We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the middle of Motherwell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Checked in this hotel on a recommendation from someone local, it was a good recommendation. The room with breakfast was £75.00 for a double room. We checked in with little fuss and had room 4 on the ground floor. The room was ideal, nice bed, lovely clean bathroom, tea coffee facilities etc. We ate in the restaurant and the food was fabulous!! Staff were great and because we were in a rush at breakfast the lady wrapped us up a bacon sandwich to go, which was really thoughtful. All in all this hotel was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 405 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were greeted by a professional staff who were prepared to answer all questions and provided us with advice about the local hiking trails and shops. We decided to have dinner there and was delighted at the culinary experience. This was total high class; a 5 star experience- who could ask for more?

Our accomodation was clean, quiet and the bathrooms well appointed.

At breakfast, again our meals were prepared and presented as if in a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a nice little hotel with plenty of parking, a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. The location was perfect for what we needed and it was an easy drive down to Hamilton. The rooms weren’t very soundproof (common with older buildings like this) so you could hear everything in the other rooms but they put a door between the rooms and the bar so it wasn’t a big issue.

Breakfast was included and there was a good selection of hot and cold foods. It looks like the bar & restaurant area has been recently refurbished, which was nice.

Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My daughter was rowing for Ireland at the recent Homes International Rowing Competition which was held at Strathclyde Park. We choose the Moorings Hotel as it was near the Strathclyde Park. Three other families stayed as well and were all delighted with the good value of the family rooms. The food was excellent. The dinner menu suited all palates and the children were delighted. The Hotel is like a large Guest House with a very good restaurant. There are no other facilities in it but that suited us as we were out and about all three days. The M&D Theme Park is also in Strathclyde Park. We all went there. Small but still fun for the children. Overall the Moorings was a very good choice, simple clean and friendly. It is located very near the town of Motherwell and about 10 minute walk to Strathclyde Park. Colette Cork Ireland

Room Tip: Number 10 is the Honeymoon suite-nothing special but a nice large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellTravelledCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night (Saturday) and were impressed. The room although in the basement was well decorated and had tea and coffee making facilities. Also satellite television. The bathroom was small but adequate and had a shower over a bath. Not my favourite as I prefer a shower room but the power shower was fine. We booked bed and breakfast and the breakfast on the Sunday was very good, cereals and fruit juice as well as fresh fruit followed by a cooked breakfast which offered a choice of porridge, smoked fish, full scottish breakfast with a choice of cooked eggs. Service was first class and every request was met with a smile and nothing seemed to be a problem. Could we please take this hotel round Europe with us. We would certainly have no problem recommending or booking into this hotel in the future. Only 5 minutes off the M74.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our first stay at the Moorings Hotel wont be our last. Lovely hotel, staff very helpful with a ready smile. Accomodation was good and breakfast was great. Would recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j-bar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

booked honeymoon suite which was excellant, drinks and family meal in restaurant, staff were excellent let us have early access to room for bride and bridesmaid to get changed .

cannot fault this hotel food excellant , service excellant

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dm2Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
3.3 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
874 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.9 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
2.3 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
2.2 mi away
Dalziel Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel

Address: 114 Hamilton Road, Motherwell ML1 3DG, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Motherwell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Motherwell
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel provides the magic near Motherwell! Built in 1891 as the private home for a member of a famous Scottish steel dynasty, our beautiful main building has held its charm and offers a unique, understated and timeless air of refinement to this day. The surroundings are undeniably chic, but the overall ambience remains humble enough to be homely. A "B" listed building within a local conservation area, BEST WESTERN Moorings Hotel has built on its 19th century roots to meet 21st century needs and provides guests with classic character. We still have some of the original stained glass windows, and our hospitality is traditional and unintrusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Motherwell
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing