eurocentral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Eurocentral Business Park, just off the M8. Dakota offers stylish and luxurious boutique rooms with free Wi-Fi, fresh cookies, LCD TVs and air conditioning. All rooms have sumptuous en suite bathrooms, with bespoke toiletries and fluffy towels. The award-winning Dakota Grill serves fresh, simple dishes and a classic grill menu. Afternoon teas are also available. The bar offers a range of delicious cocktails and an extensive beverage list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Dakota Eurocentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Eurocentral Hotel Motherwell
Dakota Eurocentral Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing