We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Meeting Room Hire & Overnight Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Business Meeting Room Hire & Overnight Accommodation”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great staff here, very helpful and couldn't do enough for me, including getting me out of a smoking room into a non smoking one. I didn't know you could smoke in any hotel bedrooms, must only be Scotland. The bedrooms are clean, functional and fit for purpose. I have buffet lunches provided for delegates and it is good quality & plenty of food. The staff really do help make this hotel good. John Dewar's School of Hypnotherapy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
John,

Thank you for your favourable comments.The staff always try to make guests as comfortable as possible. If you have any suggestions for improvement to our facilities I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you on your next visit.
I know that most hotels do not allow smoking in guest rooms however we do still have a small number of smoking rooms. As a Comopany we may review this in the future .

Kind Regards
isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    129
    109
    33
    14
See reviews for
77
72
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel foyer smelled strongly of cigarettes; one man was leaving reception with half a lit cigarette, no one seemed to mind. The reception staff chose to continue their conversation at the bar with their friends before finally coming back to check us in.

Travelling with a toddler and 10 week old baby we were given a twin room; apparently that's what you get if you book a 'standard room', fair enough, but I wouldn't call a twin room standard. This wasn't explained on check in, despite the obvious inadequacy of the room. It was also a smoking room with the smell of recently smoked cigarettes. We had been given a room that significantly increased the risk of cot death for our youngest son.

Upon requesting a non-smoking we were given the wrong room number and disturbed some other guests before being given the correct room number.

Staff were indifferent to our presence for the duration odour stay.

Avoid.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneroutine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. I do sympathise with families with young children and understand your concerns. Please allow me to explain.On investigation I can see that your booking was made for 2 adults only in a standard room. The description is shown on the web site at the time of booking . Your room is allocated on arrival and this is whatever is available.This can be any room type ( twin or Double room Smoking or non smoking) .

The reception staff were unaware that you would be arriving with young children.and In most circumstances we try to accomodate guest requests In general we cannot always provide a room preferrence when the hotel is full. The reception staff did however change you to a non smoking room by moving another guest to a smoking room to avoid further upset to you or your family.

Please let me reassure you that smoking in public areas is stricly forbidden in the hotel.
Staff will be advised to monitor this and ensure guests do not light cigarettes until they are outside the building.

Kind Regards
Isabella Little
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Motherwell hotels

Scunny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the 26th June. Arrived at check in and had 2 rooms booked. Wanted to pay in cash and was asked to provide a bank card. When asked why as I had paid cash in full and was not going to use the bar etc was told it was just policy. Would take £50 which would be returned a few days later. I was not willing to do this and was then told a credit card could be used and nothing took charged. Couldn't understand why this needed to be done. Stupid Policy in my opinion. Room was ok but the bed seemed to dip in the middle and we both kept sliding into the centre. Breakfast the next morning was the usual holiday inn express basics however the cooked selection was bland. Scrambled,rubbery egg, sausages that oozed fat and beans. Biggest issue was the staff not keeping up with demand. Checkout was pretty swift !L

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ScunnySybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. However all guests are asked for a credit/debit card, which are pre-authorised to cover any additional spend in the hotel. A deposit also applies to cash payments. We will address your other concerns internally and initiate any training required. Please accept my apologies for any shortfall in service. I hope that this does not detere you from staying here in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ticked all the boxes with us on our way south. We required an overnight stop and picked this one at random.
Excellent check in service. Room spacious and clean. Could have done with a bath but....great shower. TV channels are very limited considering lesser establishments now offer all Freeview channels as standard! Included breakfast good but lacking in bacon - don't understand why.
Price was good at £51.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Tank_Engine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good evening,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will take your comments onboard as we need to make some improvements to our services. Hopefully this will be done before your next visit.

Thank you for your feedback

Isabella little
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here as in the area through business. Very clean as you would expect from Holiday Inn Express. You are given special offers on check in - buy a meal get a free drink - a pint!!! nothing for a woman but a pint!!!

Free view in rooms - forget it, very below standard these days. 6 channels.

Every timne you switch the TV on you are reminded of the 'explicit nature' of certain films.

I would stay again but please Holiday Inn group you need to wake up to the 21st Century

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worxelminxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Good afternoon,

We are reviewing our TV channels and Internet offering sorry you were dissappointed.Your cencerns will be looked at and actioned whereever possible. I hope this does not deter you from staying here again.

Regards
isabella Little
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions and never been dissapointed. It is a very clean and friendly hotel with helpful staff. The rooms are better appointed than most "budget" hotels. Plenty of parking and a nice area surrounding the hotel for a stroll.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Strathclyde. Your comments will be passed on to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked in here this weekend just gone. Came up to visit some friends in Glasgow and looked at some of the city centre locations but was hard to ignore the keen pricing for this hotel. I looked at some Tripadvisor reviews which all looked good so decided to give it a go. I was *very* impressed.

The hotel is in a great location - an easy 15 minute drive out of Glasgow City Centre, situated in a quiet spot just off junction 5 of the motorway. The benefit is that aside from steady noise from the motorway, there is no real noise (something that is important to me when staying in a hotel) and ample parking.

Given the keen pricing of the hotel, I was very impressed by the standard of decor inside the hotel and the rooms (seemed very up to date), the bed was very comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast buffet was more than ample with a great selection and (I have to mention it again) the price was incredible. To be honest unless I was looking for an upmarket 'boutique' hotel experience in Glasgow in the future, I doubt I'll stay anywhere else ever again. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKchicane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Now you have found us and like us tell all your friends in Kennelworth. You are correct in saying our deals are great value for money. Remember to book on line for our best rates.
Come again soon and please say hello if I am around the Hotel.
Isabella Little
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
0.3 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Motherwell) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Property: Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing