We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class hotel”
Review of Dakota Eurocentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dakota Eurocentral
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
286 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“First Class hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

On the Eurocentral business Park this hotel is outside of Centre but has managed to create a must stay location when in the area.
Rooms very good,clean,quiet, spacious and well appointed.
Restaraunt has a limited menu but the food served is first class and in a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    210
    77
    24
    18
See reviews for
69
346
14
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hessle, East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Really like this hotel. Very good value, on average via Booking.com have paid £85 per night room only. Some local budget chains price came in as more and we have the the features of a boutique hotel here. I have stayed here on 4 occasions now, total 6 nights.

Certainly convenient for working with organisations on the attached business park, all of which are in walking distance. Travelled by train into Motherwell station, which is around 15 minutes drive away. It cost me £10 each way by taxi, metered taxis are available from Motherwell station taxi rank.

I think any hotel is measured first and foremost by its staff. The good news for this hotel is they are very friendly and professional. I thought the waitresses at breakfast were particularly good and the service offered in the attached restaurant is great in the evening as well.

The room was fine and what you would expect from this standard of hotel. Comfortable bed, good cushions. Tea and coffee making facilities. Nice modern decoration. Loved the added touches, like the cookies, comfortable chair, and the huge cushion and desk lamp. Really well lit with easily controllable dimming lighting. Rain shower with normal shower, but no bath. Standard bathroom facilities otherwise. Didn't use wifi, login page is a bit confusing, I thought it was £5 but by the looks of previous reviews here you can get it for free, perhaps the hotel could advise this on checkin?

Breakfast was great, mostly ate continental which I thought was reasonable at £10 including drinks and toast. Usual fare of cold selection, fruit and cereals as well as fruit juice. One day went for eggs Benedict, which I thought was done perfectly. Cooked breakfast including continental was £13. Evening meals similarly very good, slightly on the expensive side, most meals top the £13 a plate mark, some as high as £25. Also £5 tray charge for room service. I would comment they could also do with some healthier options for frequent travellers, certainly more vegetables on the menu. This is a potential downside as no amenities immediately surround the hotel if you do not have a car. Food was excellent though, I had haddock and chips and the fish particularly was excellent, really crispy fresh batter. Also had a fish broth, and was very tasty.

Overall, a very good, well managed hotel. Would return and recommend to others.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank balearicrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Don't be put off by the location, walk through the door and you're into another world. Soft lighting, calming music and large inviting sofas. Swift check in from a welcoming member of the team. Up to our gorgeous, spacious room plus home made cookies-perfect. Back to the bar and grill, comfortable and again wonderful staff. Meal at night was amazing, both my husband and I had steaks which were cooked to perfection. Not sure how to condense this into a few words to fully describe the lovely hotel, amazing staff from arrival to departure and the wonderful food. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Dakota, the stunning "Black Box" of a hotel. Staff were really friendly on arrival, that was carried on through my one night stay. It is very boutique in its decor. The dim lighting throughout is a bit straining on the eyes. The room was spotlessly clean, smelt fresh and was well decorated. The bed was really comfy, I rarely sleep well on a first night in a strange bed, but this was an exception. The big pillow might seem a bit OTT but it's great to lean on and watch the TV. I had my evening meal in the hotel which was very good for the money. I had steak and a fantastic caramel pudding, one of the best deserts I have had anywhere. Breakfast was also excellent. No complaints at all from me and it was a very reasonable rate for the evening. Free wifi also, which many hotels still rip you off with by charging £10.00-£15.00 for. Check this hotel out before booking a budget chain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

a short stay but pleasant nonetheless. Close enough for access to Glasgow for a night in the town but the restaurant also looked to have a very decent dinner menu. Staff were all very friendly and rooms were excellent. Large bedroom in a boutique style with free wifi and a decent sized bathroom. Nice touch with the free fresh made cookies in the room! Quite a small gym but you can also run outside of hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the smoked haddock with poached egg was as good as it gets. Reasonable price for a business trip. Chic surroundings and a nice ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Dakota would not seem out of place in the coolest of cities but it’s location in the Eurocentral Business Park on the M8 would leave a lot to be desired if you were in Scotland for pleasure. I arrived mid-week on business and the foyer and restaurant were packed with people having meetings and lunch. The lighting is low, the atmosphere is great and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

My room was gorgeous. Exposed brick walls, a giant cushion on the bed, free cookies in a jar and an overall great use of space and attention to detail rank this hotel one of the best I have stayed in on business. I had both lunch and dinner in the hotel and both were excellent. The fish is fresh, cooked to perfection and very tasty and the side dishes are even worth a mention. Try the honey glazed carrots!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Glasgow for business. If you are exploring the beauties of Scotland by car on holiday then this is a must stop on the journey.

Room Tip: You won't get a view in this hotel so just enjoy the interiors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LollLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Arrived at Dakota Hotel Motherwell on M8 for lunch with a colleague and we were pleased to be placed very efficiently at a table rather than waiting around at the Bar .

Then Drinks took 10-15 to serve and server seemed quite uncertain to what the meal to order was .

Risotto was the only option for me (gluten free) but arrived with a poached egg on top ,, that didn't help as (I'm vegan) !!.meal was OK not exceptional just OK !!.

45 mins in and out ...I was quite surprised really as I expected lunch to be a couple of hours .

Servers were nice enough and efficient and were very
Pleasant .that always helps ...

I will go back as it is well placed for meetings on the M8 half way between Glasgow -Edinburgh ..
Hugh S

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Eurocentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Eurocentral

Property: Dakota Eurocentral
Address: 1-3 Parklands Avenue | Eurocentral Business Park, Motherwell ML1 4WQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#1 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#1 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dakota Eurocentral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Eurocentral Business Park, just off the M8. Dakota offers stylish and luxurious boutique rooms with free Wi-Fi, fresh cookies, LCD TVs and air conditioning. All rooms have sumptuous en suite bathrooms, with bespoke toiletries and fluffy towels. The award-winning Dakota Grill serves fresh, simple dishes and a classic grill menu. Afternoon teas are also available. The bar offers a range of delicious cocktails and an extensive beverage list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dakota Eurocentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakota Eurocentral Hotel Motherwell
Dakota Eurocentral Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing