We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Rugby, UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A poor hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had to stay at this hotel for work. The location is very isolated if you want to walk anywhere, and it has typical HIE rooms with the funny bathroom / toilet set up with the door that isolates the toilet. The wifi was qute slow as well. The worst part however was the meals that had been arranged for us as the hotel did not normally serve evening food, but as we were working 12 hour night shifts meals had been arranged. The were dreadful, and the choice abysmal - Pizza, Chicken Tikka Masalla or Lasagne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Please accept my apologies for your expectations not being met during your stay at the hotel.

The toilet facilities may seem different to anyone who has not stayed in a Holiday Inn express however the concept is a standard design in the Express brand. The hotel may seem a bit out of the way however it is within 5 minutes drive to the nearest town and a 15 minute drive into Glasgow.
I am sorry that the food was not what you expected but this was prearranged and agreed to prior to arrival.

I do hope this doe not deter you from using the brand in the future.

Kind Regards
Isabella little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    130
    111
    35
    14
See reviews for
79
73
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redcar
Level Contributor
406 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

the hotel was fine as usual. My only gripe was that the price for the room for 2 was a very reasonable £45 but the extra for a third person was £30. Still not too bad until you realise you're paying an extra £30 for the most uncomfortable bed ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. I will take use your feedback to hopefully improve or replace the mattresses. i can see form your feedback that all other aspects of your stay met with your approval and look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Oh dear, used to stay here regularly a few years ago but things have definitely taken a turn for the worse. Decor needs updating, hairdryer didn't work, couldn't access the chargeable in-room wifi so had to spend 2.5 hours in the bar/lobby area trying to get work done.
My room was close to the rear entrance so enjoyed the noise and fag smokers chit chat til late into the evening. The roar of the M74 seemed louder than ever and the final straw was the awful shower which was worse than your average electric affair (come on Holiday Inn, power showers should be standard!) Tiles were dirty and the room didn't smell fresh.
Poor choice of meals from the bar menu so had to settle for a pannini for my evening meal. (Note - women business travellers don't always enjoy sitting in pubs on their own!!)
I think this will be my last visit to this particular hotel. NB tried to post this review directly with Holiday Inn but wouldnt load due to 'inappropriate language'

Room Tip: Ask to be at the back of the hotel (away from the road noise and rear exit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLM1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear WLM1101,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Motherwell hotels

Newtownards
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Chose this hotel for its location as it has great road links to go to Glasgow, Edinburgh or north. Comfortable clean room. which was quiet considering it is near a motorway. Breakfast is more of a continental style as the cooked food is a bit basic and repetative. Free parking and next to a Toby carvery.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAGNewtownards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. I hope you visit us agin in the near future.
Regards
isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night whilst on a business trip to Glasgow. The car park free and a great incentive to book here. The rooms where ok although our shower room should have been cleaned a little better as there was evidence of a little hair from the previous visitor. The breakfast was basic and limited in terms of variety and choice. But overall because of the rate we paid for the night it was accepted as beibg reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Kul555,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a planned stopover on our way from Cornwall to the Isle of Mull. The hotel is located immediately adjacent to the delightful Strathclyde Park (ideal for stretching your legs) and only a mile from the M74. The hotel was bright, clean and comfortable with ample parking and an excellent carvery restaurant next door which is also recommended. The hotel price included a very good continental breakfast (including scrambled eggs and sausages). Our thanks to the reception staff who were so very welcoming and also helpful in directing us to a filling station prior to the resumption of our journey. Would certainly book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisanddave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Great feedback. Please continue to use us if you ever have any accommodation requirements. Please contact us direct 01698 858585. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is now the fourth time i've used this hotel for staying at when attending Scotland games at Hampden. Travel from a fair distance away so for night games always arrange to stay at a local hotel. This one is only 15mins from the ground with the new part of motorway that has been built recently.

Excellent facilities and very quiet despite it obviously being busy at the hotel. Was warned that breakfast might be busy due to a tour group so was prepared but luckily we had missed them!

Will continue to use this hotel for future late night Scotland games - especially with the last 2 being in awful weather conditions. Much easier only being 15 mins drive from ground rather than 4 and half hours if weather is poor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shutcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Great comments thanks. Yes we are handy for Hampden Park . We get loads of football supporters staying with us not only for convenience but hopefully for our friendly service.
Stay again for the next big game and please say hello.

Regards
Isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
218 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing