We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The moorings hotel Motherwell was the perfect venue for our wedding. Barry,Donna, Lorraine and all the staff did their upmost best to make our special day better than we could ever dreamed of. Rooms were great size, food was amazing and the service was second to none many thanks
Mr & Mrs Mulholland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaza12785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    114
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
82
123
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked in for dinner last evening. To our surprise we found a beautifully decorated dining room in which the staff were very attentive, helpful and eager to satisfy our needs. The meal which followed was superb, of special note was the steamed mussells in a garlic sauce they were excellent. The main courses [lamb chops & a beef straganoff] are to be recommended and were very well presented also. The choice of desserts was varied and ours were excellent. A very good experience, we will be back! David B.

Room Tip: Only there for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here recently for an overnight to attend a family party. Very got warm welcome on arrival and we were shown to our room quickly, we were in room 4 behind the bar. Very comfy bed and room overall ok, a bit on the small side but that was a minor detail. Did not eat in the hotel but the restraunt was busy troughout our stay, menu looked great and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent as was the service, will definately be back when need arises.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet (room 4) although other reviewers said it was a bit noisey, this was not the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballyconnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel and rooms very tastefully decorated, very clean and staff very friendly especially Ian, the night porter, who really looked after our party. Breakfast was fine although would not put a £10 price tag on it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Cannot comment on the rooms but having eaten at the Moorings 6 times now, I have a good handle on the food and can comment.

Motherwell is not blessed with many good eateries - nor accommodation - unless you head to the Hilton at Strathclyde etc. and I have heard horror stories about the Bentley - so we decided to eat there as it looked quite nice from the road.

The hotel is a small affair - the bar/restaurant off to your left if you come through the main entrance and also its own entrance into the restaurant proper from the car park. Service is well-meaning but far from polished. The demeanour of the staff however more than makes up for this.

To the food. It's hit and miss. At all costs, based on our experience, avoid the roast Sunday lunch - dreadful meat - overcooked, hopeless Yorkshire puddings. Also - make sure if you have a steak, it is not cooked rare - as tough as old boots. The seabass has never disappointed and the soups are always good.

If you have a bottle of wine and 3 course dinner - it will get very pricey - I am not sure it's worth it to be honest.
If however, you come in early and take the early supper menu, with your expectations tuned accordingly it will be on ok experience. It could be so much better though...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I used to have lunch here regulalry and was always pleased with the food and level of service provided. Last week, however, I returned after a few months absence and was deeply disappointed by the deterioration in the standard of their food - and indeed the manager's attitude towards our comments. My starter, the pâté, was bland mush - which meant I was left eating the three tiny oatcakes that came with it. My friend's starter, the pear salad, was not much better. Upon bringing this to the attention of the manager he looked at us as though we were making it up - no apology was offered, no discount given. I appreciate that, in a set lunch menu, you only get what you pay for, but considering that there is no difference in price between here and a newly opened nearby Italian restaurant where the portions are much larger and food much better, I was thoroughly disappointed. I would say, however, that the main course, whilst small, was pleasant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lovely building, tastefully decorated. Very friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent also.

Will stay there again despite the bloke in the next room having a loud domestic on the phone until very late, the night staff did their best to calm the nutter down. A bad start to an overall very pleasant stay at a quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauryCurran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Motherwell hotels
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#8 of 9 in Motherwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
2.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Address: 114 Hamilton Rd., Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing