We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful surprise - a fabulous feast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ML One

ML One
Ranked #19 of 63 Restaurants in Motherwell
Cuisines: British, Scottish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise - a fabulous feast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This hidden gem of a restaurant is part of the new college on the site of the former Ravenscraig site in Motherwell.

The kitchen and restaurant are staffed by hospitality students at the college, so it helps to bear in mind that they are still learning.

Having said that, the food was excellent and expertly presented. We were told that the students in the kitchen were under the watchful eye of a former Gleneagles chef, and it showed.

The menu is limited to 2-3 starters but they all sounded appetising.

For starters, we had the butternut squash velouté with goats cheese - delicious - and the pork with black pudding - first class (plate-lickingly good!)

For mains we chose pheasant (very pleasant) and the mushroom risotto with Parmesan - very flavourful and ample portions.

We tried the baked apple and the plum tart for deserts - very good but not the highlight of the meal.

Total cost for two, including 2 mineral waters, was amazingly under £16

We hope to come back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidCarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Shockingly brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

What a superb lunch! Overall was much better than the 'taste' training restaurant at cumbernauld college. Menu was excellent with unbelievable prices. With the high quality of food it makes for ridiculously good value (laughably low prices). All high quality food cooked well. Really nice dishes and great service very quick and friendly our waiter was always smiling which is always nice. Highly recommend. its easy to forget your in a college and I would be happy paying a lot more for the same standard of food elsewhere theres even a lot of places nearby cant match this standard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JMCHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in North Lanarkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've had the pleasure of visiting the Training restaurant in Motherwell college plenty of times, living locally, and it has never disappointed. The restaurant itself is tastefully decorated, don't worry that you will be in some canteen on lecture room in the college, this feels and trades like a proper real establishment, so as to give the students some real experience of the hospitality trade. The quality of the food is really very high, with the Tuesday - Thursday menu the "silver" students (second year I believe?) and the Mondays and Fridays menu belonging to the bronze level students (1st year?) This is reflected in the menus themselves which are usually available to view on their website, the former being of slightly more advanced dishes ( technically), but that's not to say I've not thoroughly enjoyed the salmon on a Friday! The menu comprises of choice of two starters, three mains and two desserts, there's always a vegetarian option on the starter and main, and its also licensed, so you can accompany your meal with a wine or beer should you wish!
The food is some of the best I've had the pleasure of eating, always packed with flavour and perfectly cooked and presented, served with a lack of pretension by the smartly dressed students. The value is incredible, with starters usually about £2.50, mains about £3-4, and desserts at £2
They also hold theme nights and days, the last of which I went to was the Wine Lovers event on Valentines night. £27.50 for 5 courses, with a drink included at each, accompanied by some interesting tasting notes from a wine specialist made for a fantastic evening, admittedly I was a bit tipsy by the time coffee was served, but it was a fantastic evening, again terrific value on a "premium" occasion night.
Easily my favourite place to eat in North Lanarkshire, but be sure to book ahead, as it only serves lunchtimes (out with theme nights) usually taking booking between 12 - 12.45 (seating times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank crispoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Awesome value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Okay this is a restaurant within Motherwell College staffed and food made by the students BUT The quality of the food is at the top end and sophisticated.

I would compare this to two fat ladies at the buttery in Glasgow.

You need to book in advance and they only do lunch.

I had a salad, salmon main and lemon tart with a latte and my wife had something similar - we shared a bottle of fizzy water total cost - less than £20.

The downside is that you may need to return food if undercooked as these are students learning the trade but at this price that seems a good deal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cammy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ML One also viewed

Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 
Motherwell, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to ML One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing