We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great People”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Moorings while attending a Genealogy Fair in Motherwell in August. The staff were friendly and more than willing to answer all our questions - from bus fares, where to catch buses, schedules etc. The meals in the restaurant were tasty and again, staff were helpful and kind. Our room was on the second floor and staff were there to help with our luggage. Beds were comfortable and room was clean and held on the necessities. Ample parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    119
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
85
130
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My last stay here in sunny scottland, And well a really sad end as we wont be back. This hotel is superb...If you walk in door and you have carol on the reception your in for a real treat...Yes i can say without doubt....FACT.. the most beautiful lady iv ever seen..Simply stunning and really nice to boot, Follow that with great rooms and food well im sad that i cant come back on business. Ok Now iv mentioned the special one BUT.......If you get any time with sharon another of the most amazing ladiies iv HAD THE PLEASURE OF MEETING SHE ALSO...IS 1 MILLION DOLLARS OF PURE GOLD....Its like meeting the funniest person in the world and times that by 10......Iv loved every minute of being there and plan to holiday in scotts next year and im staying here.........This place on its own should be a 5 star.......The chef knocks out some beltters the staff are brilliant the rooms are super free parking........YOU CANT ASK FOR ANYTHING ELSE........LOVE YOU GUYS.......

Room Tip: Any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bertboy643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel with staff that cant do enough for you and for dog owners well they really make your four legged friend feel welcome. May your stay be business or pleasure you are not to far from Glasgow city centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus170362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for one night in August attending a concert, got a great rate of £60.00 B & B/

Hotel is located on the main road into Motherwell with ample parking, was checked in quickly and noted immediately that there is FREE wifi. Well done! I also had free wifi in the room and all public areas, no log in, no hassle - and it was pretty quick.

Went to room 9 downstairs, very peaceful room, comfy bed, recently renovated by the looks of it with a small bathroom (no bath) and plenty of towels etc. Got changed, went to concert and when I returned I spent a fair bit of time in the bar supping single malts, they have a great selection. Bar staff and night-porter Ian very friendly and chatty.

Check out is 11:00am, given the malts the night before I was a wee bit late, no drama just a call to the room to remind me and then I checked out.

Great hotel for the price, quiet, well decorated, free wifi and friendly staff, I didn't score as excellent as I had no opportunity to try the food, but if you are merely looking for a value hotel with all mod cons, this is the place in Motherwell.

Room Tip: Room 9 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monaco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Moorings Hotel on our way to The West Coast, it was fabulous, modern tv, comfy bed and lots of little extras like a tea pot as well as a kettle.
We liked it so much we booked again for our return, it was just as good.

I rate this as one of the cleanest most modern hotels I have been to.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have problems with stairs as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Best hotel we have stayed in in ages. Rooms nicely decorated, soft beds, clean and up to date bathroom. Absolutely the most friendly staff ever, nothing is too much for them, just as pleasant in the morning as at night. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Room 16 front room twin beds first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Popped into The Moorings for a family meal Saturday early evening, hadn't booked but no problem, table was prepared for us. We have stayed here several times and yet again, the food and service were excellent. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagsMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
831 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
435 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Address: 114 Hamilton Rd., Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Family Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing