We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and not expensive”

Toby Carvery at Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #22 of 67 Restaurants in Motherwell
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food and not expensive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was first visit to a Toby Carvery and it won't be the last. The meal was so good we returned the following evening. All the four roasts were very tender, with very generous portions, and there was a great choice of beautifully-cooked vegetables. The wine list was well priced too. Good food, and pleasant staff. The restaurant is next to the Holiday Inn Express, and just a very short walk to the Strathclyde Park.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    27
    19
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“over rated and stingy with servings”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

popped on the passing was taken a back with lack of parking due to the amount of people using the car park to go, into m&ds park.very dull resturant with a lukewarm welcome as it was sunday the only thing on the menu was the sunday cavery which was abit of a let down.waited 10mins in a queue to be served extremly thin slices of pork,gammon,turkey and beef then on to the rather dried up looking veg and potatoes,never seen meat get slices so thin in my life and for the money they charge.the beef and pork were rather fatty and the gammon salty and turkey cold.the waitress was very much rushing us to finish meal and leave the table.plus the drinks a tad pricey they took £2.05 for a 300ml can of irn bru.in a whole i wouldnt make a point on going back there cause its not vaulue for money and choice on a sunday menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was not what I expected :(”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My partner and I decided to eat out Tuesday night. We got in the car and went to the Carvery. There was a HUGH pot hole to the entrance to the place which we could not avoid hitting, not good! The car parking is very good.
We went in and went to the bar to order our meal (that's how they do it in other carvery's. We stood about 10 minutes and when we got to the bar they told us to stand over at the door for a table ( they could have just put a sign to let people know). We were seated at a nice table by the window. Our waitress was lovely and very helpful.
The chef was very stingy with his servings. I asked for only turkey and Gammon (no pork or beef). I got 2 slices of each but they we very small. The gammon was mostly fat, the turkey was lovely though. I must also say the Yorkshire pudding were GREAT! My partner had all four meats and his beef was all fat and grizzle but he did seem to have more meat than me on his plate! The veggies were nice too but the gravy was a bit watery as was the bread sauce. For an extra £1.50 you can double up (bigger plate).
I was very disappointed in this Carvery.
The Carvery at Drumchaple and Balloch is so much better.
I don't think I will be returning to Motherwell.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Daly_Fawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Price Carvery - stingy with servings”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great priced carvery, with Yorkshire puddings, vegetables, mashed and roast potatoes,gravies and sauces. Pity about the really, really, tiny "pieces" of meat served. I have never, ever seen anyone slice roasts so thin, that they never manage to get even half the width of the roast, onto your plate. Even asking for the turkey, pork, and gammon, nobody got the equivalent of one slice of meat on their plate. All well cooked, and hot, but spoiled a wee bit, by lack of meat. Staff attentive and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cowal64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“carvery”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This carvery has steadily gone downhill visited on sunday and they bump up the price and give you 1 extra slice of meat for about an extra £3. Food cold, person who carves meat obviously taught to slice as thin as they can and I don't eat a lot never seen meat cut so thin lol, you can fill up with veg and potatoes but it is all cold, and constant queues, bit like school dinners. We took couple of 86 year olds and it was so cold it was uncomfortable eating in there. Did say to young waitress who seemed totally uninterested how cold the food was but she just shrugged and said oh i would have put it in microwave, well she couldn't possibly do that for everyone in there. Think they should at least in a better system to ekkp food out on show hot, I,m afraid we won't be back........

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery at Innkeeper's Lodge also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery at Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing