We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed here a few times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“stayed here a few times”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Have stayed here quite a few times for weekend breaks etc with my partner and cannot fault it. have always found the staff friendly enough and courteous. Rooms are clean and spacious and breakfast very good. Express by Holiday Inn certainly offers more value for money than Travelodge, premier Inns etc as breakfast is included and the rooms are more luxurious. The location of this hotel is excellent, right next to theme park etc and has a Toby carvery situated a minutes walk from the hotel. If you book via the website you can often secure a room for £39 which is great value for money. I will be returning again in the near future.

  • Liked — location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    123
    104
    33
    14
See reviews for
76
67
22
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Having booked 2 rooms we arrived at 5pm on a Saturday. However, although check-in is at 3pm we were asked if we wanted both rooms straight away. Why else would we be checking in? I appreciate that at times, not all rooms are ready on time but being 2 hours after check-in, I had expected to find rooms free. We found the check in girl to be rather abrupt and she certainly didn't make check-in an easy experience. We told her we felt that we were not receiving good service and asked to speak to a manager. She in formed us that she was the guest relations manager. Bad start to our experience there. The rooms were OK. A little worse for wear with scuff marks around the walls etc. We had hoped for a bath but all rooms are shower only. We woke the next morning to find we all had coughs and sniffles. The rooms needed airing as there was evidence of dust everywhere. Breakfast the following morning was very well supplied with a big range of items from which to choose. It was very busy indeed around 9am but we managed to find a table in the end.
It's easy to find being just off the motorway so it was an easy drive to and from the airport. However, there are many other hotels in the area and given the abrupt welcome we received, our first impressions were not positive. I wouldn't rule out the place but it wouldn't be my first choice in the future.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Abrupt check-in staff. A poor first impression.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Motherwell hotels

Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2007

Holiday Inn Express is my favourite budget hotel brand simply because every one I've stayed in has been utterly consistent. They always do what they say on the tin. You pay a bit more than a Travelodge but you get a bit more too.

This one is in a convenient location for an overnight stopover just off the motorway. Clean comfortable rooms with a Toby Carvery next door for a decent feed.

It's the second time I've stayed here and I will again if I pass this way.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in June 2007, hotel is in a nice area (in a park) and convinently has a Toby Carvery opposite which is very useful for eating at night time. The lobby was nice and had computers which you could use (for a fee) and the reception staff were friendly and answered any questions, The breakfast area was nice and there was also a lounge area with a TV if you wanted to have a drink there (you could order drinks from reception 24 hours a day!), The rooms were nice and included a desk, TV and Internet service (which I could not get to work unfortunatley), The room we had included 1 double bed and 1 sofa bed which I found to be uncomfortable but adequate. The bathroom was also nice and modern. Overall I would reccommend this hotel for people looking to visit Glasgow (it isnt too far away)

  • Liked — The Nice rooms
  • Disliked — The Internet not working
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alexsim2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2006

The four of us (2 adults, 2 children) stayed two nights at this hotel on a short leisure trip. The room we stayed in was pretty small, even compared to other Express by Holiday Inn hotels, but nevertheless it was clean and tidy.

If you have small children like us you'll love the location - right next to the Amazonia theme park and a leisure centre with a soft-play area in! For business and leisure travellers alike, the location is terrific being just off the M74 at junction 5. It's quite a central location with easy access to Glasgow, East Kilbride, Hamilton etc.

If you're looking for efficient and economical but don't fancy slumming it at a Travelodge, you shouldn't be dissapointed here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Toby carvery next door cheapest during the week and early Saturday!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank downthe401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England
Level Contributor
170 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

I stayed at the Strathclyde park Holiday Inn Express on 12th September. Check-in was efficient but inpersonal - why are so many receptionists unable to smile or make eye contact when greeting guests?
My room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was also clean and well equipped.
I thought the breakfast buffet was very good: toast, pastries, cereals, fruit & yoghurts. This is something that fully justifies the extra cost of Holiday Inn Express rooms over Travel Inn or Travelodge where breakfast is charged seperately.
An unremakable stay but I would return if in the area.

  • Liked — Value & Location
  • Disliked — Unfriendly check-in
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We arrived with a pre-paid voucher, but the staff refused to believe I had already been charged for this room and twice tried to charge us again. We booked a family room, but our two teenagers ended up in a double sofa bed, instead of two singles as we had requested. We had to ask for pillows and quilts for them, as their beds had not been made up and these took over an hour to arrive. The continential breakfast was really basic, cheap yoghurts and only toast or cereal. The manageress who we eventually spoke to about the double charging on our bill was lovely and did sort it out for us - but we were not impressed with the rest of the staff or the quality of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
417 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
210 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing