We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ab R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 389 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Nice place just don't stay in room 32 the boiler next door was going on and off every 10 mins all through the night so we had no sleep for the 2nights we were there the room was clean and tidy but the lack of sleep due tp the loud boiler was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caz2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for your disturbed nights sleep caused by noise from our boiler. Prior to your next visit please contact me direct and I will allocate you a quiet room.

Regards
isabella Little GM
01698858585

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

There isn't much to say about any hotel used for an overnight business stay but here goes...

The hotel is situated at the Northern end of the Strathclyde Country Park. The Park itself is amazing and offers good walks as well as watersport activities.

Registration was simple and straightforward and the cost (twin room for 1 night at £60, including breakfast for two) I though was very good value. The only downside to the room was the fact that the window opened out onto the M74 - a little more than a "stone's throw" but sound goes further!

The important thing is that, as night draws on, the volume of traffic reduces and it does get quieter. If noise like this would normally prevent you from having a good night's sleep then I think it's worth contacting the hotel and arranging a room on the other side - leaving that negotiation till arrival might be too late.

The room was clean and comfortable but the shower area was a little "tired". It does need a makeover. The TV is a minefield of menus and the choice of channels is limited. Pay-per-view is expensive as is the internet connection.

WiFi does no exist anywhere other than the public areas. I gave up. Although I got a strong signal the connection speed was dreadful. I'd hoped to update some server settings but after taking ages to download emails I realised that the WiFi is more in name than service. The reception desk has the password for the day - the service ok-ish if you want to receive one or two emails, beyond that it's not worth it.

The hotel is next to a Toby Carvery and rather than have something to eat at the hotel our party decidied to have an evening meal at the Carvery. £5.99 for a roast dinner is good value - but what about quality? I am pleased top say the quality was very good. The cauliflower cheese - normally a good indicator as to whether a competent chef is preparing or some teenage lad is simply reheating - was top notch.

I do recommend the carvery if the standard we received is indicative of their general service levels. By the way - if you want a full English breakfast, the carvery does one for £3.99.

Back to the Holiday Inn Express: Breakfast is a help-yourself buffet style with a reasonable choice of cold and hot dishes. The usual cereals and fruit, juice (mine had never seen a real orange I'm sure), toast and selection of jams / marmalade, sausage, scrambled eggs, bacon, beans, croissants. Pretty good if you ask me though the scrambled egg was a bit dry.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. It was a convenient venue, close to the Motorway, clean, reasonably priced and the staff were helpful. A little more attention to the decor, the WiFi and the TV choices would have made for a higher score. As it is the final verdict is "better than average".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ric-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Good Afternoon,

We didn't quite get it right on this occassion. As a group we are reviewing the Wi-Fi offering and hopefully we will be in a position to to improve this service soon. The showers area is a bit dated and this will be addressed through our ongoing maintenance programme. All in all not a bad review and you will see some improvements on your next visit.
Regards
isabella little
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed one night as it was a perfect location for our friends wedding reception. Clean, close the M&Ds, good price. Check in staff said they did not take cash which I found odd and in the morning I could hear every word the people in the adjoining room said, but over all, if I ever need to stay near Hamilton again. Holiday inn is always a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your great feedback. So sorry about the thin walls thankfully this did not impact on your overall stay. I look forward to you returning to the hotel soon

Isabella Little
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Convenient for the motorway but there is nothing nearby. The hotel did offer an evening bar meal but it was very limited (pizza) the place next door Is a carvery ( so 1980s) public areas are nice and spacious. Breakfast was good to. The room was poor wwith a broken plastic skirting and only decaf instant coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegroundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear thegroundsman,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good a good deal for this hotel. One night stay.
Staff were very helpful, friendly and managed to allow me an early checkin.
Rooms were modern, very clean. Kettle, tean and coffee etc. Had a good stay here. Would search around for good prices though as can be overpriced on some sites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daren777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. You are right about prices, but you do always get the best deal on our official website

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good overnight stay, close to M74. No issues with room and good standard breakfast.

Hope hotel can link to mlocal council as there are pretty large potholes on the approach road in. Also if leaving in the morning, there can be long queues at rush hour so leave early if you are in a schedule.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMStrathclyde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We are currently in touch with the council to get the potholes repaired

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Motherwell
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.1 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
232 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5

Address: Strathclyde Country Park 1 Hamilton Road | Strathclyde Country Park, Motherwell ML1 3RB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Motherwell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Motherwell
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 120 bedroom Express by Holiday Inn Strathclyde Park M74, JCT.5, is ideal for Corporate and Leisure clients, offering ensuite accommodation including Complimentary Continental Breakfast with selected Hot Items, FREE Car Parking spaces for upto 120 cars. We are on Jct 5 off the M74. The Express By Holiday Inn Strathclyde is located in the Strathclyde Country park with Motherwell Food Park with Companies like Honeywell and TNT close by. Hamilton,Motherwell and Eurocentral are within 5 minutes driving distance from the Hotel. Glasgow Airport is a 25 minute drive and Edinburgh Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is situated within the complex of attractions, such as Strathclyde Country Park with its Watersports centre, country walks and purpose built M & D's Theme Park (open all year round with FREE entry). Other places of interest are David Livingston Centre, the Time Capsule Leisure Centre and a Golf Course just 1.5 miles away. Glasgow City Centre is just a 25 minutes drive from the Hotel and easily accessible to Gleneagles and St. Andrews Golf Courses . There is a Bar/ Lounge available for resident guests from 11am to 3am daily and 2 Meeting rooms for upto 30 people offering all audio / visual equipment and business facilities. High Speed Internet Access available throughout the Hotel ( FREE in the Lounge Area.) Sorry but we Do Not Accept Pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park Hotel Motherwell
Holiday Inn Express Motherwell
Holiday Inn Motherwell
Motherwell Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5 Motherwell, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing